? Roxy's bg is high on Lantus

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Cathleen Graham, Jul 23, 2019.

1. Cathleen Graham

Cathleen Graham New Member

I am at my wits end. Roxy is now on 2.5 units of Lantus. I bumped her .25 this am.
    She is a raving lunatic for food. Last night my sister (who used to have a diabetic cat) stopped in and scolded me for starving her.
    Roxy eats 1/2 pate' at meals and 1/4 can of pate' for snacks. In all she eats about 2 1/4 cans a day.
    Has anyone made the switch to Levemir? I am going to reach out to my vet and see if this is a possibility. If I have posted incorrectly, I am new to this.
    Here are her numbers:
    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1oon2Duw8DmkKhWgavdP8F24wRgSoCLaQzch1BBRkNrQ/edit?usp=sharing

2. Bellasmom

Bellasmom Well-Known Member

3. Sue and Luci

Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

I looked at your SS, and my first thought was she's a big cat, needs more insulin...and that extreme hunger is an indicator that she's not getting enough - along with the high numbers.

I didn't see what protocol you're following? TR or the go slow method? Looks like she got down to 167 7/16 but I overlooked as it should be background color of blue...

We switched to Levemir a few weeks ago...so far nothing great has happened...

I think before I'd switch insulins, I would increase her Lantus again until you start seeing some better numbers - but that's just me - some cats take a great deal of insulin before they get the idea... Look at @Mollycat - her Biscuits is a high-dose cat - it just took a lot before he started to get a green here and there...

Cathleen Graham likes this.
  4. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

Welcome to the group!