6/12 Tiggy AMPS 145 +3 143 +6 130 +8 101.. Lev?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Previous post

First thanks to everyone for responding To my prior post. I am going to video him every month and see how things progress. I may also ask the vet about X-rays to see if there is anything we can see at least from that.

He is doing good otherwise, today was nice BG levels. However I am on my last lantus pen and I had said I may try a move to levemir... Not because I think remission but just because a later nadir would work better for my schedule, and I wonder if it will reduce bouncing a bit. Although Tiggys nadir has never been when it's suppose to.. He is such a bouncy boy.

So before I pick it up I wanted some thoughts on starting dose. I don't want to lose momentum by going too low. Currently Tiggy is on 7 units lantus BId. Any thoughts? Also should I be posting on the levemir board instead?

Wendy
 
Hi Wendy - Tiggy is doing a pretty flat cycle today. Maybe it's a Lev threat? :lol: Seriously though, you likely will get a later nadir. Neko didn't nadir at any particular time on Lantus and still doesn't on Lev, but she onsets later and her average nadir is a couple hours later. One thing I like is that often her nadir is at PS time which is very convenient because I'm awake then. :-D Of course, it does mean getting used to shooting low, but you do a good job of that already.

The recommendation when switching from Lantus to Lev is to start at .7 of the other insulin, so that would be about 5U of Lev for Tiggy. Some kitties react right away to the switch, so that's why a lower start. Just be prepared if you see high and flat to take it up quickly according to the protocol. BTW, the Levemir forum is VERY quiet, most of the active Lev kitties post here, as we still follow the TR protocol.

Have you thought about switching Bailey too? Wondering if you could smooth him out a bit with a change.
 
Interesting question about switching Bailey also. My hunch based only on looking at as many Levemir SS as I can get my eyes on is that it seems that smaller the Levemir dose goes the more unpredictable Levemir may be. That may be entirely wrong and it would be a good question perhaps for Jill and Libby since I know over the years they have looked at many more Levemir SS than I have. Jill has seen some interesting things shooting very small doses of Levemir with Alex.

What we know now (since I last thought about the question of switching Bailey also to Levemir) is that Levemir can officially be diluted for very precise microdosing if that would prove useful for felines.

It would be something new to learn of course but you likely wouldn't need to switch both at once.
 
I think I will try and get comfortable first with Tiggy and lev, before moving bailey. I still have a full pen that I just opened of lantus so it should last him a good while.
 
Hey, Wendy -

We also use Lev and post here because we use the TR Protocol, so you wouldn't have to post elsewhere, unless you just want to.

Have a great night -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top