Speckles&Me

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by SpecklesandMe, Aug 8, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SpecklesandMe

SpecklesandMe Member

Hi everyone,
    My kitty is almost 11 years old and was diagnosed with diabetes mellitus about 4-5 months ago. I thought I'd join the forum because even though we think we're keeping his glucose levels under reasonable control, he seems to be progressing in terms of symptoms (neuropathy and trace ketones in urine). He does have other health issues, which could play a part in why, but I want to learn from your experiences too, since I am fairly new to this. I am grateful for this forum!
    Thanks all!
    AJ

Critter Mom likes this.
  2. BJM

BJM Well-Known Member

Welcome to FDMB, the best place you never wanted to be.

There are 4 things you'll need to manage your kitty's diabetes:
    - You - without your commitment, the following won't work.
    - Home blood glucose monitoring with an inexpensive human glucometer such as the WalMart Relion Confirm or Target Up and Up (the pet ones will break your budget!). This saves you the cost of going to the vet for curves and done regularly, removes the need for a fructosamine test.
    - Low carb over the counter canned or raw diet, such as many Friskies pates. See Cat Info for more info. If already on insulin, you must be home testing before changing the diet. Food changes should be gradual to avoid GI upsets - 20-25% different food each day until switched. There are 2 low carb, dry, over the counter foods in the US - Evo Cat and Kitten dry found at pet specialty stores and Young Again 0 Carb found online.
    - A long-lasting insulin such as ProZinc, Lantus, BCP PZI, or Levemir. No insulin lasts 24 hours in the cat, so giving it every 12 hours is optimal for control.

3. SpecklesandMe

SpecklesandMe Member

Thank you!