Syko AMPS 149, +1 176, +3 164; PMPS 112, +2 49, +3 41, +3.5 45 , +4 63 , + 4.5 65, +5 61

Status
Not open for further replies.
+1 9.8
Not sure what she's doing, might just be a food spike? Hasn't eaten for at least an hour. I'll check on her in an hour or 2.
Maybe I had a furshot? But I'm pretty sure I got it all in her. :confused:
 
+3 9.1

I have one more Alphatrak strip left but I have these readings on the Freestyle Lite as well.
 
Looking good so far!!

It's not at all unusual for a +1 to be higher then the Pre-shot....it's just a food spike....what's more worrying is if it's lower since it really should be higher due to the fact they just ate
 
That makes sense!

I switched the data in my SS to the Freestyle Lite numbers I got today cause I ran out of the Alphatrak mid-day. They seem to be 2-3 points lower than the Alphatrak so I'll just have to remember that and not freak out when it gives me lower readings than I'm used to.

Alphatrak: AMPS 8.3, +1: 9.8, +3: 9.1,
Freestyle: AMPS 5.7, +1: 7.3, +3: 6.2, +7: 7.8

Syko's feeling great today! She just tried to jump down from one of her stairs to another instead of her usual climbing. It wasn't the most graceful, but she tried :D

I want to get that B12 stuff for her, just not sure what to get? I'll have to do some research.. heard it's great for neuropathy. She has tiny legs so she's never been much of a jumper but it's worth a try :cat:
 
What most of us recommend is the Zobaline for Cats but I'm not sure if they ship to Canada

Any Methylcobalamin will work....just make sure it doesn't contain any sugar (Methylcobalamin is a particular form of B-12 and the one that works best for neuropathy)
 
What most of us recommend is the Zobaline for Cats but I'm not sure if they ship to Canada

Any Methylcobalamin will work....just make sure it doesn't contain any sugar (Methylcobalamin is a particular form of B-12 and the one that works best for neuropathy)
They do ship to Canada but it comes out to $53CAD with shipping. I'll see if I can find one on Amazon or even at the drug store. I assume 3mg is what I need since that's what the Zobaline is? I see some that are 5mg, would that be okay? could maybe cut in half
 
Okay good to know! thanks!
I might go ahead and get the Zobaline anyway, most of the ones designed for humans have flavouring and sugar added
 
This post by Melanie (another Canadian member) describes how she got the Vitacost product and folic acid to make up the same formula as the Zobaline. I recently came upon the New Roots methyl B12 product (capsules) but it has other ingredients in there and I haven't checked all of them yet to see if they are OK for a cat. I'm debating trying it with my civie who is walking plantigrade on one hind leg. The New Roots product is made in Canada and available in a lot of local stores. Which is a bonus given we don't know what the postal service is going to do tomorrow. :confused:
 
Oh? I didn't know they were still possibly striking. So we gave her her shot, went out to dinner and just got back... Kinda worried.

PM+2 is 2.7/49 on the Freestyle Lite :eek:. PMPS was 6.2/112 :nailbiting:
Freaked out and checked it on the AT2 with freestyle strip, 4.2/76
Gave her some of her higher carb prescription food. Will check her in half an hour? I don't like the new meter...

I guess this earns her another reduction as well. How do I even do a .25? ughhh. I guess reduction is a good thing, just gonna be hard to get that dose right...
 
Last edited:
45 now after some food.. glad I had a nap today!

Giving her HC wet food (Hill's prescription D/d, around 20%. I mixed some kibbles in it but she's eating around them

I just try to keep reminding myself that the number would be much higher on the Alphatrak... but we've never had a bright green before so I'm freaking out a bit. Gonna 911 this actually, I might need help if she drops again.
 
40's themselves aren't usually unsafe, but you're right to be feeding something high carb....we don't want her dropping any lower

You just want to feed a couple teaspoons of the high carb and re-test in 20-30 minutes....when she's back into at least the 50's, you can stop feeding, but you want to keep testing for at least 2 hours to make sure she stays up and doesn't drop back down again. You want to test every 30 minutes for an hour after food and then one more test an hour later....if she's still OK at that point, you can relax

If she does drop back down, you just start over with the high carb and testing and the "clock" starts over

Welcome to your first PJ party! :coffee::coffee::coffee:
 
Hi there, I am no expert but have weathered a fair number of bright green episodes with Gus. I'm going to be up for a bit with Gusdie so am happy to hang in there with you to help you steer Syko into some safe numbers.
 
What I would do too is if you can mix some LC food with the HC, it gives her body something to coast on when the HC food bump starts to wear off. You don't want to give her so much food that she gets too full when you are bringing her up.
 
What I would do too is if you can mix some LC food with the HC, it gives her body something to coast on when the HC food bump starts to wear off. You don't want to give her so much food that she gets too full when you are bringing her up.
That's a great idea!
Just got a 63 at +4., so I'll stop feeding and check again in 30.
 
That's a great idea!
Just got a 63 at +4., so I'll stop feeding and check again in 30.
That's good! You brought her up. You steered her up! You can see on Gussies SS how the LC mix helps him to come back up and stay up. Test again in 30 min, I'll stay up till I hear from you she is climbing safely. Give yourself a big pat on the back! :)
 
On the B-12
I use Zobaline, it's been three months and Gusdie went from walking on his hocks to now starting to come back up on his toes again. It really helped him. I buy mine on Amazon. Be sure to get the one that starts with a Z not an X.
 
That's good! You brought her up. You steered her up! You can see on Gussies SS how the LC mix helps him to come back up and stay up. Test again in 30 min, I'll stay up till I hear from you she is climbing safely. Give yourself a big pat on the back! :)
:bighug: Thank you! Hopefully she stays up. She's just napping now, and is only mildly annoyed with being woken up to test. I'm amazed with how cool she is with all the testing and needles and stuff I put her through, I thought she would start hating me but she doesn't seem to mind.
On the B-12
I use Zobaline, it's been three months and Gusdie went from walking on his hocks to now starting to come back up on his toes again. It really helped him. I buy mine on Amazon. Be sure to get the one that starts with a Z not an X.
That must have been so nice to see! I'll check that out :) Syko isn't too bad, her back legs just slip a bit when she's walking for the most part and sometimes she has to take breaks walking down the hall. Sometimes she walks with her legs bent, not quite on her hocks but like she could get that way eventually. She hasn't jumped since I got her about 5 years ago so we always assumed she had arthritis, and she's overweight and just has short legs, but it started getting worse a couple months before she was diagnosed with diabetes. We've seen some improvement since we started insulin but I want to do everything I can for her :cat:
 
I wish I could stay longer to keep an eye on you, but it's almost 3am here and I have to be out early in the morning

I've asked @Gussie's mom if she could keep an eye on you for a little while....she's still fairly new here but she's had quite a bit of practice with low numbers with Gussie lately so she can hold your hand if she's able to do it.

Wendy & Neko had to go to bed and I don't see @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey on right now (but now that she's tagged,she may show up to lend some support too at some point.

Just remember....You're in charge of her blood glucose...if it goes too low, you break out some high carb food and feed her more. ....stay calm....panic doesn't help your kitty
 
Just got a 63 at +4., so I'll stop feeding and check again in 30.
Do you have the +4.5 test yet?

If you do start using one of the b-12 supplements, just be aware it takes awhile to see results. Some kittie start to show improvement in a couple of weeks. With some it takes longer. Don't get discouraged and give up if no improvement is seen after a week or two.
 
Do you have the +4.5 test yet?

If you do start using one of the b-12 supplements, just be aware it takes awhile to see results. Some kittie start to show improvement in a couple of weeks. With some it takes longer. Don't get discouraged and give up if no improvement is seen after a week or two.
Just got it. +4.5 = 65
I'll probably stick with it for a while, she takes pills pretty well so it shouldn't be too difficult to add to our routine :)
 
This post by Melanie (another Canadian member) describes how she got the Vitacost product and folic acid to make up the same formula as the Zobaline. I recently came upon the New Roots methyl B12 product (capsules) but it has other ingredients in there and I haven't checked all of them yet to see if they are OK for a cat. I'm debating trying it with my civie who is walking plantigrade on one hind leg. The New Roots product is made in Canada and available in a lot of local stores. Which is a bonus given we don't know what the postal service is going to do tomorrow. :confused:
Finally got time to check out that post, that is interesting! Would be so easy to just sprinkle the mixture on her food. If you find that the New Roots is safe for kitties let me know! :)

These tests are on the Freestyle, right? If so, I would withhold food and test in 30. If you already fed after this test, test in 30 anyway.
Yes, first day using the Freestyle. I gave her a tiny bit of food but it doesn't look like she's touched it at all, she even moved to the other side of the bed away from it. It's been about half an hour if the time on the meter is right, so I'll go test now
 
Finally got time to check out that post, that is interesting! Would be so easy to just sprinkle the mixture on her food. If you find that the New Roots is safe for kitties let me know! :)


Yes, first day using the Freestyle. I gave her a tiny bit of food but it doesn't look like she's touched it at all, she even moved to the other side of the bed away from it. It's been about half an hour if the time on the meter is right, so I'll go test now
Good! Thanks!
 
She's in safe numbers. congratulations on getting her there! This is an hour after food right?
@Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey is going to check in on you. Since Syko is not dropping and looks like you've got this, I'm going to head to bed, Gussies shot is in just a few hours! Congratulations on steering your first bright green numbers!
I would test again in 30 to be sure she's not dropping, I'm a test a holic, so @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey might have better advice! At any rate you want to have a test at 2 hrs after food and as Chris said, if she's not dropping you can relax.
Unless @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey says differently! She's a pro! I'm just a newbie! Nite, surf safely, nicely steered!
 
Do you need to go to bed? She's earned her reduction, so there's no point in keeping the surf going if you'd rather not. You could just give her some MC or even HC, check in 20 minutes and go to bed.
I don't have much going on tomorrow, so will probably stay up a bit. Thank you so much for your help! :bighug:She seems to be earning a lot of reductions lately!

Never mind my post! Crossed w Tricia's! You are in great hands,
Nite!
Thank you for staying up with us! Hope you and Gussie have a good night :bighug:
 
+5.5 = 61. I still don't like the bright green, but it's nice to see her leveling out.
Going to test again in an hour, we just realized that Fear the Walking Dead came out on Sunday so we're going to watch that before bed :)
 
I just read this in the '5 steps to regulating your diabetic cat': "a substantial minority (around 1/3) of cats who were previously on a high-carbohydrate diet may end up not needing insulin injections if carbohydrates are restricted. There is now research indicating that Lantus (insulin glargine) may improve your cat's chances of being diet-controlled"
Don't want to jinx it but that sure would be wonderful. Her BG is so much lower now than before I switched her food. and before her Dx she was eating a lot of dry food too cause she's picky and we 'had' to use the prescription food.

Did you feed at this latest test? If not, check her in 30 to see how she's doing without food.
She hasn't eaten since +3 other than a couple treats (freeze-dried chicken). Will check again in 10 mins, will be 30min since last test.
 
+7 was 4.5. Looks like she's not going anywhere too fast, so I'm going to get some sleep while I can! I'm not usually a fan of coffee but Syko is changing that :rolleyes:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top