Remission?? Bg 50-90 ?? Advice please

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Ross's mom, Jun 13, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ross's mom

    Ross's mom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    So I do believe Ross is going into remission after a very short while on insulin he's had no shots for 5 days now but the last two days when I test his Bg he's so low at first he was coming up 133 -186 for two days then he started with 50-81 and today again he was 52.2 I feed him and he went up to 93.3 it just seems so low without any insulin I'm just wondering do I feed him high carb food to spike him would that risk remission ? Or keep with the diet ?Very confused right now any advice would be helpful!
     
  2. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    On a human glucometer, when NOT using insulin, 40-120 mg/dL is considered normal (sometimes even in the 30s). If you get 2 weeks of those ranges with no insulin, he will be officially Off The Juice (OTJ).
     
  3. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Those are great numbers!!

    One of my civvies occasionally tests in the 30's, so as long as Ross isn't getting insulin, those lower numbers are just fine!!
     
    jayla-n-Drevon likes this.
  4. Wulfwin

    Wulfwin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    My cat Rain recently went into remission after being on a short course of insulin, and she tends to hang out in the low 50's since.
     
    jayla-n-Drevon likes this.
  5. jayla-n-Drevon

    jayla-n-Drevon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page