Zeke - 8/16 - AMPS 262, +2 296, +6 309, PMPS 243, +2 224

Status
Not open for further replies.

Meridith and Zeke

Member Since 2017
Yesterday's Condo

Since Zeke likes to alternate active days, expecting today to be one.

I do have a question for those who use Young Again Zero. Considering adding that to our diet. Since we can't limit his food after +6 other then the 2 hours before feeding time and PS, maybe going to this since it is less then 1% carb could give us a help. Obviously we don't want to do too much dry since they need their water intake, but how much of your kitty's diet do those who use this give? Or is it just free feed after a set time then of course pick up at +10.
 
The problem with adding the YA is that you can't really do TR with it. Dry is metabolized differently and even the smallest amount
will affect their appetite for their regular feedings with the canned.
It's high calorie so 2 Tablespoons is supposed to be a days portion. You need Zeke to be a little hungry if he is having a low day so you can
give him the gravy to boost him if he drops even lower.

It gets mentioned a lot because there are some dry food addicts who refuse wet food completely. But if you have one that eats wet happily,
I wouldn't mess with a good thing. Making foodcicles that are melting keeps the wet fresh longer and if there is too much competition,
keep the diabetic with you at night behind a closed door may be your best option.
 
The problem with adding the YA is that you can't really do TR with it. Dry is metabolized differently and even the smallest amount
will affect their appetite for their regular feedings with the canned.
It's high calorie so 2 Tablespoons is supposed to be a days portion. You need Zeke to be a little hungry if he is having a low day so you can
give him the gravy to boost him if he drops even lower.

Ok, didn't know on that. That does make sense.

Making foodcicles that are melting keeps the wet fresh longer and if there is too much competition,
keep the diabetic with you at night behind a closed door may be your best option.

There is always someone here so we don't have to worry on keeping it fresh, and amazingly with 3 kitties (one definitely over weight averaging 20 pounds), we have no competition.

On another question, what is good to use to help keep their teeth healthier? I know the myth on dry food helping is just that, a myth, but even then when there is something scraping against the teeth, it has to be helping some lol. I just see so many posts about kitties with dental issues and want to be proactive and do what we can to help prevent that if possible.
 
well.... you aren't gonna like the answer....

you have to brush their teeth...... :eek::eek::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

there are video's on youtube that you can watch on how to teach them to let you.....

you can start desensitizing them by sticking your finger in their mouth and rubbing a tooth or two while they sit on your lap....

You can use a qtip...
they also make a little nubby rubber thing that slips over your finger....


try to find something without sugar.... and without floride.


even if you do this once every two weeks.... it's better than none....


if you think about it....
cats can't take their tongue and run it along the outside of their teeth/gums....
like we do to knock something off and out of the crevices....

so they need help....


in the wild, the raw bones of birds/mice helps with this process.....
the canned food/dry food doesn't do that....

some vets think dry food does it.... but not really.... a few vets have figured that out but some are still pushing dry for that reason.....

they do make chew sticks for cat dental too but again....
carbs.... sugar....
 
Looks like if we go through tomorrow with the way his numbers are, then Friday we will be increasing. Now that I am saying something though, tonight will be one of those nights lol. :smuggrin:
 
Was thinking it would probably be something like that. You think it would be enough just using something like the nubby thing or a qtip, or best with some sort of toothpaste? Could it be a sugar free for humans or made for kitties?

I have used a toothpaste made special for kitties. I have used two different kinds and prefer an enzymatic because it has a longer acting cleaning agent. I have also used both kitty tooth brushes and also kiddy (made for small children). Right now, I'm taking a break from brushing. Rose has almost no teeth left. :oops:
 
I have used a toothpaste made special for kitties. I have used two different kinds and prefer an enzymatic because it has a longer acting cleaning agent. I have also used both kitty tooth brushes and also kiddy (made for small children). Right now, I'm taking a break from brushing. Rose has almost no teeth left. :oops:

Thanks, I will do some looking and see if there is anything available locally or maybe through amazon or something.
 

Will look at getting the pet version. Going by the reviews the current human version being sold on Amazon is having some quality issues.

It says it helps with bad breath so maybe it will help with my hot dog lol. She has a 1/2 inch over bite and no amount of teeth cleaning helps with it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top