When to increase dose and how

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Kait & Peanut, Jun 6, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kait & Peanut

Kait & Peanut Member

I'll start by saying I don't plan to change anything without consulting with the vet first. I'm just wondering how you know when a dose increase is needed. I've only had Peanut on insulin for 3 days so I'm new to everything. I've been reading here a lot.

Peanut started at 2 units given by his vet on Sunday morning. He did so well that morning! The vet has me only giving him 1 unit every 12 hours though. He's still chugging water and missed the litterbox a little bit.

Am I supposed to keep him at 1 unit for at least a week? I worry about him. I know he still feels sick. I think he's dehydrated still.

2. Djamila

Djamila Well-Known Member

Hi Kait and Peanut! And welcome!!!

Yes, you should stay at one unit for about a week, especially since your curve shows a 50% drop from the pre-shot number to the nadir (lowest point in the cycle). That's a pretty good insulin response for starting out.

It looks like Peanut dropped early in the cycle, and then surfed along for a few hours before starting to rise. If you can, try to get a test during the cycle (not as many as the vet did, just one or two), so you can see how he is responding at home. Sometimes they go lower at home because they are more relaxed.

It takes a little time to heal and get regulated. Remember that he didn't become diabetic overnight, so he won't get better overnight either. But he will get better. Before you know it, he'll be eating, drinking and peeing in normal amounts and starting to feel better.

What are you feeding, how much, and when? I noticed the comment on your spreadsheet about the vomiting. Sometimes the timing and quantity of food can help with that.