Random hypos and where to go from here.

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Becky and Toby, Oct 17, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Becky and Toby

Becky and Toby Member

Hello, first of all this is my first time posting - although I have done a fair bit of poking around - so my apologies if this is in the wrong place/I do something else wrong :oops:

Our cat, Toby, is 15 years old and was diagnosed with diabetes approximately 6 months ago. His original, natural glucose levels were around 33-37mmol. He was put on Caninsulin, starting with doses of 2, going up to doses of 3, and then onto doses of 4 (admittedly quite quickly because he responded so well). This was when he had his first hypo. He very suddenly couldn't stand up and started sounding off, sounding very distressed. We rushed him to the vet, who later told us Toby started fitting as he was putting the glucose drip into him, his levels were too low to be read. He stayed there for the rest of the day and overnight, and then - putting it down to an accidental overdose of insulin because his blood results were consistently excellent - he came home with us and worked back up from 3 and 3.
    Some time later, back on 4 and 4, he did almost exactly the same thing and we rushed him to an emergency vet. It took around half an hour from the start of the hypo until the vet saw him, and by then we'd stabilised him with sugar and his reading was 4.5mmol ("Not too bad," the vet said, although I wasn't too inclined to agree). He stayed overnight for monitoring anyway. After another consultation with his own vet, he crept back up to 4 in the morning and 3 at night, instead of the previous 4 and 4, and he was fine for several weeks.