Why are his numbers going UP post-injection?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by ReaAnn & Big Hoss, Oct 12, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ReaAnn & Big Hoss

ReaAnn & Big Hoss Member

Hello -
    I'm new to feline diabetes and would like some help deciphering what I'm seeing with Hoss' BG numbers this first week on insulin.

First, some background - he was diagnosed one week ago today. He was put on 2U Lantus 2x a day. We started insulin last Friday evening. I started testing the next day, on Saturday, but it took a few days to get better at it, buy a new meter that worked better for us and start getting into a routine. I've been getting more "regular" tests the last few days. During the workweek, M-F, due to my work & commute schedule, I will only be able to test Hoss pre-shot (5:30 AM), pre-shot (5:30 PM) and before bed, which will be about 3.5 hours after his PM shot. Today, I'm working from home, so I'm doing my first BG curve. I plan on doing a curve once every weekend. At least until he's regulated or in remission.

As you'll see from his spreadsheet, his numbers are staying very high. Hoss free-feeds, so I've never gotten a test where he's truly been fasted for 8 or 12 hours. But even just looking at trends, I'm confused by what I'm seeing today. Pre-shot at 5:30 this morning, he was at 287. I don't believe he had eaten much if anything for a couple of hours prior to that shot. But he ate a good meal after I tested and before I shot him. But 2 hours later he was at 370 and now at +4 he's at 451!! And I know he hasn't eaten for about the last 3 hours because he's been asleep. Shouldn't his numbers be going DOWN post-injection? I thought I read with Lantus they're usually at their lowest around 6 hours post-injection. If that's the case, you would think his numbers would have started to decline since he'll be +6 in about an hour and a half from now.