Wonky AlphaTrak test strips

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (The Main Forum)' started by FurBabiesMama, Feb 14, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FurBabiesMama

    FurBabiesMama Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    This is the first vial of test strips that has given me issues. I had a couple of results that seemed off, so I used the control solution, and the result was outside the range it should have been.

    Vial says control solution should be 100-185. First test was 209. I did another, and it was 131 - actually in the range. Went for a third, and it was 187. The results are supposed to be within the range, not at all over. So, this is concerning. Now, I am not going to really be able to trust any of the strips in this vial.

    These strips are too expensive for this! :mad:
     
  2. FurBabiesMama

    FurBabiesMama Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    And, I should have mentioned, I do have the meter coded correctly for the code on the vial - 37.
     
  3. Larry and Kitties

    Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    How old is the test/control solution? Typically there is an expiration date on the bottle of control solution AND that itm expires a listed time after the bottle is first opened.
     
  4. FurBabiesMama

    FurBabiesMama Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    It expires 06/2018.

    I finally found the 'after opening part'. It is so small that I could barely read it even with a little magnifying glass! It says 3 months after opening. It has been open more like 7 months.
     
  5. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    That could be your issue.
     
  6. FurBabiesMama

    FurBabiesMama Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Thanks, @Larry and Kitties I did not realize there was a time period other than the expiration date. I have ordered more control solution. I still think something is wonky with these strips though. I think I will set them aside until I get the solution and can test. Thank goodness, I keep extra vials on hand.
     
  7. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Maybe call Alpha Trak and they'll be nice enough to send you some new strips? That'd be nice!
     
  8. FurBabiesMama

    FurBabiesMama Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    If the new control solution shows that the strips are bad, I will probably at least contact the seller I bought them from and/or Zoetis (makers of AlphaTrak). I do not hold out much hope, but it is worth a shot since the things are so expensive.
     
  9. FurBabiesMama

    FurBabiesMama Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    I got the new control solution today and tested a strip in each vial and all were within the range. I guess those wonky numbers were Mia, not the strips (unless a couple of bad strips were in the mix).
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  10. Noah & me (GA)

    Noah & me (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    About a year ago I read something about printing strips on an inkjet printer. There's always something that third-world people could use that we either haven't thought of or turn our noses up but this was just a mess. I didn't post anything then because it was too obviously a complete cluster****
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page