Regulation Help

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by rachrp, Jan 4, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rachrp

rachrp Member

Hi everyone,
    I'm new to the message board. My 6-year-old kitty Diablo was diagnosed last March after a bout with steroids. Even though his diagnosis is not new, all of this information is. I was never aware that remission or regulation was possible with home testing, wet food, etc., etc. At this point, I am doing as much reasearch and gathering as much information that I can before I start the process. I'm here to get advice from anyone who has been through this and could provide some support. Here's where we're at..
    Diablo is on low-carb dry food (looking to switch him when I get this started, IF he'll take to it... not a fan of dry food), and he gets 4 units 2x a day, eating before his shots. Taking him to the vet for his BG testing really stresses him out, which is why I'm looking to move toward home testing, so we can get more accurate results. When testing at the vet he is usually 200-300. After dosing up and up and up, he still gets the same results when going to the vet. At one time, he was stable, in the low 100s, but that went out the window.
    Since I work from home, I know that moving to this new regulation is definitely plausible, so if I need to feed him three to four times a day, I can do that. What I'm looking for first of all is some kind of feeding/shot schedule I can follow. Does anyone have an example of what they do? Do I test, then feed? Feed then test? Shot, if necessary, after eating? It's all a jumble in my head right now, and I'm just trying to sort this out and start his regulation with a clear idea of what I need to do.
    If anyone can help provide any kind of avice, I would deeply appreciate it. Thanks!

2. Rob & Harley (GA)

Rob & Harley (GA) Well-Known Member

Hi and welcome to our group,