? Tinka's values highest since diagnosis - Please advise

Status
Not open for further replies.

TanyaG

Member Since 2016
Good evening,

Just took Tinka's last reading before going to bed (+4 PMPS) her blood glucose is at 21.4 which is the highest it has ever been. Gave her 0.75u at 8pm (PMPS was 15.3) then fed her raw chicken. Feeling confused as to why it is so high? Our insulin is clear and not cloudy and I feel that I am administering the insulin the same every day.

Please advise. Many thanks

Previous thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/tinkas-values-still-high-pls-advise.170826/#post-1862688
 
I think you just haven't got to a good dose yet

Stick with the protocol and keep increasing every 6 cycles until you start to see some blue nadirs....it's all any of us can do

Remember, the cat's leading this dance....all we can do is follow :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks Chris:) I guess I'm just confused as this reading is even higher than her readings were before we started insulin. She was really reactive to 0.75 before, so much so we were only managing to get in one dose a day cause her AMPS was too low to shoot. Then finally when we got to two doses in one one day and saw green. We prob should hv stuck with it but it was over the Christmas period and I was unwell so just couldn't monitor her that closely so we reduced. She did OK on 0.5 at first but her numbers are just increasing. Thought when we went back to 0.75 we would hv seen a similar reactions we did before. Is it usually to have a cat react well to a dose and then upon return to that dose not react to it much at all. Also is it normal to her a BG reading that's higher than pre insulin? Do I need to be concerned that her BG is the highest it's been or is it ok cause she had insulin in the depot? She's acting very lethargic this evening and not moving around much just sleeping. I will stick with the 6 cycles thank you for the encouragement:) Two more cycles then we can increase & hopefully we'll see some blue!
 
We usually open just one thread or post a day. Next time if you have a new question, just go back to the first post of the day and edit the title to change the question.

Yes, if a cat is bouncing they can have higher numbers mid cycle than their preshots. Also, if you do a fur shot, the same can happen. If you sniff the injection site, you shouldn't smell insulin. She's probably not used to the higher numbers so that's why she's feeling icky. Don't worry about the higher numbers right now, she will come down. Take the chance to get a good night's sleep.
 
We usually open just one thread or post a day. Next time if you have a new question, just go back to the first post of the day and edit the title to change the question.

Yes, if a cat is bouncing they can have higher numbers mid cycle than their preshots. Also, if you do a fur shot, the same can happen. If you sniff the injection site, you shouldn't smell insulin. She's probably not used to the higher numbers so that's why she's feeling icky. Don't worry about the higher numbers right now, she will come down. Take the chance to get a good night's sleep.
Thanks Wendy, my hubby said he shot same way as always and didn't feel any liquid after and definitly felt like he got it in but we will will try the smell test for next time to be sure thank you. Thanks for the tip re the threads I'll do that next time. Thanks thats good to know, will do one more BG now to see where she's at just for some more data and then off to bed. Thanks for your help, good night :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top