Relion Premier Classic - having trouble collecting blood sample on strips

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by LaraB, Jan 4, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LaraB

LaraB Member

Hello all. Haven't posted in awhile (mostly lurk here), but I have a question.

I recently switched to a new meter. I was using the Relion Confirm, but it was 5 years old (yes, way too old - didn't realize they only have a 1-2 year lifespan). I purchased the the Relion Premier Classic, one of the newer models. I especially want to make sure that the numbers we are getting are accurate (thus switching to new meter).

One of problems I've been having is getting the blood sample to properly draw into the strips. Part of it may be that it requires a slightly larger sample than the Confirm, but I've been testing Joshi for 5 years now, so it isn't an issue with her ears not being conditioned to it. Yet, every time I've tried getting a sample, the meter gives me the insufficient sample error. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. Is there a trick to these particular strips for getting a sufficient sample? I've already wasted about 10 strips just trying.:(

I'm using the Confirm until I can get used to this new meter. (I should also add that we've had to adjust her dose - what we give her also depends on her pre-shot numbers. I'm hoping the old meter wasn't giving us numbers that were way off - I'll be curious once we can get it to work).

Last edited: Jan 4, 2020
    Reason for edit: Added info about her dosing
    Jennifer R. likes this.
  2. Marje and Gracie

Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

I wish I could answer the question for you but I’ve never used this meter. I did a search and another member, @Dana & Ninja, uses this meter so perhaps she can give you an idea. I tagged her for you.

Hope that helps!

Jennifer R. likes this.
  3. Jennifer R.

Jennifer R. Member