Taco10/8. AMPS 158,+2 297,+4 331,+6 281,+8 340,+10 263,+11 298,PMPS 250,+2 365,+5 347,+11 238

Cindy&Taco

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...105-11-112-pmps-104-1-172-3-169-5-146.204359/

Copied & pasted from 10/7 condo , I said, So , I made the descision to increase Tacos dose this AM to 2.75 u of Levemir , even tho I was scared with the all new blue numbers. To be continued,on next 10/8 condo. after the +5 146, comes a +8 146, and a +11 149. See SS.

So upset, what in the world?? I thought for sure we were there or close to it. He got his increase after 6 cycles, so lets see where this goes,
Some bad boys must have snuck in around +2 and +4, because I know my grandson would NEVER get high without influence from others ;) I have to laugh or I'm on the verge of crying :(
 
From the slang dictionary http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-basaglar-levemir-isg-slang-dictionary.1903/
NDW aka New Dose Wonkiness - "Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations."

Even if he just got his increase for the first time,4 hours before that? It seems like a pattern for him ,could it be the end of the previous dose , like he runs out of juice around + 16 , even tho there's no +16 realistically? Does that make sense ?
 
I think he just bounced, that's the longest time he spent in blue for quite a while and is just not used to it. Technically almost 24 hours but if you squint that 208 is almost blue, and it's more like 36hours in a range that was most likely below his renal threshold, this is good, don't dispair.
NDW is also a possibility.

Remember you won't see the full effect of the dose until the bounce/ndw clears and the depot settles, paws crossed its sooner rather than later.
 
Even if he just got his increase for the first time,4 hours before that? It seems like a pattern for him ,could it be the end of the previous dose , like he runs out of juice around + 16 , even tho there's no +16 realistically? Does that make sense ?
Yes it's possible you had a lack of duration and he went up before the next dose kicked in.
Did he get anything different foodwise last night?

It's hard to tell if he nadired early his numbers were so flat in the pm cycle.

Once you send how this morning's cycle plays out you'll have a better idea.
 
Yes it's possible you had a lack of duration and he went up before the next dose kicked in.
Did he get anything different foodwise last night?

It's hard to tell if he nadired early his numbers were so flat in the pm cycle.

Once you send how this morning's cycle plays out you'll have a better idea.

Nothing different, I'm just baffled, I really thought that was it, even going for the increase when I was scared to. Now , he's gone up even more :(
 
I think it's more likely a bounce, he went up significantly at +2, his Lev shot would not have even onset by then.



If I'm honest I was surprised to still see him in blue at amps this morning I was expecting a bounce. Or as I liked to call them pokey break.
 
I think it's more likely a bounce, he went up significantly at +2, his Lev shot would not have even onset by then.



If I'm honest I was surprised to still see him in blue at amps this morning I was expecting a bounce. Or as I liked to call them pokey break.

That's why I was so willing to do the increase this AM with him in the blue(give his little butt a boost ;) ) But, oh well, onward and forward we go.
 
Back
Top