? What are the correct syringes??

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Thabbo, Oct 14, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Thabbo

Thabbo Member

Hi!

I am relatively new to the whole diabetes business and have question about the syringes I should/could use. We are on vetsulin and currently use the U40 syringes, that came with it. I understand that you can use the U100 syringes for better and finer dosage, right? I saw some conversion sheet and also the pictures showing the syringes. However, I don't know which are the correct syringes. I went to our pharmacy and bought U100's but the ones I got are having 2 unit increments, so they are not usable for me. Are there any further specifics you can give me on this?

Thanks!!

Karen

2. BJM

BJM Well-Known Member

Yes. You want U-100, 30 to 33 gauge (thinness increases with the number, so does bendability - I liked 30 gauge) 3/10 mL syringes with half unit markings. Walmart has some.

3. Chris & China (GA)

Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

You want U100, 3/10mL, 30 or 31 gauge syringes with half unit markings

These are the ones we use from WalMart
    relion syringes.png

4. Thabbo

Thabbo Member

Great thanks! ... we don't have a Walmart here, but Ill find them somewhere :cat:

5. Robin&BB

Robin&BB Well-Known Member

Hi, Karen! I use BD insulin syringes marked on the half-unit (when you're holding them with the needle cap up, the half-unit markings are on the left, the whole units are marked on the right side of the barrel). They are 3/10 mL/cc capacity. Mine are 31 gauge and 8mm length (5/16"), but you can get them with the standard-size longer needle, too.

And @BJM is right about thinness increasing with the number; my 31 gauge needles are pretty fine, so are kind of bendy if I'm not careful.