10/4 Sootie: pm dosing suggestions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

HWright

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...53-1-5-55-2-56-3-70-5-82.166066/#post-1793225

Good morning, thank you for getting us through the night. PMPS last night was 95, 1.5 hrs after pm dose of 0.1, she dropped to 53, and by 2:38 am bg rose steadily to 82.
Sootie did not have food after the pm retest at 1:23am (bg 70) and this morning's 7:38 am amps of 140 and retest at 7:39am showing 136.
Given last night's adventure when doing pm dose of 0.1u, and her being on antibiotics for possible UTI/cystitis, appreciate suggestions for this not enough sleep CG about whether to do am dose of 0.1u or modify. Will re-review suggestions from previous threads etc. Even though am bg a bit high, I am concerned about another 0.1u, as small as it is. My inclination being to reduce dose by 1/2 or do droplet this morning. And again, she is not eating much at a time, roaming about upstairs from one place to another. So it may again take some time to get her to eat enough. Her usual window time for am shot is ca 8-9am.
 
Held off on am dose, to get her to eat and if any fdmb suggestions. She did eat a bit of a different food ca 7:40/8am. Did retest at 9:27am, bg was 118. At moment holding on tx orbax dose til later.
 
Bumping you up for dose advice help! I would add Need to shoot to your title so folks know you need help NOW!
I'm too new to give dose advice!:bighug:
 
Bump again..I'm getting ready to leave for work. Keep bumping yourself up if you need help..remember it's not rude and change your thread title as your needs chsnge!:bighug:
 
Where are you located? East coast I'm thinking? It's hard when you mention shooting window to know when that is as we are from all over the world. I'm on the west coast for example. Can you monitor if you shoot?
 
@Gussie's mom Thanks and bless you. Do you ever sleep???!!!!
Bumping up question, HH: I do that by changing thread title? ED

@tiffmaxee sorry, on one of earlier condos I did mention time zone, oops for forgetting to continue to do. Thanks for reminder.
Am on east coast (ET). Sootie's am shoot window is usually 8-9am et. Don't know if you read my update yet, but opted not to shoot this morning. Retest at +2 after amps bg went down from 145 to 118. Holding off til later for her dose of orbax for possible UTI/cystitis. Will be home today so will recheck her periodically. The next timing question, and in relation to the day's numbers appetite etc, will be whether to dose (and if so, what amount) or not to dose at pm. Cross that bridge when we get there, right?
Meanwhile, any suggestions for the day, post-nighttime hypo after last night's pm dose?

Also, even though home today and can monitor if do am shot, she's been through a lot last night, bg came up slow and steady (maybe a little too much as of am bg) but numbers began to decrease on own after food.
 
Last edited:
HI most welcome!
You don't have to change your title unless you want to, or need additional help, or need to mark it urgent for whatever reason. Think of it as your message to catch attention and relay info quickly to those on board. To bump just type bump in the box ( like this one) at the bottom of your thread. I usually add please to be polite .
Each time a thread is replied to it moves to the top of the board..
:bighug:
 
You can add a location or time zone, Meter you are using, answers to some of the usual important Q's to your signature, that's where folks will look for that info and can find it fast!:bookworm:
H.H.
 
thank you both. Will update condo during day and as get closer to pm shoot window ca 8-9pm et, may have questions. At moment, if Sootie's bg's continue to stabilize and 'normalize' throughout the day, am considering to hold off again tonight. Neither of us need the risk or reality of another night of hypo, let alone two nights in a row. Let's see when we get there later today . Have good day and thanks again. Sina
 
Bumping up, please, with Sootie's +7 bg: (amps at 7:38am ET, 140, 7:39 retest/138, 0 units/no dose, +2/118):
+7 at 2:23pm ET/86.

She was sleeping between +2 and +7 today.
 
Bump...breathe....
To clarify no insulin was given and her BG has dropped from 140 at what would have been shot time to 86 at +7 hours after the time you tested and did not shoot..
Hang in there..panic if she hits the 50's thill then breathe and work the drop like you did last nite. You know which foods bring her up, as they say you have the tools and the knowledge to help her, you just have to trust that you know what you know...
You can do this...
I have to get back to work but bump and tag others if you need to
:bighug::bighug:
 
ED: add the blue question mark to your thread title, add Help please! Sootie diving or dropping fast no dose..or whatever you can think of to let people know what is scaring you and what you need help with if necessary.
Remember to take into account meter variance in looking at your test numbers, meters can vary up to 20%..
Test again when you get a number that seems out of whack. Sometimes it's a wonky read or a bad strip, I LOADED and I mean LOADED poor Gus up on honey and HC on what in retrospect I firmly believe was a wonky low test one time..needless to say lesson filed for future reference!
You've got this!
H.H.
 
Meanwhile, any suggestions for the day, post-nighttime hypo after last night's pm dose?
Did Sootie show signs of hypo last night? Or was that just lower numbers than you or she are used to? My Neko hit 33 yesterday morning, and other than being keen to eat, showed no signs. We typically call it hypo if they show symptoms of hypo. Otherwise it's just a lower numbers event. I tested my civie the other day and he was 59. I've tested him at 53 before - it's a perfectly normal number for a cat. We just don't want newly diagnosed cats to go below 50 while they are on insulin, as it gives no room to drop further. But since Sootie is not newly diagnosed (within the last year), we usually make the reduction criteria a little tougher. Typically it's a week in normal numbers (all green, a drop below 40, or three drops below 50).

If you did not shoot, your AMPS (AM preshot) should be listed as a AM BG (blood glucose) on the title. That let's us know at a glance that you did not shoot. Since Sootie is on such a small dose, it's very possible her pancreas is sputtering and bring the numbers down.

If you are wondering what to dose tonight, could you take a +11 test (or one hour before your PM shot) and post the question then. That'll give us a better idea of what to suggest tonight. The longer that a kitty gets a little insulin support and stays in greens, we've found that the remission is stronger. To prevent those steep drops at +2, you can always feed a slightly higher carb food (mayb 8-9% carbs) at +1 so there is food on board when the insulin onsets. She did surf nicely once you got her out of the 50's.
 
Hi @Wendy&Neko
To try to answer your questions:
Last night shot 0.1u, at pmbg (pmps bc did shoot, thanks for reminding me to make distinction) she was higher green (98 ), a bit lower than would have (such as in blue) tx'd, but with concerns raised about effect of possible uti/cystitis increasing glucose levels and now being on orbax once daily, I opted to dose the 0.1u pm. She did eat a bit more at pm than she had the previous night. At retest, I think was pm +1 she had plummeted to low 50's. Hence last night's vigil to feed and get her bg up slow and steady.

As for signs last night: yes, I would say she had indicators of hypo. When I rechecked her at +1 after pm shot: Listless, continuing inappetance (referencing also to previous threads and being on antibiotics for possible uti/cystitis). If technically was to be described as low numbers vs hypo, chalk that up to my learning curve and sleeplessness.

Yes, am planning to test tonight at +11, as well as between the +7 and +11 or pre meal. Yes agree about retest and as I wrote earlier, will see what the next bg tests show and her appetite etc. Thanks, Sina
 
ED: add the blue question mark to your thread title, add Help please! Sootie diving or dropping fast no dose..or whatever you can think of to let people know what is scaring you and what you need help with if necessary.
Remember to take into account meter variance in looking at your test numbers, meters can vary up to 20%..
Test again when you get a number that seems out of whack. Sometimes it's a wonky read or a bad strip, I LOADED and I mean LOADED poor Gus up on honey and HC on what in retrospect I firmly believe was a wonky low test one time..needless to say lesson filed for future reference!
You've got this!
H.H.
Yep understand! Have retested when numbers seem wonky in and of themselves and in relation to sootie's behavior. One time meter said -20; when retested right after she was in normal range. Go figure!
 
Thank you Jayla. Have corrected test times, can't count today. Given the numbers up to +11 just now (as of 7:22pm eastern time), will do a +12. But Sootie's appetite off again, whether the UTI/cystitis or test stress, or other. She did just eat a little bit of supper, again not enough. Sina

And Bump please.
 
Sootie's pm bg at 8:35pm ET up to 131. Again spotty appetite, I am reluctant to shoot even a drop. Pm shoot window ca 8-9pm et. I am reluctant to shoot. Tx'd orbax antibiotic tonight. Suggestions?
 
Update: removed the blue?, and had revised thread title a couple of times.

Opted to not pm dose tonight. Figured safer to not shoot tonight rather than risk another event like last night.

Bump, please.
 
Looks like Sootie isn't quite ready yet to go without the juice. I would resume her dose in the morning.

Are you giving a probiotic since she's on Orbax? ABs can mess with the tummy flora and give them some tummy upset.
 
Looks like Sootie isn't quite ready yet to go without the juice. I would resume her dose in the morning.

Are you giving a probiotic since she's on Orbax? ABs can mess with the tummy flora and give them some tummy upset.
Yes add probiotic in food.
Thanks Wendy. Plan to recheck Sootie's bg later tonight just in case. Hoping smooth night for all.
 
Sorry you didn't get some help before the pm shot. It was ok to skip - that's always an option. I agree with Wendy that Sootie looks like she still needs her insulin.

Since you've skipped insulin for both shots today, I don't think you need to stay up to check tonight. Get one test and take the night off. Then you can get a good night's sleep and go at it again tomorrow. :bighug:

If you are able to monitor after you've shot, it's good to keep giving them unless she drops below 50. If you can't, then skipping is an option. But if you can, getting her blood sugar under 100 around the clock is the most ideal thing for her body. It's always up to you, of course.

Have a great evening!
 
Hi I'm back, had to be on a few phone calls and grabbed some food..sorry you were trying to get help..
Well done E.D. You did the right technical steps with your thread! Quick learner that you are!:)
You are getting advice from the best! Glad they have input for you..I can't count the times I have gone back and reread their advice on my condos ( slang for threads..)
Whenever the pros here tell me I can grab some rest I do it! :)
It is never wrong to make a decision based on keeping Sootie safe...
Enjoy your sleep!! Hope your back and legs are feeling better:bighug:
Give Sootie a scritch for me :cat:
 
Sorry you didn't get some help before the pm shot. It was ok to skip - that's always an option. I agree with Wendy that Sootie looks like she still needs her insulin.

Since you've skipped insulin for both shots today, I don't think you need to stay up to check tonight. Get one test and take the night off. Then you can get a good night's sleep and go at it again tomorrow. :bighug:

If you are able to monitor after you've shot, it's good to keep giving them unless she drops below 50. If you can't, then skipping is an option. But if you can, getting her blood sugar under 100 around the clock is the most ideal thing for her body. It's always up to you, of course.

Have a great evening!

Thanks Julie, snd yes some sleep sounds good. On heating pad right now. Yes agree evenness of bg would be great for her.
Hope you to have good night too
 
by the way, I meant to say you did an excellent job last night of keeping your sweet Sootie safe. Well done!!

And yay for @Gussie's mom who was right there to help you!

yes thank you all and to Gussie's mom through thick and thin and my posting learning curve, too.

Was very glad that we all made it through the night! Here's here's to another night of good surfing for everyone,:)
 
Hi I'm back, had to be on a few phone calls and grabbed some food..sorry you were trying to get help..
Well done E.D. You did the right technical steps with your thread! Quick learner that you are!:)
You are getting advice from the best! Glad they have input for you..I can't count the times I have gone back and reread their advice on my condos ( slang for threads..)
Whenever the pros here tell me I can grab some rest I do it! :)
It is never wrong to make a decision based on keeping Sootie safe...
Enjoy your sleep!! Hope your back and legs are feeling better:bighug:
Give Sootie a scritch for me :cat:
Thank you Gussies mom! Til the morning, good sleep and safe surfing for all. How about I give Sootie a big hug and atta girl from you?!! I know she'll reciprocate. :bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top