? Regulating Brimley

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Jessyca, May 29, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jessyca

Jessyca Member

Hi everyone! I'm very new to all of this, and I'm sure I'm going to have a lot of questions and need a lot of advice. Let me explain. No, there is too much. Let me sum up. :p I have a post in the Intro section if I'm missing any details. :)

I work in rescue. We have a cat in our system, Brimley, who is diabetic. He is currently on a very high dose of Novalin, 15units twice a day, and his dose was increased to that much faster then it should have been (from what I'm reading). He is still not regulated. At his last check, he had a fasting BG over 250. Our vet tech has only ever checked fasting BG, never mid day, and I never knew better. I also thought that he was coming in for weekly checks, but I found out that Brimley has not had his BG checked in over 3 weeks. I'm not happy with his diet either (perscription Hills w/d, half wet half dry). He still has excessive drinking and excessive urination, he eats every meal like he's starving, and was pretty underweight the last time I saw him. Tomorrow I will be getting a Glucose Curve on him, which I will post throughout the day. I have no idea what we're going to be dealing with, and I'm not going to lie, the more I read, the more I wish I would have found this site when we got Brimley back in January. I'm feeling a bit like I've failed him, but hopefully it's not too late to fix our mistakes and get him healthy. Slowly, with one change at a time, I know :)

2. BJM

BJM Well-Known Member

When you have a moment, could you add a few tidbits to your signature? It will help us give you feedback without having to go look in all your past posts.

Editing your Signature

In the upper right corner of the screen, within the dark blue bar, you will see ID, Inbox, and Alerts

Click on your ID.

On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature.