? Skipping a Dose

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Jennifer block, Aug 12, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jennifer block

    Jennifer block Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2017
    Ok, so last Mufasa PMPS sugars were 89 at dinner/shot time. And i think i was going thru the motions & gave him his shot, knowing it was low.

    I remember hearing, below 150, i can skip.

    So, this AM his AMPS number was 86. I didn't give him his shot.

    Should I?
     
  2. Catdaddy87

    Catdaddy87 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2017
    His PMPS and AMPS were pretty similar with no shot. I would skip the shot and see how he does today. He may be on his way to remission!
     
  3. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    No shoot!!!! That's way too low for insulin.
     
  4. Beenie (GA)

    Beenie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Agreed no shot. Boy Mufasa's numbers are looking good!!! Very exciting greens on that SS :D
     
  5. Jennifer block

    Jennifer block Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2017
    Im so excited, i have a lil bit of water in my eyes. Lol. We've been working so hard. When he tested last night at the +4 mark, i gave him a 3 oz can of gravy lovers fancy feast. Just in case.

    I plan on doing a +6 today only. See where hes at. He needs a break from so much poking, hes starting to not sit still. And whimpered at me twice. Like saying "mom, stop".
     
  6. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Did you give him insulin last night? you left it blank so I figured you knew to skip. What was his +4... You didn't put it in.
     
  7. Jennifer block

    Jennifer block Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2017
    Omg, i was so tired. I wrote it in his book but didn't add everything else. Its updated meow!
     
  8. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Yes, definitely no shot. What number did you get for the +4 last night?

    I certainly join everyone in hoping that this is a good sign, but if you shot on a low number like that last night, it may be that this morning's number is simply being held down by the overdose. Mufasa is heading in the right direction, but he's going to have to be a good boy for a little while longer with the testing. So give him some love, and reassure him that you're doing this to help make sure he gets healthy.

    If he does give you a higher number this evening (over 150), please lower the dose. It looks like one unit may be too much now.
     
  9. Beenie (GA)

    Beenie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Yea my Beenie is a tad annoyed by being poked right now. Poor monkey has been poked so much the past few days can't blame her. Yep if she could send me an emoji it would be :stop:
     
  10. Jennifer block

    Jennifer block Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2017
    I gave him insulin at 5:20.
     
  11. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    1 unit is definitely too much. 120-150 just give a 0.5 shot. 110-120 0.25 under 110 no shoot. If you aren't there to test don't shoot at all under 120.
     
  12. Jennifer block

    Jennifer block Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2017
    Got it!!!! Thanks, @JanetNJ !!!!

    This is very exciting!! Thanks to EVERYONE here for all your help & support!!! #crazycatpeopleunited
     
  13. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Great numbers! I agree with Djamila that 1 unit may be too much.

    You give a treat with each test right?
     
  14. Jennifer block

    Jennifer block Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2017
    Like 3 of them lol and hes starting to bite my figures off. Lol

    Can't get the +6 today. Ill do it right when i get back.
     
  15. Jennifer block

    Jennifer block Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2017
    I was able to get the +7, but didn't post until now. Ive been trying to relax & got my first massage & sauna visit.

    Good news, hes at 69. Bad news, my therapist said after the 60 min massage, im still tight!
     
  16. Beenie (GA)

    Beenie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    :joyful::joyful:
     
  17. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Wow! a 69 with no shot is good news indeed! Maybe that will help you relax at least a little? ;)
     
  18. Jennifer block

    Jennifer block Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2017
    Yes, it does. Def happy. Just did a check before dinner (cause this boy is HUNGRY), 76. Good, right?
     
    Caitlin M likes this.
  19. Beenie (GA)

    Beenie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    I look at Mufasa's SS and this is all I hear-

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze

    It means no worries for the rest of your days

    It's our problem-free philosophy

    Hakuna Matata!
    :cat::D:cat::D
     
    Yong & Maury GA and Djamila like this.
  20. Jennifer block

    Jennifer block Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2017
    I love it. My sweet boy is napping after dinner.
     

    Attached Files:

  21. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Very good. And definitely skip the shot again. I like this trend.

    ETA: I just realized what time that was. Nevermind. I'm a little late to this party...:rolleyes:
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  22. Jennifer block

    Jennifer block Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2017
    You're good. He just had another bg test. 91. 6 hours after dinner.

    Hes had a few treats, and just ate his bedtime meal.
     
  23. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
  24. Beenie (GA)

    Beenie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Oh boy!!!!:D
    Go Mufasa!!
     
  25. Jennifer block

    Jennifer block Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2017
    Day 1, in the books!!!! Woohoo!!!
     
  26. Jennifer block

    Jennifer block Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2017
    Morning, this morning we had 82. I skipped his shot.

    Just to be clear, if its under 150 i shouldnt give him a shot, right?
     
  27. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    That's correct for now anyway. There are times when we shoot under 150, but there is risk in doing so, and it requires the owner to be around to get extra tests in to be safe. Usually shooting on lower numbers is something that only longer-term diabetic kitties need. Since Mufasa isn't even a month on insulin at this point, the risk is much higher.

    Anything under 120 is a healthy, non-diabetic number. So right now, Mufasa seems to be running under the power of his own pancreas and not needing additional insulin to stay in good numbers. Fingers crossed he keeps at it!
     
    Yong & Maury GA and Beenie (GA) like this.
  28. Beenie (GA)

    Beenie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Nice!:D
    I think @JanetNJ gave a solid dosing strategy, see post #11 in this thread.
     
  29. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    You're in different territory now but I'll say yes. He's doing so well and looks like a kitty on a mission to the "r" word! :D
     
  30. Jennifer block

    Jennifer block Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2017
    Thanks everyone!!! We have our doctor appt for 6pm tomorrow evening. I hoping he wont freak out, and test a higher number. Im excited for the visit!!!
     
  31. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Keep in mind that stress most likely will inflate his number, and also that the vet will probably be using a meter designed for pets, and those do run higher numbers. So on a human meter, we say 50-120 is normal. On a pet meter it's 68-150.
     
  32. Jennifer block

    Jennifer block Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2017
    This is good to know. :);):bookworm::cat::cat::cat::cat::cat::cat::cat::D
     
  33. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Hi Jennifer! I just noticed the 47 on your spreadsheet. Some cats will naturally run a bit low on occasion. As long as you haven't given insulin, they can't actually go dangerously hypo, so you don't need to give high carb food if you see a number in the 40's like that. Mufasa is looking good these days. Fingers crossed he keeps it in those ranges! You might look at @Caitlin M 's spreadsheet to see another kitty that goes low once in a while all on his own.
     
  34. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    He's looking wonderful!
     
    Jennifer block likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page