? What to do with post-DKA kitty with low numbers?

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Sylvia & Millie, Mar 17, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sylvia & Millie

Sylvia & Millie Member

I'm relatively new to this so please be patient with me. My girl was diagnosed in late Jan. 2017. As we were trying to get her dosing correct she got DKA. She ended up in the hospital. We took her home and apparently the DKA wasn't clear and we took her to an ER cling 3 days later. She has been out for ten days now. She is on Lantus, 2 units and eats FF.

Four days ago Millie started getting low BG readings. Unknowingly we had moved her shots up an hour, then we had daylight savings time as well. I wasn't sure what the readings meant and posted on here (I will be asking for help setting up a spreadsheet). Here is a breakdown of the last four days:

3/14 8:00am bg 79 (2u) 7:30pm bg 479 (2u)

3/15 7:35am bg 408 (2u) 7:15pm bg 70 (2u)

3/16 7:30am bg 535 (2u) 5:00pm bg 61 7:40 bg 62 No Lantus given

3/17 7:30am bg 540 (1.5 u)

Note: Millie has been receiving 2 units of Lantus in AM & PM until today, I gave her 1.5 U

She has been negative for ketones
    Appetite has been good. Drinking more in the last two days

We have a vet appointment today at noon. She will be getting a fructosamine test. I will ask the vet to retest BG and to give fluids.

Is there anything else I need to be aware of moving forward.

Can someone help me set up a spreadsheet?

2. Vicki and Jerry

Vicki and Jerry Member

@Marje and Gracie is the member that helped me set up mine. She is awesome. I taged her so hopefully she will see this.

3. Kris & Teasel

Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

I'm glad you posted here. I have to go out until early afternoon EST but there are many excellent advisors here with a lot more experience than I have. ;)
    @Marje and Gracie is the spreadsheet/tech guru here.

Sylvia & Millie and HWright like this.
  4. Sylvia & Millie