? Using Novolin R with Lantus - dosing question

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Onyx & Klepto, Nov 12, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Onyx & Klepto

Onyx & Klepto Member

Hi Everyone.

I need some dosing help from anyone who adds Novolin R to their Lantus regimen for super high numbers. I've never tried it before, but she's been getting into the high 500's way to often lately, and it's really freaking me out. Her onset with Lantus is usally 4 - 6 hours, so what is a safe dose of Novolin R to get her out of danger?

Onyx has been on and off insulin so many time over the past 2 years, but her inflammatory bowel disease (and B12 deficency), is what now has her probably getting close to the end, which is killing me after everything I've done to help her. But...I know these things are out of our control sometimes.

Anyway, I know the Novolin R is a LOT stronger, so what is a safe first dose? I just gave her Lantus and she's 565.

Thank you in advance for any advice.

Brandi & Onyx

2. rhiannon and shadow (GA)

rhiannon and shadow (GA) Well-Known Member

3. Marje and Gracie

Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

Brandi

I'm so very sorry to hear about Onyx's IBD progressing and her numbers getting so far out of whack. If you aren't a member already and you are on Facebook, there is an amazing group there called IBDKitties and also a great website at IBDKitties.net. Lots of experience on the FB page. My Gracie was just dx with IBD and I've learned so much from them.

Do you have a current SS? The one linked only shows numbers in 2014 as the last. Because dosing with R has to be done very carefully and at specific times, depending on the cat's cycles, it would be best to be able to see a current SS so we could help you decide when the best time to give R is. We also just suggest that one of the experienced R users be online helping you the first couple times you shoot it.