Vetsulin, PZI, Lantus, and Humulin?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by ShaiHulud, Mar 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ShaiHulud

ShaiHulud New Member

Hey, I'm a veterinary technology student at Mount Ida College and I missed our last lecture on insulin. My medical calculations instructor sent out an email saying that anybody who missed lecture needed to find out from a classmate what makes the drugs Vetsulin and PZI different from Lantus and Humulin. It's not in our book, because the textbook we use is actually intended for human medicine, and the classmate who I contacted who had attended the class that I missed said that she didn't know what the difference was. Can anybody help me? Thanks.

2. Larry and Kitties

Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

Vetsulin, PZA and the Humulin family of insulins uses insulin compounded with different substances to extend its duration. PZI has the additive protamine Zinc. Vetsulin has 30% amorphous and 70% crystalline zinc. The additives for the Humulins vary depending upon the specific type of Humulin. Humulin is Lilly's tradmark for a family of insulins made using insulin made from bacteria ( HUMAN INSULIN (rDNA ORIGIN)). Humulin R does not have an additive. Humulin N has ISOPHANE.

Vetsulin uses a porcine (pork) insulin obtained from pig pancreas. PZI can use different insulins. The newest, ProZinc uses the human INSULIN (rDNA ORIGIN) insulin. The old PZI Vet used 10% porcine and 90% bovine insulin.

Lantus is a totally synthetic insulin. This is from the insert for Lantus: