Wondering about my meter.

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by JoyceOlive, Oct 5, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JoyceOlive

JoyceOlive Member

Does anyone know anything about the Diastar Caresens meters? I had watched a lot of videos and my husband is a computer Geek and this one was a Caresens N Pop, that hooks up with a cable to computer and all,don't have cable yet.Of course he thought that was nifty and talked me into it,but I don't see anyone else on this forum using one!I am new at all this diabetes stuff the past month and when I wanted one I naturally went to Amazon,lol...looking for a deal,my husbands favorite place to shop and I was too lazy to run to Walmart for a more popular one ! I really like it, but wonder if anyone knows if it is reliable.And the test strips are available on Amazon but not the lancets.I know I could purchase another lancet device at Walmart so I can easily purchase lancets and am planning on it..that is another question.I need feedback on best one to use for a cats ear and what gauge is best,ultra thin or what? 33,28,30guage? which will give me best results and maybe hurt kitty less?Thanks guys!

2. Larry and Kitties

Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

3. Sue and Oliver (GA)

Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

I need feedback on best one to use for a cats ear and what gauge is best,ultra thin or what? 33,28,30guage? which will give me best results and maybe hurt kitty less?Thanks guys!

In the beginning, before the capillaries start regularly filling up with more blood, a 27-28 gauge may be best. It makes a little bigger hole. After the ears "learn to bleed" a 30 gague may be fine. You can buy neosporin with pain relief (ointment not cream) and put a little smear on the ear to help with any bruising. Also, it helps to hold the ear for a few seconds after the poke to minimize bruising.

4. JoyceOlive

JoyceOlive Member