What should my next steps be, cat not eating

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Rubydoobydoo, Nov 24, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rubydoobydoo

Rubydoobydoo New Member

Hi y'all, I've been a steady user of this forum and the felinediabetes website, but this is my first time posting.

I got my diabetic cat Ruby almost 2 years ago, she is 14 years old. So to keep it simple, Ruby has not been eating much these past few days. She drinks water and chicken juice (from Fancy feast), nibbles a tiny bit on food, but it's not much. She's lost a dramatic amount of weight (under 7 pounds) over the past couple of months (she was originally 9 pounds). She has multiple complications aside from being diabetic: asthma, benign cyst that gets infected, heart murmur, teeth/gum issues that affect her eating, potentially hyperthyroidism, etc.

In the short time I've had her, I've spent a few thousand dollars, while also struggling financially on my own.
    Now, I deeply care about her but I often feel I didn't have the proper means to have adopted her. I originally got her with my ex and we had agreed to pay for expenses together but that is no longer the case.

Basically, I'm at a lost at what to do. I can't realistically spend another few thousands on her, and I want to ultimately give her the best last times of her life as possible. What are your thoughts? Should I consider euthanasia with my vet? I'm having a hard time figuring out if Ruby is just suffering otherwise. Thanks in advance.

Last edited: Nov 24, 2019
  2. FurBabiesMama

FurBabiesMama Well-Known Member

That is a decision that only you can make. Just from the info you gave, my initial thoughts were this...
    You said 'potentially hypoglycemia'. If your cat is diabetic, you can do home glucose testing to keep a track on her glucose so you can prevent her from being hypoglycemic.