Whistle is going to the internist tomorrow--I'm worried

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by jimsy, Mar 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jimsy

    jimsy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Whistle was doing well on 2.5u for several days, and then I noticed her drinking and peeing more. Her numbers in the mornings and evenings were higher, so I called her vet, who suggested a slight increase to not-quite-3u. After a couple of days on that nothing was improving, and the real shock was that today at 4:30pm she was at 432. Hardly down from the morning. Her vet is worried that if Whistle doesn't come down soon she'll go into DKA again, so I was told to give her 3.5u tonight, keep up fluids, and take her to an internist tomorrow (apparently the vet has had a lot of success with patients who saw this internist). I got an appointment with the internist and will be driving out to Rhode Island tomorrow. The vet didn't have full results from the bloodwork she did on Saturday yet, so no word on if anything else is going on with Whistle's pancreas. I am very worried about her, very stressed, and wondering how I'm going to be able to deal with all of this. I'm supposed to be defending for my master's in April, presenting at two conferences, publishing three papers, preparing to teach a summer course, and gearing up to take my Ph. d exams in the Fall and Spring. I keep wondering if I can do it all without Whistle as my writing partner.
     
  2. Cheryl and Winnie

    Cheryl and Winnie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    best wishes for your visit w/ the specialist tomorrow.

    one question --- are you doing any testing other than preshot? you list a number at 430pm but you do not list how far from shot this is.

    just in case you have not yet learned. bg test numbers are list as "+" from your ps number.
    so if you were to list numbers here on board to make us able to understand them better

    amps ( morning preshot) xxx
    +2 xxx
    +4
    +6
    so on
    pmps (evening/night preshot)
    +1
    +etc.....

    It makes it much easier for member to see what is going on w/your kitties bg #s .

    you are welcome to click on my profile to see an example.
    most members now set up spreadsheets to keep track of numbers and have them accessible for review.

    again, I hope you get the help you need at tomorrow's appointment
     
  3. jimsy

    jimsy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Hi Cheryl,

    I'm not able to test as often between shots because Whistle is very averse to having her ear pricked. She does not like to have her head restrained, but if it isn't restrained she'll shake. It took my bf and I many tries to realize that she will let us prick her paw pads. I think she doesn't mind being held that way as much because it's how we've always held her to trim her claws. Anyway, this means that we're lucky to get in pre-shots due to our schedules, and we try to get more info on weekends. He was out of town this weekend, so I ended up having a friend help with pre-shots, though we got some +6 numbers towards the end of last week (Whistle gets her shots at 8:30 am and pm). At 2.5u her +6 numbers at the end of last week were in the 150-170 range, pretty good for her, with pre-shots in the 250-270 range. By the weekend pre-shots were in the 350s and above. Yesterday's 432 was at +8 (pre-shot 563) on roughly 3u, it was the only time we would both be here to get a reading. My vet thinks there is some underlying problem as Whistle was well-regulated at 2u for a couple of months.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page