Spread sheet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Oksana

Member
Hello everyone!:)
Could you,please,have a look at my cat Roma spreadsheet.He has been on Caninsulin since April 2016.Still his BG is "bouncing".
Thanks!
 
That was a big early drop and it looks as though he did a little bounce so I would reduce the dose and carry on monitoring, it may take a few days to get the full effect of the food change and a drop in numbers so you have to be extra vigilant and be prepared to reduce. If the dose is dropped a bit too low it doesn't matter as once he is established on the new food then it can always be taken back up a little bit.
 
What were you feeding before and what this morning?
Any difference in the amount being eaten?
Granata pet Carb depends on variety ranging from 2-5%
and the hills DM i believe, 18% if I remember right

I've been feeding him Hill's M/D wet with a little amount of dry food.Total 200 kcal per day.From this Morning on Granata Pet also 200 kcal per day.
The difference in Carbs between those foods is quite dramatic.
I have said to you before, I have no experience with caninsulin, but I would expect Roma's insulin requirement to reduce with that food change.

Another question, when are you feeding?
 
That was a big early drop and it looks as though he did a little bounce so I would reduce the dose and carry on monitoring, it may take a few days to get the full effect of the food change and a drop in numbers so you have to be extra vigilant and be prepared to reduce. If the dose is dropped a bit too low it doesn't matter as once he is established on the new food then it can always be taken back up a little bit.
OK,thanks.I'll try to reduce dose to 2.0U from tomorrow Morning on.
 
Granata pet Carb depends on variety ranging from 2-5%
and the hills DM i believe, 18% if I remember right


The difference in Carbs between those foods is quite dramatic.
I have said to you before, I have no experience with caninsulin, but I would expect Roma's insulin requirement to reduce with that food change.

Another question, when are you feeding?
I feed him after pre-shots at 6.15 and 18.15.
 
I feed him after pre-shots at 6.15 and 18.15.
So just twice a day.?

Have you read the Caninsulin user guide Here is the link

Caninsulin is a very fast acting insulin, in the user guide I linked above there is a feeding schedule.

Because it acts so fast, it's suggested that you test about 20-30min before you shoot and feed about 2/3 of his breakfast. That way he has time to absorb the food and might slow down the fast drops.
ETA then you feed about 1/3 of breakfast between +1.5 to +2

When a cat's BG drops fast, this can trigger a bounce, so slowing him down a tad, may help with the bouncing you are seeing with him.

Take a look at that link, it's very informative. :)

ETA Every cat is different (ECID) so you may need to adjust that depending on how Roma's cycles pan out, but may be a good starting point.
 
So just twice a day.?

Have you read the Caninsulin user guide Here is the link

Caninsulin is a very fast acting insulin, in the user guide I linked above there is a feeding schedule.

Because it acts so fast, it's suggested that you test about 20-30min before you shoot and feed about 2/3 of his breakfast. That way he has time to absorb the food and might slow down the fast drops.
ETA then you feed about 1/3 of breakfast between +1.5 to +2

When a cat's BG drops fast, this can trigger a bounce, so slowing him down a tad, may help with the bouncing you are seeing with him.

Take a look at that link, it's very informative. :)

ETA Every cat is different (ECID) so you may need to adjust that depending on how Roma's cycles pan out, but may be a good starting point.
I've red the article.It was very informative.Thank you very much.:)
I was thinking,because all my family members works full time,so that is why we feed and inject Roma only twice a day,would be possible to use Programmable LCD Pet feeder meal timed?
 
I've red the article.It was very informative.Thank you very much.:)
I was thinking,because all my family members works full time,so that is why we feed and inject Roma only twice a day,would be possible to use Programmable LCD Pet feeder meal timed?
Of course you can.
I use one all the time with George:)
 
I've red the article.It was very informative.Thank you very much.:)
I was thinking,because all my family members works full time,so that is why we feed and inject Roma only twice a day,would be possible to use Programmable LCD Pet feeder meal timed?
Also I would try to eliminate that dry all together and just give extra wet. ... It's very high in carbs, even though it's prescription. Are you in the US?
 
Please,have a look at Roma's spresd sheet today.+5 the glucomeater shows "Lo" which means too low.:nailbiting:M'I doing right?
 
How much time between the Lo and the +6 of 117?
When ever I received a Lo I always retested. A real low (usually less than 20 on human meter), requires immediate action.
 
Whoa! next time you get a strange number please post at the time, if it is a LO start a new thread with a 911 prefix for fast help. What are you feeding today? I see you did reduce the dose tonight but it may need to come down again tomorrow if she carries on like this.
 
How much time between the Lo and the +6 of 117?
When ever I received a Lo I always retested. A real low (usually less than 20 on human meter), requires immediate action.
How much time between the Lo and the +6 of 117?
When ever I received a Lo I always retested. A real low (usually less than 20 on human meter), requires immediate action.
It was my partner who did the test.He re-test in 1 hour then it was 117.I have said to him to prepare a honey in case,but Roma's general condition was OK.
 
Whoa! next time you get a strange number please post at the time, if it is a LO start a new thread with a 911 prefix for fast help. What are you feeding today? I see you did reduce the dose tonight but it may need to come down again tomorrow if she carries on like this.
Next time,touch wood,I will definitely write a new thread.From yesterday Morning on he is on Granata Pet Veal and Rabbit Pate.
 
Print this out and put it where you and your partner can see it in a hurry - on the fridge is a good place or possibly stapled to their forehead as well. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-treat-hypos-they-can-kill-print-this-out.15887/

What you are seeing is the effect of the food change and the numbers will likely continue to drop, Roma has gone from high carb to low carb in a short period of time so you need to be prepared to reduce or skip doses if needed to stop more LO numbers coming in.

Cats can have very low numbers and feel and act ok, next thing they can be flat out without any warning. Do you have your hypo kit all set up? http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/jojo-and-bunnys-hypo-tool-box.2354/
 
Print this out and put it where you and your partner can see it in a hurry - on the fridge is a good place or possibly stapled to their forehead as well. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-treat-hypos-they-can-kill-print-this-out.15887/

What you are seeing is the effect of the food change and the numbers will likely continue to drop, Roma has gone from high carb to low carb in a short period of time so you need to be prepared to reduce or skip doses if needed to stop more LO numbers coming in.

Cats can have very low numbers and feel and act ok, next thing they can be flat out without any warning. Do you have your hypo kit all set up? http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/jojo-and-bunnys-hypo-tool-box.2354/
You mean if tomorrow morning his BG will be 16 or 288 I have to skip a dose?
 
Although given that it was back to 117 an hour later I suspect that it's possible that it was not an accurate test. I would say if you get an unexpected number like that that you retest. Sometimes if the blood sample is too small it doesn't read it correctly.
 
At this moment he has 30.5 which means 549.But tonight UK switched to winter time 1 hour back,from another words I had to inject him 1 hour ago.Any ideas how much of insulin I have to give to him now?Thanks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top