What is going on??

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by cat and sweet max, Aug 16, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cat and sweet max

    cat and sweet max Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I gave Max his insulin at 84 because I thought he was on his way back up. An hour later = 67. gave him dry food. tested after 50 minutes + 31, more dry food and some karo, + 10 minutes = 44. more dry food, tested +5 minutes more = 32. Tested the meter and tried another meter.

    Is it possible his pancreas is working after 7 years?

    Sorry for typos. Want to test again. CATS!!

    ETA:
    + 10 minutes = 36

    He has been getting Karo on his gums, and tons of dried food.
     
  2. LynnLee + Mousie

    LynnLee + Mousie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    the dry food will take forever to kick in.

    do you have any wet food? i would give him some of the forbidden gravy off high carb food or, if you don't have any of that, stir a little syrup in his regular wet food and give him that....not too much as to fill him up.

    oh, and can you remind us insulin and dose? that way everyone is on board as far as how long this can last for him tonight
     
  3. cat and sweet max

    cat and sweet max Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Lantus, 2 3/4 units.
     
  4. cat and sweet max

    cat and sweet max Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Tested again - 36

    He is eating Friskies Indoor Select with brown rice and garden greens. Should I put more Karo on his gums? Done it twice. Fed him dry food multiple times.

    Up until recently, when I've been dropping his dose, he was getting 3 1/2 units of Lantus bid. Is it possible that the
    Lantus in the pen is stronger?

    What do if he starts convulsing? He usually goes up fast with even a couple of bits of dried food. UGH
     
  5. LynnLee + Mousie

    LynnLee + Mousie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    go ahead and rub some karo on his gums. i don't like the 30's

    i'll run over to lantus and get some eyes
     
  6. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    The dry is going to take a while to have any effect.

    You can drizzle some Karo on wet food. I don't know the carb count of what you're feeding. Is it high carb?

    I doubt that the pen is a more concentrated insulin. Depending on how old your previous pen was, it may have been pooped out which is why you're getting a stronger response to the new pen.
     
  7. cat and sweet max

    cat and sweet max Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    39.

    Shouldn't the Karo, dried food, and higher carb wet food be bringing his BG up? I've tried 2 meters with different strips. I've tested the meters. He isn't budging.

    Thank you!
     
  8. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    There could be one other factor -- are you sure you measured the insulin dose correctly?

    You first tested at +5. Where are you now?

    I would also put more Karo on the food. The dry may not be kicking in. It can take a relatively long time to have any effect.
     
  9. Complick8d

    Complick8d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    You're doing great! Sometimes it takes time and more HC/karo. How's he acting?
     
  10. cat and sweet max

    cat and sweet max Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    43.

    He went into the cat house and was spacing out, so I grabbed him & put more Karo on his gums, and gae him more dry food. 43 is better, but not making me very comfortable.

    I messed up the first post...sorry. We are only about 3 hours past his Lantus insulin injection of 2 3/4 units. I pulled a syringe out to see if they looked different. Been a horrendous day here, so anything is possible, but I think I
    gave him the 2 3/4 units.

    Thank you!
     
  11. cat and sweet max

    cat and sweet max Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    72 Yeah!!

    Thank you all for your support.

    I'm betting his BG will be "HI" tonight. If that happens, I'm going to give him some of Kee Kee's fluids.
    Speaking of Kee Kee, he hasn't asked for his night meds followed by treats.

    Thank you hugs and headbutts!

    Cat, Sweet Max, and gang
     
  12. Complick8d

    Complick8d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Great job! :)
     
  13. Deb & Spot

    Deb & Spot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Good job last night! I hope all the excitement doesn't drive Mr. Sweet Max up to high today!
     
  14. cat and sweet max

    cat and sweet max Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Thanks for last night.
    His BG was only 423 this morning, after all those carbs!
    And 321 tonight, with a reduced dose of 2 units Lantus.

    I'm worried that he has something else going on. Seems like when old timers suddenly have major changes in their insulin needs, they end up having the Big C.

    Hug and Healing,

    Cat, Sweet Max, and gang
     
  15. housecats4

    housecats4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Angels with lots of green healing light getting on board Have good one Kath
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page