Vet says increase Lantus from 1U to 1.5U. Is that too fast?

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Christianna, Aug 4, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Christianna

Christianna Member

My vet advised me today to raise Noodle's Lantus dose from 1.0U to 1.5U. Isn't that too fast a jump? Poor Noodle is not showing any real progress in his BG numbers even though he acts great, eats fine, not to excess. If I didn't know he was diabetic, I wouldn't suspect it except for the BG numbers and moderate sugar in his urine. He has been ketone-free for several days after showing trace ketones earlier. I would really appreciate opinions on the next dosing change. Thanks so much everyone!

Christi

2. atajev

atajev Member

Re: Vet says increase Lantus from 1U to 1.5U. Is that too fa

I am not experienced enough to give dosing advice, but the tight regulation protocol recommends a .25-.5u increase based on the numbers you're seeing. The start low, go slow would have you hold the dose for another 3 days before adjusting, but would recommend a .5u increase at that time if your numbers stay about the same. Overall, it seems to me like the vet's recommendation is totally reasonable since the numbers have been so consistently high with enough time for the shed to adjust, but again, I'm not officially advising that, just passing on what the protocols would lead you to.

3. KPassa

KPassa Well-Known Member

Usually, we recommend only increasing in .25u increments. With kitties that have high flat numbers and/or ketones, however, .5u increments are suggested. So, yes, it was good of you to question a .5u increase, but as Katie said above, in this scenario, it's actually not a bad idea.

I would leave it up to what you feel most comfortable doing. Do you think you'll be around enough these next three days to test more if need be? If so, increase by .5u. If not, then only increase by .25u. Either way, an increase is needed. ;-)

4. Christianna