JenM
Member Since 2013
JUST when I think we're getting somewhere...
Had a nice couple cycles on 7/20... but not so great since. This morning was rediculously high. I just dont get it. I HAD been shooting PM dose early, which seemed to be working - but thought I'd try to get him back on a 12/12 schedule to see if we could pull AMPS down a tad. THAT clearly didn't work - though I have no idea why. I wonder what it would have been this morning had I given his PM shot early - which would have made his AMPS at +14 rather than +12.
OYE.
I gave his shot this morning and did NOT feed right away - waited an hour (which I've been doing with his early PM shots) to let the insulin work a bit. It didn't seem to kick in yet at +1 (still 491) and I had to go to work, so I fed him at +1 and his timed feeder will feed him again at +5. I just dont know what else to TRY. This is nuts. It seems like every time we get anything close to a good cycle, his need for insulin jumps up again.
I think I'll try thowing in an early am (like 2am) feeding and see if that gets us anywhere. I just dont know how to divide half a can of food (daily ration) into FIVE servings. Tink's gonna eat me in my sleep - he already thinks I'm starving him. He eats his food in like five bites and then tries to steal everyone else's. I wonder if I smeared it around on his plate, if he'd have to savor it a little more...
Had a nice couple cycles on 7/20... but not so great since. This morning was rediculously high. I just dont get it. I HAD been shooting PM dose early, which seemed to be working - but thought I'd try to get him back on a 12/12 schedule to see if we could pull AMPS down a tad. THAT clearly didn't work - though I have no idea why. I wonder what it would have been this morning had I given his PM shot early - which would have made his AMPS at +14 rather than +12.
OYE.
I gave his shot this morning and did NOT feed right away - waited an hour (which I've been doing with his early PM shots) to let the insulin work a bit. It didn't seem to kick in yet at +1 (still 491) and I had to go to work, so I fed him at +1 and his timed feeder will feed him again at +5. I just dont know what else to TRY. This is nuts. It seems like every time we get anything close to a good cycle, his need for insulin jumps up again.
I think I'll try thowing in an early am (like 2am) feeding and see if that gets us anywhere. I just dont know how to divide half a can of food (daily ration) into FIVE servings. Tink's gonna eat me in my sleep - he already thinks I'm starving him. He eats his food in like five bites and then tries to steal everyone else's. I wonder if I smeared it around on his plate, if he'd have to savor it a little more...