Could it be because this Morning I've switched him to new wet food?I would reduce the dose. The recent BGs, especially this mornings, indicates dose is too high
I've been feeding him Hill's M/D wet with a little amount of dry food.Total 200 kcal per day.From this Morning on Granata Pet also 200 kcal per day.What were you feeding before and what this morning?
Any difference in the amount being eaten?
Granata pet Carb depends on variety ranging from 2-5%What were you feeding before and what this morning?
Any difference in the amount being eaten?
The difference in Carbs between those foods is quite dramatic.I've been feeding him Hill's M/D wet with a little amount of dry food.Total 200 kcal per day.From this Morning on Granata Pet also 200 kcal per day.
OK,thanks.I'll try to reduce dose to 2.0U from tomorrow Morning on.That was a big early drop and it looks as though he did a little bounce so I would reduce the dose and carry on monitoring, it may take a few days to get the full effect of the food change and a drop in numbers so you have to be extra vigilant and be prepared to reduce. If the dose is dropped a bit too low it doesn't matter as once he is established on the new food then it can always be taken back up a little bit.
I feed him after pre-shots at 6.15 and 18.15.Granata pet Carb depends on variety ranging from 2-5%
and the hills DM i believe, 18% if I remember right
The difference in Carbs between those foods is quite dramatic.
I have said to you before, I have no experience with caninsulin, but I would expect Roma's insulin requirement to reduce with that food change.
Another question, when are you feeding?
So just twice a day.?I feed him after pre-shots at 6.15 and 18.15.
I've red the article.It was very informative.Thank you very much.So just twice a day.?
Have you read the Caninsulin user guide Here is the link
Caninsulin is a very fast acting insulin, in the user guide I linked above there is a feeding schedule.
Because it acts so fast, it's suggested that you test about 20-30min before you shoot and feed about 2/3 of his breakfast. That way he has time to absorb the food and might slow down the fast drops.
ETA then you feed about 1/3 of breakfast between +1.5 to +2
When a cat's BG drops fast, this can trigger a bounce, so slowing him down a tad, may help with the bouncing you are seeing with him.
Take a look at that link, it's very informative.
ETA Every cat is different (ECID) so you may need to adjust that depending on how Roma's cycles pan out, but may be a good starting point.
Of course you can.I've red the article.It was very informative.Thank you very much.
I was thinking,because all my family members works full time,so that is why we feed and inject Roma only twice a day,would be possible to use Programmable LCD Pet feeder meal timed?
Also I would try to eliminate that dry all together and just give extra wet. ... It's very high in carbs, even though it's prescription. Are you in the US?I've red the article.It was very informative.Thank you very much.
I was thinking,because all my family members works full time,so that is why we feed and inject Roma only twice a day,would be possible to use Programmable LCD Pet feeder meal timed?
We are in UK.Also I would try to eliminate that dry all together and just give extra wet. ... It's very high in carbs, even though it's prescription. Are you in the US?
How much time between the Lo and the +6 of 117?
When ever I received a Lo I always retested. A real low (usually less than 20 on human meter), requires immediate action.
It was my partner who did the test.He re-test in 1 hour then it was 117.I have said to him to prepare a honey in case,but Roma's general condition was OK.How much time between the Lo and the +6 of 117?
When ever I received a Lo I always retested. A real low (usually less than 20 on human meter), requires immediate action.
Next time,touch wood,I will definitely write a new thread.From yesterday Morning on he is on Granata Pet Veal and Rabbit Pate.Whoa! next time you get a strange number please post at the time, if it is a LO start a new thread with a 911 prefix for fast help. What are you feeding today? I see you did reduce the dose tonight but it may need to come down again tomorrow if she carries on like this.
You mean if tomorrow morning his BG will be 16 or 288 I have to skip a dose?Print this out and put it where you and your partner can see it in a hurry - on the fridge is a good place or possibly stapled to their forehead as well. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-treat-hypos-they-can-kill-print-this-out.15887/
What you are seeing is the effect of the food change and the numbers will likely continue to drop, Roma has gone from high carb to low carb in a short period of time so you need to be prepared to reduce or skip doses if needed to stop more LO numbers coming in.
Cats can have very low numbers and feel and act ok, next thing they can be flat out without any warning. Do you have your hypo kit all set up? http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/jojo-and-bunnys-hypo-tool-box.2354/
Not skip but a lower dose. If 1.25 brought your cat too low then maybe 1 or 0.75 will be a safer dose at that number.You mean if tomorrow morning his BG will be 16 or 288 I have to skip a dose?
I think that was a good call.Injected him 1.5,because was afraid to go straight to 2.5.![]()
I'll will.Then put out at the end of the day.Have nice Sunday everyone.Thank you for the support.That looks ok, can you get some readings this cycle to see how he responds to that dose.