Tiny Sole:+6 at 3:45 AM

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joanne&TinySole

Member Since 2018
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-dose-please-help-advise.201502/#post-2240973

(hope I did the new thread correctly)

Also, thanks for the info from last evening's thread, Wendy & Neko!
It was nerve-wracking to shoot Tiny at 114, but the encouragement I received was invaluable.

+6 is 249.
I'll likely test her at the +10 for the data.
I'm going to take a wild guess that she'll be high, maybe in the low 300s at +10.
I hope I'm wrong and she stays in the 200s, but we'll see.
I'll report back later this morning!
 
+10 was 268.
I was pleasantly surprised about this!
She just ate and I'll do her AMPS at 8:30 AM
Will check in after that.
 
AMPS at 8:30 AM = 345
Some of that high number may be a bounce from food, as I'm learning.
She was dosed with 1.75 U of insulin directly following the AMPS.
Will try to run home from work to get in two more tests before her PMPS.
 
Good early evening, everyone.

SS is updated.
She's eaten some broiled fresh salmon (always careful of bones, I grind it up in my fingers before giving it to her) and had a little chicken pate at her usual 7 PM feeding time.
I'll do her PMPS at 8:10 PM and shoot at 8:15, as I'm gradually backing her off that 8:45 PM dose from last night to get back to 7:30 PM shooting time which works best for my work schedule.

I'll check in after the PMPS!
xoxo, J
 
PMPS: 280 I've given her the 1.75 U of Lantus.

I'll test her before I go to bed but does any one have any other testing thoughts for tonight?
 
Hey Joanne! Bouncing occurs when kitties go into lower BG numbers than they are used to being in. Here is the description of Bouncing from the stickie : New to the Group at the top of the Lantus forum:

Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast. The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).

That is what happened last night with that beautiful blue pre shot. She went into bounce mode right away. I was pretty sure she would do that so that is why I encouraged you to shoot. Otherwise, you would have lost some momentum. Bounces suck, but cats bounce until they stop. They are in charge here and we just follow their leads.
 
You beans are angels! I'm here for the ride, trying to learn as fast as I can and soak up your experiences and advice. Thanks for everyone's patience and encouragement.

Any thoughts on testing through the night? Or am I able to catch a stretch of hours?!
:)
 
Get a +2. That is a great one to get. The reason? If the +2 is the same or lower than the pre shot number, it could indicate an active cycle and more testing could be necessary.

ETA: If the + 2 is a lot higher ( more than 50 points), I would grab a test before you go to sleep and if it is still high or higher, get some shut eye. Bounces have their merit when it cones to getting some sleep. ;)
 
Ah, yes...now I remember that from my guardian angels helping me last night! :)
Will do.

Hoping shell let me sleep a bit tonight. I really popped in and out of sleep last night to get some numbers and a decent read on things.
 
Get a +2. That is a great one to get. The reason? If the +2 is the same or lower than the pre shot number, it could indicate an active cycle and more testing could be necessary.

ETA: If the + 2 is a lot higher ( more than 50 points), I would grab a test before you go to sleep and if it is still high or higher, get some shut eye. Bounces have their merit when it cones to getting some sleep. ;)

+2 is 248, so I'm guessing that I'll need to test again tonight?
Or, perhaps because she's in the mid 200s she may not fall too low to become problematic?
I don't know how low a bounce might go.

I welcome any / all suggestions. Thanks!
 
I'd plan on getting at least 1 more test in …...but she does still have a long way to fall before she'd be in any danger.

How about a +4 or +5? I'm betting at that point you should be able to make a good safe decision on if you need to sacrifice any more sleep tonight

(this is where you learn to take naps anytime you can!!…..alarm clocks are great inventions....LOL)
 
I'll go for a +4, and depending on what that is I may also do a +5.
I'll update the SS and start a new thread after the 12:15 AM BG test.

Grateful for the advice! xoxo
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top