Tips for subQ fluids please

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Sarah and Buzz, Jan 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sarah and Buzz

Sarah and Buzz Well-Known Member

I am going to start Buzz on subQ fluids tonight. Here is the background on the reason: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=1929

The vet said "if you don't keep Buzz well-hydrated at home, it could be life-threatening". She is eating as normal and I have been adding water to her food. I did the scruff test to see if it bounced back quickly or not, and it was a little slow.

1. Should I begin subQ fluids even though she is still eating and drinking chicken-flavored water?
    2. I have never done anything like this before and I am so afraid that it's going to freak Buzz out and we won't be able to get it to work or she will run and hide and we will have to pull her out from under the bed and then she won't eat and we will be in worse shape than before I gave fluids. I am mildly freaking out, if you couldn't tell. ;) ANY tips or tricks or advice would be greatly appreciated.

2. Mary & Stormy Blue

Mary & Stormy Blue Member

Be sure to warm your fluids before using them. I place the bag into a largish bowl and pour hot tap water into the bowl until the bag is completely immersed. For a full bag, you may have to change the bowl water a couple of times until the fluid is as warm as your neck/face. (I hold the bag to may face and if I do not feel a chill, I figure it is just right temp wise. Fresh sterile needle is applied to line and then for about 5 seconds, I open the line up over the sink so that the cold fluid in the line can be replaced with the warmed fluid from the bag. Recap sterile needle with cover.