Three readings in low "blue" area despite no insulin??

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by wombat88, Jul 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wombat88

wombat88 Member

I have two dilemmas here, and as a newbie I'm not sure how to handle them. I've updated the spreadsheet so you can see the pattern. Shaikha was getting wild swings after we put her on insulin originally. She was getting 2 units per day, then we doubled it to 4 units, and over the holiday weekend I dropped it to 3 units because she got a couple of readings in the hypo area. Since we dropped the dose, she's been much more even, with readings finally dropping into the 200s and even 100s.

Last night when I tested I got two different readings -- 100 on the new Relion meter I'd bought, and 144 on the Alphatrac I'd been using. I wasn't sure if I should give her insulin and didn't get a response here, so I put it off but even several hours after the +12 (when she'd get insulin originally), she was still at only 154 on the Alphatrac (I didn't use the Relion because there wasn't enough blood).

This AM her BG was 173 on the Alphatrac and 133 on the Relion. I will give her insulin shortly, but am trying to figure out what it all means? Is she getting regulated or does she need a smaller dose now? She also started leukeran about 10 days ago. Though it caused anemia, I do think it was helping to resolve inflammation in her pancreas (she has pancreatitis and IBD) but now we have to stop that drug. Is it possible that her diabetes is resolving since we stopped her on steroids?

I will take her to the vet this AM, but am not sure how to interpret the changes (especially since she hasn't had insulin in 24 hours) or the huge differences in the meter readings. Alphatrac was 44% and 30% higher than the Relion, so which should I believe? I don't have a control solution, but will order some this AM.

2. wombat88

wombat88 Member