Looby & Smiffy
Member Since 2016
@Marlena @Elizabeth and Bertie @Critter Mom
So here I am - I have started a new thread for Smiffy ...... thank you Marlena for joining me on Skype and thank you all for your support so far ...
I am keeping to the Hills m/d food for Smiffy as I have 5kg of it and she loves it with a little thrive protein treat on top. I have got the AccuChek Aviva ordinary glucometer and I am going to get my Therapist to help me work out how to use it but I don't anticipate using it every day on Smiffy but have it for emergencies if she is acting out of character. She is looking well today and has been out into the garden and purring and she has what a call her 'smile' on her face . We have booked her to see the Vet for a recheck on Friday 6th May when he will weigh her again and do another fructosamine test I think as well as doing her BG which at 1.15 in the afternoon will be interesting as it will be nearly half way through her cycle.
I know that the normal range BG is between 5-8 so my question is what reading is too low and would be a hypo?
If she appeared unwell somehow I would test her but I don't know what too low is and would hate to put loads of honey round her gums and make matters worse! I would feed her the other biscuits that we have that are higher in carbs (Hills i/d) as well as put the honey around her gums?
How would I know if she were dangerously high in short? I can't digest the long list that Elizabeth sent me - bit too much for me. I would then test her and then what would I have to do? The Vet said that she has lived with high blood sugar for a while so if I missed a couple of shots for example it would not be ideal but she would not be in danger.
The other thing is I am still a bit in the dark as to how you girls home manage your cats' Diabetes ..... I have heard 'test, feed, shoot' so I am asssuming that you do the BG test first, then give her normal amount of food and then either don't shoot if she has a low BG or reduce the dose if it is a bit raised? Do you adjust the food you give your cats and the dose of insulin according to the BG reading?
These are enough questions for the time being!!!
I will try to get my husnband to print out Elizabeth's notes on what to do in an emergency all the same xxxx
So here I am - I have started a new thread for Smiffy ...... thank you Marlena for joining me on Skype and thank you all for your support so far ...
I am keeping to the Hills m/d food for Smiffy as I have 5kg of it and she loves it with a little thrive protein treat on top. I have got the AccuChek Aviva ordinary glucometer and I am going to get my Therapist to help me work out how to use it but I don't anticipate using it every day on Smiffy but have it for emergencies if she is acting out of character. She is looking well today and has been out into the garden and purring and she has what a call her 'smile' on her face . We have booked her to see the Vet for a recheck on Friday 6th May when he will weigh her again and do another fructosamine test I think as well as doing her BG which at 1.15 in the afternoon will be interesting as it will be nearly half way through her cycle.
I know that the normal range BG is between 5-8 so my question is what reading is too low and would be a hypo?
If she appeared unwell somehow I would test her but I don't know what too low is and would hate to put loads of honey round her gums and make matters worse! I would feed her the other biscuits that we have that are higher in carbs (Hills i/d) as well as put the honey around her gums?
How would I know if she were dangerously high in short? I can't digest the long list that Elizabeth sent me - bit too much for me. I would then test her and then what would I have to do? The Vet said that she has lived with high blood sugar for a while so if I missed a couple of shots for example it would not be ideal but she would not be in danger.
The other thing is I am still a bit in the dark as to how you girls home manage your cats' Diabetes ..... I have heard 'test, feed, shoot' so I am asssuming that you do the BG test first, then give her normal amount of food and then either don't shoot if she has a low BG or reduce the dose if it is a bit raised? Do you adjust the food you give your cats and the dose of insulin according to the BG reading?
These are enough questions for the time being!!!
I will try to get my husnband to print out Elizabeth's notes on what to do in an emergency all the same xxxx
