? Starbuck AMPS 121, +4.5 100, +5.5 142, +7 110, PMPS 99 need micro dose advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

SarahNOLA

Member Since 2017
For the second time, I'm trying to take her down from .1 to the drop dose, and now it isn't getting her under 100. It's been 10 cycles on this dose. Any advice on what to do?

Stay with it unless her numbers creep up to, say, 150-200? OR give up and go back to .1? Try and eyeball sliiiiiightly less than I was giving for .1? Maybe aim to the center of the zero line?

I realize the low 100s are still healthy numbers... they're just not as good as we've been getting. I don't want her in the 30s and 40s, which if you look at her chart, it seems like she will eventually do after she goes back to the .1 dose for a few days. Advice from anyone who's been through this with a cat whose pancreas seems to almost but not quite be working? :banghead:
 
Last edited:
I have done the 0.1 unit and then pushed out X number of drops from it. Roll the plunger and press slightly to get a drop that rolls down the needle. Then I just moved down from there to a drop. A little different situation with the pred Jones' takes.

I can't advice on dose though...she is getting some great numbers on a drop though, not horrible.
 
I'd hold the dose for now, she got to 82 last night and might have dropped lower.

Sometimes they go up before they come back down, so I'd watch tonights cycle especially if she has a PS that's green or low blue.

One other thought, ideally we would like to see them go all green, take a look at Georges ss, april 2016 he went OTJ, a little trick that I was recommended to try was to feed a small snack at +9, if the pancreas is working a small snack at +9 can stimulate it to bring the numbers down into green by PS, we are looking overall between 50-80 for TR with a human meter.
(This small snack 'tip' is only applicable to kitties on microdoses, approaching OTJ trials, for kitties on higher amounts of insulin, best to feed before nadir)
 
I'd hold the dose for now, she got to 82 last night and might have dropped lower.

Sometimes they go up before they come back down, so I'd watch tonights cycle especially if she has a PS that's green or low blue.

One other thought, ideally we would like to see them go all green, take a look at Georges ss, april 2016 he went OTJ, a little trick that I was recommended to try was to feed a small snack at +9, if the pancreas is working a small snack at +9 can stimulate it to bring the numbers down into green by PS, we are looking overall between 50-80 for TR with a human meter.
(This small snack 'tip' is only applicable to kitties on microdoses, approaching OTJ trials, for kitties on higher amounts of insulin, best to feed before nadir)

Oh that's a good tip. Someone else told me about the +9 snack, and I was doing it for awhile and then stopped when she was getting all green. I'll hold the dose for now because it occurs to me the house got cleaned today and she might've been high because she was a bit stressed. If I can't get her back into green in three cycles, I'll reevaluate then.
 
hold the dose for now because it occurs to me the house got cleaned today and she might've been high because she was a bit stressed
Stress can certainly elevate BG so that might have influenced today's cycle.

When bfg got well regulated, on his way to OTJ, a couple of times he threw me off cycles, ie an unexpected higher than normal number midcycle, he then followed this with a reduction earning cycle fairly soon after. It's something that happens with some kitties, think of it as an early warning.
 
Stress can certainly elevate BG so that might have influenced today's cycle.

When bfg got well regulated, on his way to OTJ, a couple of times he threw me off cycles, ie an unexpected higher than normal number midcycle, he then followed this with a reduction earning cycle fairly soon after. It's something that happens with some kitties, think of it as an early warning.

NO SOONER did I read your post than she popped up a 99 pre-shot. :D Whew! I'm going to stay with the drop.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top