? What does weight gain mean?

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by pevsfreedom, Jan 4, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pevsfreedom

pevsfreedom Well-Known Member

Hello all,

I weigh Luna every Sunday. I've been doing it for about 3 months I think. She was 12.8lbs for awhile but in the last month she's gained a full pound, and today she was at 13.8. She's been steadily going up.

Nothings really changed though her numbers have been better then they ever have. Could that be it?

She's not really overweight or chubby. She actually looks like she's lost weight (she looks slim and trim).

2. Wendy&Neko

Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

Hi John, been a while and was wondering how you and sweet Luna were doing. Give her some scritches for me.

Getting a kitty in better control can help with weight gain. I found one site that said weight gain is a side effect of Levemir. :rolleyes: How is Luna compared to her idea weight or weight well before diagnosis?

I see that Luna is now on 8 units. Did you ever get her tested for acromegaly? We suggest testing for high dose conditions over 6 units. The pituitary tumor that causes acromegaly sends out excess growth hormone - which also leads to weight gain. Bony and soft tissue growth and organ growth happen as a result of the excess growth hormone. As an example, Neko's liver is larger, she has arthritis from the bony growth and she has some soft tissue growth on her gums.

3. pevsfreedom

Everyone's doing great. Hope you and Neko are as well!

I'm really not sure what her ideal weight is. When we got her she was 15 lbs and ended up going down to about 12 when we started insulin at more realistic doses (at the shelter she was on 0.5). She looks healthier then she ever has weight wise, and is very slim/trim like I mentioned. I'm just surprised to see her weight going up but figured it might be a realization of getting her blood sugar under control.