Worried Need Help!

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Angiebaby, Oct 19, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Angiebaby

Angiebaby Member

Ok, Babygirl's bg is really low before she ate. I just noticed she has not went to the bathroom for several hours, as her box is still clean. She only ate about 2/3 of her food, and has slept all day. I am really unsure what to do. I don't want to give her insulin if she's too low. I am going to do another bg in about 15 minutes to see where she is before I give her insulin, but I need advise. I can't figure out what is going on with her today. Please Help!

2. Kimmied

Kimmied Member

Hi, how is she doing? Any better? Will say prayers for her. Sorry I can't give you any advice since I'm a newbie too. Try not to worry.

Kimmie

3. Sue and Oliver (GA)

Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

She is risng and over 200. If you are thinking things aren't right (your gut is a good indicator) maybe give .25 (eyeball 1/2 of .5)?

4. BJM

BJM Well-Known Member

Feline Constipation will tell you more than you ever wanted to know about the feline GI tract, how it works, and what you can do if it doesn't.

5. Angiebaby

Angiebaby Member

45-55 minutes after eating she is at 353. I gave her 0.25 of insulin, and will do a bg in an hour. Do you think I need to do later bg's too or just watch her.

6. Sue and Oliver (GA)

Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

She seems to be going up. Maybe watch her and get a before bed test so you can sleep peacefully?

7. BJM

BJM Well-Known Member

You may want to make a vet appointment if you find no evidence of fecal output after 3 days. She could be blocked and need an enema before trying any routine preventative/treatments like Miralax or Metamucil (these can push on an obstructed arae and cause tearing of the Gi tract)

8. Angiebaby

Angiebaby Member