Sticky Recent Caninsulin/Vetsulin and N Remissions?

Elizabeth and Bertie

Very Active Member
As far as I know, the Vetsulin/Caninsulin/Humulin N forum is the only ISG (Insulin Support Group) that hasn't so far provided the opportunity to record remissions. So, how about we begin that tradition here also? Remissions DO happen on these insulins, and it would be great to get some recorded for posterity!

Has your cat gone into remission?
If so, firstly 'Congratulations!!!', and secondly, could you please take a little time to jot down a few details about your kitty's situation?

Can you please report the following information (You can 'copy and paste' the questions and then answer below them).

1. Name of your kitty, and date of diagnosis.
2. Which insulin, and which glucose meter?
3. Details of diet. And did you switch from dry to wet food? If so, at what point?
4. If you used any other insulin besides the current one, which one was it, and how long were you on it.
5. Date of last shot. And average BG (blood glucose level) since then.
6. From start to finish, how long was your cat on insulin?
7. Anything else specific to your cat's situation that it might be important/useful for others to know (concurrent health issues? Other?)


Note: Please only post details of remissions in this thread; no general comments or questions.
Thank you!
 
Last edited:
Hope this helps someone one day x

1. Name of your kitty, and date of diagnosis.

Rosie. Diagnosed 19/02/16

2. Which insulin, and which glucose meter?

Caninsulin. Accuchek Aviva.

3. Details of diet. And did you switch from dry to wet food? If so, at what point?

Switched to wet food straight away (was previously wet and dry). Now has foods less that 5% carbs. Sheba fine flakes, encore chicken, fresh chicken, fresh fish, thrive cans.

4. If you used any other insulin besides the current one, which one was it, and how long were you on it.

N/A

5. Date of last shot. And average BG (blood glucose level) since then.

Last shot on 07/04/16. Average BG 5.0

6. From start to finish, how long was your cat on insulin?

47 days (approx 6 weeks)


7. Anything else specific to your cat's situation that it might be important/useful for others to know (concurrent health issues? Other?)

Rosie had DKA when she was diagnosed and was very poorly and hospitalised at vets for 5 days.


Note: Please only post details of remissions in this thread; no general comments or questions.
Thank you!
 
1. Name of your kitty, and date of diagnosis.
C.C., female, 13 years old, diagnosed May 19, 2016

2. Which insulin, and which glucose meter?
Vetsulin, and I use an Alphatrak 2 meter with Alphatrak strips

I did not start testing her at home until 7/16 (thanks to the encouragement of this forum). In retrospect I wish I had started it RIGHT AWAY, but it was not something my vet encouraged... she said "most people don't home test. You can if you want but most don't." I was already feeling overwhelmed at the diagnosis and didn't know if I could handle that too, so I decided not to. I now feel like those were to wasted months and that had I started earlier, not only would CC have been safer, but she probably would have achieved remission sooner. Live and learn.

I was very comfortagle using the Alphatrak meter, despite the high cost of strips. I liked having the same meter as my vet, and that I wasn't getting lower readings than she actually was. There was only one time that I needed strips RIGHT AWAY, but I just had to go to my vet and could buy them there. Much cheaper online though... and I learned to always have a backup set of strips on hand so that never happens again. (ADW sells them for about $53 and I always use a $5 off coupon code).

3. Details of diet. And did you switch from dry to wet food? If so, at what point?

We were initially told by our vet that our best hope for getting cc into remission was to feed her the prescription diet. We bought both the cans of perscription Purina DM Savory Select and the dry D/M. In retrospect it's obvious this was not the best choice. We did that the first month and a half or so. I wish I had known how bad that food is from the beginning. I wish my vet were better informed as well! After doing research and finding this forum we learned how FF Classic was better, so that's what we did.
Starting the end of July took her off the prescription food and just did FFC, however being a kibble addict she was not thrilled. She ate it but was always wanting to get into the dry that we have for some of our other cats and for the outside strays we feed.

Finding out about Young Again Zero dry food was truly a game changer for us. we asked for a free sample of the food, and we for the first time saw mid day blue numbers pop up in her spreadsheet. She liked it, it lowered numbers, and that was good enough for us to shell out for a bag.

We received our bag on 8/5/16 and began feeding FF Classic wet food (about 1 1/2-2 oz) at each preshot time and free feeding Young Again Zero whenever she wanted. The YAZ caused absolutely no change to her BG.

Two weeks after starting the YA food and CC's preshot numbers dropped from Pinks and Yellows down into the blues. She regulated quickly and with lots of dosage reductions and tweaks we are where we are now.

We have continued her feeding of a small meal of wet morning and evening and YAZ available at all times. I can't say enough good things about this food.

4. If you used any other insulin besides the current one, which one was it, and how long were you on it.

We always used Vetsulin. I was initially told to give 1 unit twice a day, and was not told it was important to home test, but just watch for hypo. I saw some improvement... her fur was not as greasy and she seemed to have more energy, but that didn't last too long, and a few weeks later she was as lethargic as before, and very unkempt looking. After two months she was given a fructosimine test at the vet and it was showing CC was still very high and unregulated and her dose was increased to 2 units.

That day I decided I needed to put on my big girl undies and take a more proactive role in her care rather than just blindly shooting. I ordered the alphatrack meter, and found this forum. When I first joined the board I was inundated with lots of people telling me her insulin was no good and was too harsh, and that she wouldn't go into remission if I used it. I was very upset and questioned whether my vet knew what the hell she was doing. I wondered if my vet had steered me completely wrong.

A few days later I called my vet to see about a change. I found Well my regular vet was on vacation for the week, so I talked to a different vet at the practice, and she convinced me to give Vetsulin another 2 or 3 weeks and see if it's working better, and if not call back we would talk about switching. I'm glad she talked me out of changing right away because two weeks from then I in fact was seeing better numbers (preshots in the yellows) and longer duration and decided to give it a longer go, figuring if it didn't work out I could always switch.

When I first started testing I found the Vetsulin was not working for long... maybe six hours, but as time went on and the more controlled her numbers were, the longer the duration extended... eventually giving me 10+ hours of duration. After switching food to FFC and YAZ food induced BG rises weren't really a factor at all is when I saw the most headway in her healing.

I tested. A LOT. All those tests gave me a great picture of how she would react to each dose. As her preshot numbers came down and subsequently her doses were less, the steepness of the curve were less as well. When her preshots were nice and low (under 180) I found it relatively easy to dose small amounts to get her into healing low 100's and double digits. I of course would not attempt to do that before having LOTS of data on how she reacts to each dose... but once I had that picture I was able to get her into those healing ranges for several hours a day until her pancreas was able to take over.

One thing I really like about Vetsulin is I found it extremely easy to find the patterns and predict what the result would be with fairly good accuracy and very few surprises. Once I had lots of data I found it pretty easy to get the numbers exactly where I wanted them. I also love the flexibility Vetsulin offers so that if I had to shift the timing an hour or so here and there, it wasn't a problem.


5. Date of last shot. And average BG (blood glucose level) since then.

Her last shot was .25u on a reading of 131 in the morning of 9/6/16.

Her averages 10 weeks ago when I first started testing were AMPS 428.7 and PMPS 365.6

This past week CC's average AMPS was 109 and her PMPS 101.9.

averages.JPG


I'm am still in awe of her progress in that time.

6. From start to finish, how long was your cat on insulin?

111 days. Just over 3 1/2 months.

7. Anything else specific to your cat's situation that it might be important/useful for others to know (concurrent health issues? Other?)

For months before her diagnosis CC had what I thought was arthritis, and was giving her cosequin for it. The cosequin seemed to help for a period of time, but then seemed like it was no longer as effective and her limping got bad again. As she was nearing remission it was clear what I was actually seeing was more likely the beginning of neuropathy, and I observed that as her diabetes improved, so did her ability to walk and jump. She does not limp at all now, and I'm lucky she didn't get worse then she was! I give her a bit of B12 in her food now just for a little extra boost. I feel really fortunate that she was able to be brought into remission so quickly.
 
Not sure our story belongs here but I believe it might help others in similar situation.

1. Name of your kitty, and date of diagnosis.

Murinka, 12 years, diagnosed August 4, 2016

2. Which insulin, and which glucose meter?
Caninsulin and human Bayer Contour Plus

3. Details of diet. And did you switch from dry to wet food? If so, at what point?
Before diagnosis fed only with dry food - Science Hill R/D because of the overweight, after diagnosis continued with the same food (recommended by the vet).
One month after diagnosis and after reading a lot here on FDMB tried to switch partially to the wet food followed by a tremendous decreased of the need of insulin.
On day 32 after diagnosis switched completely to the wet food as a consequence Murinka has become diet controlled diabetic with no need of insulin.
Now, feeding only wet food - Sheba Delicato in Gelee, Mac's Cat Sensitive Mono (lamb or turkey) or Animonda vom Feinsten Baby Paté. There's no Fancy Feaste available in my country.

4. If you used any other insulin besides the current one, which one was it, and how long were you on it.
No, we used only Caninsulin

5. Date of last shot. And average BG (blood glucose level) since then.
Last shot: 05/09/2016 (0,5u followed by a hypo episode ...)
I try to test randomly once a week (around +2 after evening meal), her average since then is 4. Interestingly, she has become very difficult to test now she's off the insulin.

6. From start to finish, how long was your cat on insulin?
33 days

7. Anything else specific to your cat's situation that it might be important/useful for others to know (concurrent health issues? Other?)
Know your kitty, learn about FD, learn about cat nutrition, trust yourself!
The most important thing for me and my cat was to understand how the diabetes works, thanks to FDBM I have become confident enough to be able to decide about Murinka by myself and to get the rid of the unsupportive and FD unexperienced vet which resulted in Murinka becoming only diet controlled kitty :)
 
Last edited:
1. Name of your kitty, and date of diagnosis... ELLIOTT...12/31/2016
2. Which insulin, and which glucose meter?... started wiyh NPH..switched within month to LANTUS!!! AlphaTrak (AT strips and Freestyle strips) and Relion (with Relion strips)
3. Details of diet. And did you switch from dry to wet food? If so, at what point...?Immediately switched to WET food..had no idea dry was not good for them.
4. If you used any other insulin besides the current one, which one was it, and how long were you on it. NPH ordered..switched to Lantus 4 weeks later
5. Date of last shot. And average BG (blood glucose level) since then. April,2017...70's
6. From start to finish, how long was your cat on insulin? 4 months
7. Anything else specific to your cat's situation that it might be important/useful for others to know (concurrent health issues? Other?) NPH was inconsistent and insufficient to regulate blood glucose levels to allow for healing (or resting) of pancreas and related recovery. Lantus maintained healing (acc to Cornell DVM's) that led to Remission. NPH action was fast acting but half-life very short. NPH was not consistent and the short action did not allow a sustained period for Elliott's body (pancreas) to rest or heal. It is my belief that the more ups and downs of insulin vs glucose just disrupts the body's ability to sustain a healing process. For me, there is no doubt that Lantus and the wonderful FDMB members helped Elliott succeed into Remission!!!
 
Last edited:
As far as I know, the Vetsulin/Caninsulin/Humulin N forum is the only ISG (Insulin Support Group) that hasn't so far provided the opportunity to record remissions. So, how about we begin that tradition here also? Remissions DO happen on these insulins, and it would be great to get some recorded for posterity!

Has your cat gone into remission?
If so, firstly 'Congratulations!!!', and secondly, could you please take a little time to jot down a few details about your kitty's situation?

Can you please report the following information (You can 'copy and paste' the questions and then answer below them).

1. Name of your kitty, and date of diagnosis.
2. Which insulin, and which glucose meter?
3. Details of diet. And did you switch from dry to wet food? If so, at what point?
4. If you used any other insulin besides the current one, which one was it, and how long were you on it.
5. Date of last shot. And average BG (blood glucose level) since then.
6. From start to finish, how long was your cat on insulin?
7. Anything else specific to your cat's situation that it might be important/useful for others to know (concurrent health issues? Other?)


Note: Please only post details of remissions in this thread; no general comments or questions.
Thank you!
Great to have information pages like this and on other cat matters..THANKS!!!!!
Will do this when I get a few moments this evening
 

1. Name of your kitty, and date of diagnosis.

Big Kitty diagnosed 1/4/17

2. Which insulin, and which glucose meter?

Vetsulin. One Touch Ultra Mini human meter.

3. Details of diet. And did you switch from dry to wet food? If so, at what point?

Kitty has been on Fancy feast his entire life. I wanted to stay with the same brand so I just switched him to Fancy feast classic. (Was eating the gravy lovers). He was eating 3 cans a day plus Friskies surf n turf dry food to graze on whenever. I switched him as soon as he was diagnosed. Same day! Now he eats NO dry food at all. It makes him rocket sky high if he gets into it. So now he eats his FF classic like 6 times a day! But only a half of a can at a time. Eating a bunch of smaller meals works better for him. He's always been a big eater (slightly obsessed) lol.
4. If you used any other insulin besides the current one, which one was it, and how long were you on it.
Only Vetsulin.
5. Date of last shot. And average BG (blood glucose level) since then.
His last shot was 2/14/17. His BG has slowly been dropping since then. With no insulin. His highest read was 238. But I decided not to shoot that day since I was leaving for work. Normally his pre-shot test is in the 400's and I didn't want to risk a hypo with nobody home. Then I came home from work and he was a little lower. No shot again. And so on...Everytime I tested for a shot he was a little bit lower. Tonight he tested at 75.
6. From start to finish, how long was your cat on insulin?
Total was 38 days on Vetsulin.
7. Anything else specific to your cat's situation that it might be important/useful for others to know (concurrent health issues? Other?)

Kitty was a rollercoaster the whole time. I was so discouraged. He would go from 119 to 599. I also have 4 other cats that eat dry food. I thought I had it in a spot where Kitty couldn't get to it. Kitty is the oldest of my bunch and can't jump the way he used to. Well, I caught him one day climbing up with his front paws to get to the dry food! Little ****!!! Lol so now it's moved again. He hasn't gotten to it all. I know that's not the reason for the remission but I do believe that's why he was such a rollercoaster. Without everyone on this site I don't think we would be celebrating this right now. I know it's early and only been a few days but I feel like we have been blessed. Keeping my fingers crossed.
Also, don't always trust your vet. Make sure they are experienced with FD. If I would have listened to mine Kitty would be gone. Seriously reach out for help, this site is amazing. Who knows better than the people going through it everyday! Call other vets. Get other opinions. And most importantly trust your gut instincts. Best of luck to everyone and their Kitty's. Stay strong.
Ps- Diet is SOOOOO important!
 
Last edited:
1. Name of your kitty, and date of diagnosis. Mittens - 4/19/17
2. Which insulin, and which glucose meter?Novolin N -- ALPHA TRAK 2
3. Details of diet. And did you switch from dry to wet food? If so, at what point? switched to wet right away Fancy feast classic and also tried other grain free foods one she really likes is called Dave's
4. If you used any other insulin besides the current one, which one was it, and how long were you on it. No went through diabetes with my dog and was turned on to Novolin N from Wal-mart the cheapest $25
5. Date of last shot. And average BG (blood glucose level) since then. Well pretty sure she is in remission went 3 days without a shot and the highest her sugar went was 174 but then it drops threw out the day to lows 114 so far. May 3rd last shot
6. From start to finish, how long was your cat on insulin? 28 shots total so far so 2 weeks could this be so? I am praying!
7. Anything else specific to your cat's situation that it might be important/useful for others to know (concurrent health issues? Other?) when I first checked her sugar was because she was drinking more and peeing alot out side the litter box and it was in the 400's took her to the vet and she had a UTI also put her on meds an insulin 1.5 units I my self upped it to 2 units after 4 days cause was still in the 3oo's then the antibiotic she was on started making her throw up so back to the vet oh and no shots while she was throwing up. they gave her fluids and a shot for nausea and shot of antibiotic. of course they wanted to put her on hills ID to calm her stomach I read the ingredients and said no way it has Corn and Wheat in it she is diabetic! stuck to my guns and kept giving her FF and a dry food called Pure Vita Holistic pet foods by Nutri Source. shes a grazer never eats every thing in 1 sitting, oh and i dropped her Insulin to 1 unit. and then none. she is acting normal now! p.s the vet also wanted me to put her on the DM food I just told them I'll look for grain free food and see how she will like it. Its a good thing I was already experienced with diabetes cause of my dog so I knew how to test had the test kit, knew where I was going to get insulin and what kind and knew what to look for in a food. It was still stressful for me though.
 
1. Name of your kitty, and date of diagnosis.
Franky, diagnosed: 4/18/17
2. Which insulin, and which glucose meter?
NPH, Relion at first, then switched to Alphatrak.
3. Details of diet. And did you switch from dry to wet food? If so, at what point?
I switched 2 days after diagnosis from dry cat food (Hills w/d prescription) to Fancy Feast Classics.
4. If you used any other insulin besides the current one, which one was it, and how long were you on it.
Only used NPH.
5. Date of last shot. And average BG (blood glucose level) since then.
Last shot: 5/16/17, average BG: 134.
6. From start to finish, how long was your cat on insulin?
Almost 1mo.
7. Anything else specific to your cat's situation that it might be important/useful for others to know (concurrent health issues? Other?)
I was very down when Franky was diagnosed and I listened to everything my vet said for about 2 days after the diagnosis. Then I found this site and that's what made the difference in her treatment! I was able to switch her food, which immediately help her BG. Then I just stuck with it and figured out which dosage was best for Franky. Instead of giving Franky the 2 units BID that my vet instructed, I lowered her to 0.25u. I recommend researching and staying consistent!
 
FangTastic date diagnosed 6/1/2017

Vetsulin and Relion Prime

Was on dry food but he was not eating much at onset of diabetes. Day of diagnosis started mixing fancy feast with dry. Then he chose to only want the fancy feast classics.

Last shot 6/23/2017, as of today avg is 67 (my meter/// vets alphatrak was 89). We still have work to do on getting his appetite healthier/ higher.

On insulin total of 22 days

Fang seems to have diarrhea since the switch of foods and shots. It's been a month so thinking it could be food related. Today along with remission confirmation we are trying DM rx mix with ff and metronidazole for a week.

This site is amazing . Would have gone off the deep end without all the resources here. If I could change anything (aside from a clean bill of health to begin with lol) would be starting home testing immediately vs waiting 2-1/2 weeks in. Would have noticed the numbers before his hypo scares happened.
 
1. Name of your kitty, and date of diagnosis.
Cloud, January 28 2017

2. Which insulin, and which glucose meter?

Novalin Human N, CVS generic glucose meter.

3. Details of diet. And did you switch from dry to wet food? If so, at what point?

He ate purina true nature wet food, then switched to friskies pate'. He switched from dry to wet imeadiatly upon diagnosis.

4. If you used any other insulin besides the current one, which one was it, and how long were you on it.
I used the same insulin through his whole treatment.

5. Date of last shot. And average BG (blood glucose level) since then.

Last shot was on July 20 2017, he stays between 117 and 101.

6. From start to finish, how long was your cat on insulin?

He was on insulin for 184 days. From January 18 2017 to July 20 2017

7. Anything else specific to your cat's situation that it might be important/useful for others to know?

No special circumstances.
 
1. Name of your kitty, and date of diagnosis.
Felix, January 18 2018

2. Which insulin, and which glucose meter?

Canninsulin, Bayer Contour next.

3. Details of diet. And did you switch from dry to wet food? If so, at what point?

Initially, he was eating prescribed dry food for urine crystals.. switched to only wet food 2 days after diagnosis.

4. If you used any other insulin besides the current one, which one was it, and how long were you on it.
Only used Canninsulin.

5. Date of last shot. And average BG (blood glucose level) since then.

Last shot was 0.5U on Jan 28 2018.

6. From start to finish, how long was your cat on insulin?

He was on insulin for only 6 days, definitely had something to do with switching his diet.

7. Anything else specific to your cat's situation that it might be important/useful for others to know?

Nope
 
1. Name of your kitty, and date of diagnosis.

TRUFFLES 04.13.18

2. Which insulin, and which glucose meter?

VETSULIN. Next contour

3. Details of diet. And did you switch from dry to wet food? If so, at what point?

He has a grain allergy. Switched to wet food immediately on diagnosis

4. If you used any other insulin besides the current one, which one was it, and how long were you on it.


5. Date of last shot. And average BG (blood glucose level) since then.

08.28.18. Appears to be around 70 to 80

6. From start to finish, how long was your cat on insulin?

4 months
7. Anything else specific to your cat's situation that it might be important/useful for others to know (concurrent health issues? Other?)

No other health issues
 
1. Name of your kitty, and date of diagnosis. Coco - June 1, 2018
2. Which insulin, and which glucose meter? Novolin N started at 3.0 units / Relion Micro (it's cheap and uses a tiny droplet of blood)
3. Details of diet. And did you switch from dry to wet food? If so, at what point? Coco had been on dry food all her life - Hill's Science Diet hairball control. Vet recommended Hill's Prescription W/D (either wet or dry) and I tried some dry and a few cans of wet. But within a few weeks, I was looking for affordable low-carb wet food alternatives. She wouldn't touch Fancy Feast or Friskies. After trying all sorts of brands, I stumbled on Merrick duck pate and turkey pate. [On a side note: she really loves the rabbit pate, but I'm not sure of the carbs so it's rare treat]. It took about three weeks to transition her completely from dry kibble to wet food.
4. If you used any other insulin besides the current one, which one was it, and how long were you on it. Coco only had Novolin N. 3 units to start with. Once she switched to wet food, I reduced it the dose. Then at her last curve, the vet recommended stopping it altogether. Now I know it would have been better to ease her OTJ by lowering the dose by 0.25 units over a few weeks, but I didn't know that then. So Coco went OTJ cold turkey
5. Date of last shot. And average BG (blood glucose level) since then. July 27, 2018. I'm not as rigorous about testing as I should be, but I'm trying for twice a week. Anytime I've tested, her numbers are in the 40-50 range. I am taking her for a fructosamine test next week just for peace of mind.
6. From start to finish, how long was your cat on insulin? 2 months
7. Anything else specific to your cat's situation that it might be important/useful for others to know (concurrent health issues? Other?) Lots of cats lose weight with diabetes, but not Coco. In fact, she had gained about 3 pounds in 3 years and needs to lose a bit. But I felt addressing her weight took a back seat to getting the BG under control and finding a wet food she would eat. Other than being pudgy and a picky eater, she doesn't have other health concerns.
 
Morris, date of diagnosis 04/03/19

2. Which insulin, and which glucose meter?
Caninsulin / Contour One Next

3. Details of diet. And did you switch from dry to wet food? If so, at what point?
Changed immediately upon diagnosis to Purina DM, which my cat hated, so I went to Fancy Feast pate based on information suggested by other Diabetic Cat Parents.

4. If you used any other insulin besides the current one, which one was it, and how long were you on it.
Just the one. 3u 2x per day for 19 days.

5. Date of last shot. And average BG (blood glucose level) since then.
May 22nd, Morris has maintained an average BG of 7. (as per my vet, it should be between 5 and 10)

6. From start to finish, how long was your cat on insulin?
19 days.

7. Anything else specific to your cat's situation that it might be important/useful for others to know (concurrent health issues? Other?)
When my cat was diagnosed, it was only due to weight loss, he seemed to have no other symtpons. We did a full geriatric panel to find his BG 23.5.
After his first vet curve, he was in remission. The vet was rather surprised that he went into remission so quickly based on his original numbers. Ran a Frustosamine test which confirmed remission. I have had some difficulty home testing on a regular basis, but do mange to get some random tests done. Obviously this will improve with time.

I would like to thank everyone on this message board as well as FB. Vets may know the medical procedures required by getting advice from other pet parents, who are dealing day to day gave me far more knowledge than my vet ever could of. And my vet is great!
 
I have taken the liberty to edit the subject line of @Elizabeth and Bertie 's post. I believe she was wanting Caninsulin/Vetsulin and N users to be able to celebrate their cats going into remission (or "off the juice" -- OTJ). So while everyone is happy that Lantus and Prozinc users can celebrate, there are other Insulin Support Groups where you can have your parties.
 
Last edited:
Okay, it's officially been 14 days since Felix has had any insulin.
1. Name of your kitty, and date of diagnosis.
Felix, 1/6/2021
2. Which insulin, and which glucose meter?
Vetsulin, Alphatrak
3. Details of diet. And did you switch from dry to wet food? If so, at what point?
Friskies Pate Poultry Pack 1 1/2 cans & cooked chicken breast 3-5oz daily in 5 meals
Switched from dry to all wet 1/24/2021
4. If you used any other insulin besides the current one, which one was it, and how long were you on it.
No other insulin.
5. Date of last shot. And average BG (blood glucose level) since then.
3/10/2021 average BG 81
6. From start to finish, how long was your cat on insulin?
2 Months
7. Anything else specific to your cat's situation that it might be important/useful for others to know (concurrent health issues? Other?)
He was diagnosed when he was brought to the vet with diabetic ketoacidosis. Prognosis was dire. We even considered putting him to sleep when we were told $7 to 8,000 up front for 3-5 nights hospitalization. Then we called around and found a hospital that would accept payments. We took him there and he was hospitalized for 3 days. I declined any diagnostic procedures and just wanted him treated for ketoacidosis which saved me $1,300. When we brought him home we started giving him high protein low carb food at specific times a day. His insulin went from 1U to 3U and back down to 0U. He went from 16 lbs to 7 and now he's over 12 lbs. Negative ketones. If I had listened to the vet, Felix would be dead. So, please get as much info from multiple sources. Felix also has fiv and he is actually playing and healthy. Thank you to everyone for their support, kindness, and life saving advice.
 
1. Name of your kitty, and date of diagnosis.
C.C., female, 13 years old, diagnosed May 19, 2016

2. Which insulin, and which glucose meter?
Vetsulin, and I use an Alphatrak 2 meter with Alphatrak strips

I did not start testing her at home until 7/16 (thanks to the encouragement of this forum). In retrospect I wish I had started it RIGHT AWAY, but it was not something my vet encouraged... she said "most people don't home test. You can if you want but most don't." I was already feeling overwhelmed at the diagnosis and didn't know if I could handle that too, so I decided not to. I now feel like those were to wasted months and that had I started earlier, not only would CC have been safer, but she probably would have achieved remission sooner. Live and learn.

I was very comfortagle using the Alphatrak meter, despite the high cost of strips. I liked having the same meter as my vet, and that I wasn't getting lower readings than she actually was. There was only one time that I needed strips RIGHT AWAY, but I just had to go to my vet and could buy them there. Much cheaper online though... and I learned to always have a backup set of strips on hand so that never happens again. (ADW sells them for about $53 and I always use a $5 off coupon code).

3. Details of diet. And did you switch from dry to wet food? If so, at what point?

We were initially told by our vet that our best hope for getting cc into remission was to feed her the prescription diet. We bought both the cans of perscription Purina DM Savory Select and the dry D/M. In retrospect it's obvious this was not the best choice. We did that the first month and a half or so. I wish I had known how bad that food is from the beginning. I wish my vet were better informed as well! After doing research and finding this forum we learned how FF Classic was better, so that's what we did.
Starting the end of July took her off the prescription food and just did FFC, however being a kibble addict she was not thrilled. She ate it but was always wanting to get into the dry that we have for some of our other cats and for the outside strays we feed.

Finding out about Young Again Zero dry food was truly a game changer for us. we asked for a free sample of the food, and we for the first time saw mid day blue numbers pop up in her spreadsheet. She liked it, it lowered numbers, and that was good enough for us to shell out for a bag.

We received our bag on 8/5/16 and began feeding FF Classic wet food (about 1 1/2-2 oz) at each preshot time and free feeding Young Again Zero whenever she wanted. The YAZ caused absolutely no change to her BG.

Two weeks after starting the YA food and CC's preshot numbers dropped from Pinks and Yellows down into the blues. She regulated quickly and with lots of dosage reductions and tweaks we are where we are now.

We have continued her feeding of a small meal of wet morning and evening and YAZ available at all times. I can't say enough good things about this food.

4. If you used any other insulin besides the current one, which one was it, and how long were you on it.

We always used Vetsulin. I was initially told to give 1 unit twice a day, and was not told it was important to home test, but just watch for hypo. I saw some improvement... her fur was not as greasy and she seemed to have more energy, but that didn't last too long, and a few weeks later she was as lethargic as before, and very unkempt looking. After two months she was given a fructosimine test at the vet and it was showing CC was still very high and unregulated and her dose was increased to 2 units.

That day I decided I needed to put on my big girl undies and take a more proactive role in her care rather than just blindly shooting. I ordered the alphatrack meter, and found this forum. When I first joined the board I was inundated with lots of people telling me her insulin was no good and was too harsh, and that she wouldn't go into remission if I used it. I was very upset and questioned whether my vet knew what the hell she was doing. I wondered if my vet had steered me completely wrong.

A few days later I called my vet to see about a change. I found Well my regular vet was on vacation for the week, so I talked to a different vet at the practice, and she convinced me to give Vetsulin another 2 or 3 weeks and see if it's working better, and if not call back we would talk about switching. I'm glad she talked me out of changing right away because two weeks from then I in fact was seeing better numbers (preshots in the yellows) and longer duration and decided to give it a longer go, figuring if it didn't work out I could always switch.

When I first started testing I found the Vetsulin was not working for long... maybe six hours, but as time went on and the more controlled her numbers were, the longer the duration extended... eventually giving me 10+ hours of duration. After switching food to FFC and YAZ food induced BG rises weren't really a factor at all is when I saw the most headway in her healing.

I tested. A LOT. All those tests gave me a great picture of how she would react to each dose. As her preshot numbers came down and subsequently her doses were less, the steepness of the curve were less as well. When her preshots were nice and low (under 180) I found it relatively easy to dose small amounts to get her into healing low 100's and double digits. I of course would not attempt to do that before having LOTS of data on how she reacts to each dose... but once I had that picture I was able to get her into those healing ranges for several hours a day until her pancreas was able to take over.

One thing I really like about Vetsulin is I found it extremely easy to find the patterns and predict what the result would be with fairly good accuracy and very few surprises. Once I had lots of data I found it pretty easy to get the numbers exactly where I wanted them. I also love the flexibility Vetsulin offers so that if I had to shift the timing an hour or so here and there, it wasn't a problem.


5. Date of last shot. And average BG (blood glucose level) since then.

Her last shot was .25u on a reading of 131 in the morning of 9/6/16.

Her averages 10 weeks ago when I first started testing were AMPS 428.7 and PMPS 365.6

This past week CC's average AMPS was 109 and her PMPS 101.9.

View attachment 23473

I'm am still in awe of her progress in that time.

6. From start to finish, how long was your cat on insulin?

111 days. Just over 3 1/2 months.

7. Anything else specific to your cat's situation that it might be important/useful for others to know (concurrent health issues? Other?)

For months before her diagnosis CC had what I thought was arthritis, and was giving her cosequin for it. The cosequin seemed to help for a period of time, but then seemed like it was no longer as effective and her limping got bad again. As she was nearing remission it was clear what I was actually seeing was more likely the beginning of neuropathy, and I observed that as her diabetes improved, so did her ability to walk and jump. She does not limp at all now, and I'm lucky she didn't get worse then she was! I give her a bit of B12 in her food now just for a little extra boost. I feel really fortunate that she was able to be brought into remission so quickly.
 
Thank all of you for your posts! You all give me such hope for me and Katniss. I am still new to all of this. I just started testing BG. But now very hopefull.
 
Thank all of you for your posts! You all give me such hope for me and Katniss. I am still new to all of this. I just started testing BG. But now very hopefull.

We can't see your spreadsheet because you haven't set the privacy to "anybody with the link can view". If you're on a PC, in the upper right corner is a blue "share". Click there and change the bottom choice to "anyone with the link can view".

Also, while there are some cats that do OK on Vetsulin/Caninsulin, in most cases, it's not a very good choice for cats. The "canin" prefix is a pretty good hint that it's better for dogs. In cats it tends to hit hard and fast and then wear off before the end of the cycle.

Glargine (Lantus, Basaglar, Semglee) or ProZinc are much better for most cats.
 
Back
Top