Suggestions on changing dose

Steve and Buddy

Member Since 2019
Hello everyone. Need some input. Buddy seems to be doing good. Some what active, playing with toys, basically his ol self. Gaining weight. Going with SLGS. Question is according to protocol, if I'm reading the guidelines correctly, shouldn't I be increasing his dose by .25. Buddy was on 2u. For awhile. Then dropped to 1.75. Thinking I went the wrong way. So I took it back to 2u. BUDDY'S data shows me he needs a 0.25 increase. Need advice.
 
Protocol says hold dose 3 to 5 day, if it were me and you don’t see some greens or blues I would increase in the am to 2.25
 
It's good to hear Buddy is feeling good and being playful. With SLGS you should do a curve every 7 days and make the dose adjustment based on that, unless he earns a reduction in between curves. If the nadir is over 150, you increase the dose by 0.25 units. Buddy did need to go back to 2.0 units. He only earns a reduction if he goes under 90.
 
Carla is right...SLGS you hold the dose for at least a week unless your cat falls below 90 & then you decrease the dose immediately. After one week at a given dose, you perform a 12 hour curve.
 
Back
Top