Taco 11/5 AMPS 271,+2 308,+4 293,+6 333,+8 369,+11 295, PMPS 310,+3 342,+5 301,+7 235,+9 311,+11 246

Cindy&Taco

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ps-251-1-282-3-241-5-166-9-210-11-239.205931/
Putting this here from last condo, regarding a possible for high BG, but, who knows, as he continues.
copy&paste:Follow up on this discussion of Tacos high numbers, for a stretch there. I've been wracking my brain of course, and this may have something to do with it, but, the night of his high numbers, I remember when I shot, he pulled back and yowled as if I had hurt him, which he never has done, maybe he didnt get a full dose? Something for me to pay attention to. So moving on to todays 11/5 condo and hoping for better numbers after his raise to 2.75. Will hold the 2.75 for at least 4 days more from today , unless he earns a reduction.

Taco 11/5 AMPS 271,+2 308,+4 293,+6 333,+8 369,+11 295,PMPS 310,+3 342,+5 301,+7 235,
 
Last edited:
Get out of dem trees Taco, much more fun at the beach
C584C1F0-FAB0-4DE0-9DC2-789FC156F7FC.jpeg
 
Is he acting ok?
He seems to be, a little more mellow and sleeping more,to me. My daughter says she doesnt see anything different. I'll give it a couple more days,and then maybe a vet visit. I can't see his vet doing anything about it, except trying to talk me into putting him back on Prozinc. He wrote the rx after me begging for Lev and knows NOTHING about it and doesnt want to know anything about it. I'm afraid he'll blame whatever on the Lev. Otherwise Taco isnt acting sick, he's peeing,pooping and eating good. I think he acts a little hungrier than usual. I don't know, confused. Sorry it took me a while to answer, I was trying to get some packing done. House bought in May, and keep stalling with Taco, but, it's getting ridiculous waiting like this.And then I keep thinking back to one of the nights that I may not have gotten all his insulin in, but, I think that should have straightened out by now and then maybe not. It was the PM shot where he started getting all those pinks.
 
He seems to be, a little more mellow and sleeping more,to me. My daughter says she doesnt see anything different. I'll give it a couple more days,and then maybe a vet visit. I can't see his vet doing anything about it, except trying to talk me into putting him back on Prozinc. He wrote the rx after me begging for Lev and knows NOTHING about it and doesnt want to know anything about it. I'm afraid he'll blame whatever on the Lev. Otherwise Taco isnt acting sick, he's peeing,pooping and eating good. I think he acts a little hungrier than usual. I don't know, confused. Sorry it took me a while to answer, I was trying to get some packing done. House bought in May, and keep stalling with Taco, but, it's getting ridiculous waiting like this.
I’ve never used levemir so I can’t give advice but I can give :bighug::bighug: and hope he comes on down, one word I hate is patience, I lack in it
If he has all his P’s then I would just see what happens
 
I’ve never used levemir so I can’t give advice but I can give :bighug::bighug: and hope he comes on down, one word I hate is patience, I lack in it
If he has all his P’s then I would just see what happens
I'll give it a couple more days and see what happens. :bighug::bighug:
 
Deep breathes. The road to regulating our sweeties is not usually a straight path. There are hills and valleys along the way and you just have to adjust accordingly. Taco may very well be feeling a little off and sleeping more because of the slightly higher BG. Keep a eye on him for any other signs of anything being off but chances are good it's just one of those hills you have to get over. The things to be aware of that often cause rises in BG are Urinary tract infections or tooth issues.
 
Deep breathes. The road to regulating our sweeties is not usually a straight path. There are hills and valleys along the way and you just have to adjust accordingly. Taco may very well be feeling a little off and sleeping more because of the slightly higher BG. Keep a eye on him for any other signs of anything being off but chances are good it's just one of those hills you have to get over. The things to be aware of that often cause rises in BG are Urinary tract infections or tooth issues.
I'm hoping it's not teeth issues, he had a dental a couple months ago and had 4 pulled. He's eating fine now, which was what led me to believe his teeth bothered him when he would quit eating for us and would use only one side to eat and fling a lot of food. I'm hoping he'll start going down in numbers again. My patience is wearing thin. It wouldnt be so bad if I had a vet that worked with me. Unfortunately,I'm out of vets around here. Maybe when we move I can find someone to work with, but,I'm not counting on it :( I brought my notebook in to him last time to show him how I kept track of everything and he pushed back at me, didnt even peek at it, but saw how I have everything color coded and said "I dont need to see your comic book" OK??
 
"I dont need to see your comic book" OK
What a cheeky bit of sass that is! It never ceases to amaze me how vets can be so holier than thou with their human clients. Their patient may be the cat/dog but without you as their advocate, the vet would have no business. You should be treated with respect especially when you are obviously taking such an interest in helping Taco. Me thinks that is a sign your vet doesn't have the foggiest clue how to interpret your "comic book". I hope you can find another vet when you move.
 
but saw how I have everything color coded and said "I dont need to see your comic book" OK??

The IM specialist also could not deal with the SS we have here and recommended I don't colour code things. I had to make a whole other "bland" SS for her (which is kind of helpful for me in tracking his behaviour but not entirely necessary and I only update it when I have to show a vet).

Anyway, I'm sorry you're feeling this way. It sucks. :arghh::arghh::arghh: :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
The IM specialist also could not deal with the SS we have here and recommended I don't colour code things. I had to make a whole other "bland" SS for her (which is kind of helpful for me in tracking his behaviour but not entirely necessary and I only update it when I have to show a vet).

Anyway, I'm sorry you're feeling this way. It sucks. :arghh::arghh::arghh: :bighug::bighug::bighug:
It really has nothing to do with my SS, it was a notebook that I keep all details in, I mentioned in another post, that he prescribed me the Lev, but, doesnt want anything to do with it, or even try to learn about it. So as far as the diabetes he says I'm on my own, that's why I rely on the group so much, and freak out when Taco gets in the low numbers. If he were to go hypo I would be in one big mess or Taco would be.(mainly why I dont always follow the "rules" for TR and have a hard time not feeding and stalling) I get scared :( I've called multiple vets here and they only believe in Prozinc, Taco was on Prozinc for 1 year, and it didnt help and if I needed to up a dose they only do it in whole units. It's really a shame because I take 7 pets there and have paid thousands of dollars for care, but, it's their way or the highway.Hoping to find a vet that will work with me when I move. And ,YES!! it does suck.
 
I kind of see it as a blessing that he's not wanting to be a part of the diabetes journey but the strong negative reaction sure is uncalled for.

I wonder and hope someone can chime in and perhaps help you and Taco figure out a dosing method that works for you. I'm really new to all of this and have the same fears and concerns. I'm tentatively following TR but I would much rather do SLGS method but I don't think Ming would benefit from it.

Ming was on PZI too and we actually increased by 0.2 units but was using u-100 needles. It was nerve racking having to make sure I was drawing up the right amount on the u-100 but it's possible to increase by fractions.
 
I kind of see it as a blessing that he's not wanting to be a part of the diabetes journey but the strong negative reaction sure is uncalled for.

I wonder and hope someone can chime in and perhaps help you and Taco figure out a dosing method that works for you. I'm really new to all of this and have the same fears and concerns. I'm tentatively following TR but I would much rather do SLGS method but I don't think Ming would benefit from it.

Ming was on PZI too and we actually increased by 0.2 units but was using u-100 needles. It was nerve racking having to make sure I was drawing up the right amount on the u-100 but it's possible to increase by fractions.
I do get the help I need here :)
 
The amount of training vets get on diabetes in vet school is minimal and it covers dogs and cats and perhaps a few more species. Vets get their dietary training from the big name food manufacturers who convince vets that THEIR food is specially formulated for diabetics. A lot of vets seem to treat cats as if they are dogs. Others are stuck on no home testing because they fear it would be asking too much of the pet owner or so they can pad their pockets by getting their clients to drag the cats into the clinic for inaccurate testing. There are a lot of reasons why vets seem to behave "badly" with the diabetes diagnosis. Unfortunately most vets don't treat that many diabetic cats so they don't update their knowledge and they don't have time to do so for one patient in their clinic. They may be extraordinary vets for other things but diabetes is very much a daily hands on situation. For some vets I'm sure it's difficult to "let go" of the control they feel they should have. It's unfortunate but you'll see a lot of folks here say they just nod at the vet and then do their own thing.
All fingers and paws crossed you can find a vet who is willing to work with you as a partner rather than as a dictator.
 
The amount of training vets get on diabetes in vet school is minimal and it covers dogs and cats and perhaps a few more species. Vets get their dietary training from the big name food manufacturers who convince vets that THEIR food is specially formulated for diabetics. A lot of vets seem to treat cats as if they are dogs. Others are stuck on no home testing because they fear it would be asking too much of the pet owner or so they can pad their pockets by getting their clients to drag the cats into the clinic for inaccurate testing. There are a lot of reasons why vets seem to behave "badly" with the diabetes diagnosis. Unfortunately most vets don't treat that many diabetic cats so they don't update their knowledge and they don't have time to do so for one patient in their clinic. They may be extraordinary vets for other things but diabetes is very much a daily hands on situation. For some vets I'm sure it's difficult to "let go" of the control they feel they should have. It's unfortunate but you'll see a lot of folks here say they just nod at the vet and then do their own thing.
All fingers and paws crossed you can find a vet who is willing to work with you as a partner rather than as a dictator.

You must know my vet, dictator, argumentive, closed minded, unwilling to learn something new, belittling ,couldnt believe that I was going to home test, and that was when he was first diagnosed, that did no good, as I knew nothing about FD, and called E service one night when he had a BG of 300 and told me to go from 1u to 2u twice a day. I could go on & on.

Like joined the FB group I was on to spy on me and got kicked off for not being able to be tagged, because HIS life is SO much more important than mine.

Linda , you know my circumstances ;)and the human medical field in our family position is no different, unfortunately. My skin in a vet and DR office turn to alligator skin.. What's the saying? Ain't nobody got time for that :)

Onward and forward :)

Thanks for your support, all of you :bighug:

Getting ready to put on Tacos condo for today,so far, he's looking magnificent compared to the last 2 days. He had me worried last night, he didnt look good and was breathing kind of fast. But, he turned around this AM :):):bighug::):bighug:
 
Just heard/seen too many horror stories about some vets around here although I did end up with one dud myself when my vet of 30+ years passed away but thankfully it was just for wellness checks and not anything concerning. Found my current vet and LOVE her and her associate. They work with me, try to save clients money when possible and are willing to look into different options when asked. I know only too well how very lucky I am to have them.

Quickest way to put a vet in their place about testing is to ask them if they would give insulin to a baby without checking to see if it was safe to do so. If they still poo poo the idea, you know they don't have a clue.

Diabetes is not a one size fits all proposition. Each cat is an individual and they are all dancing to a different song and the song sometimes changes. While guidelines give you a baseline to work with, here you get the experience of folks who have/are dealing with all sorts of different kitties with their own idiosyncracies and you are learning from folks who basically live feline diabetes every day.

Looks like Taco may have been having some new dose wonkiness. Definitely looking better today! :)
 
Back
Top