malibu4590
Member
Hello Everyone,
Malcolm has been doing well on the Prozinc and really seems to enjoy the Royal Canin Diabetic wet food. Since he was last hospitalized on June 25, the vet increased his ProZinc dosage from 3 units every 12 hours to 4 units every 12 hours. DH and I have been monitoring his BG for the last 2 weeks (some days more sporadic than others).
Malcolm usually eats @ 545am, 10am, 2pm, 545pm, 8pm, and 11pm.
He gets his insulin shot at 630am and 630pm. We use an AccuCheck Aviva Plus meter.
He is currently 10 1/2 lbs.
While on the increased dosage of 4units here are some numbers:
6/30 no AMPS, +4 328, +7 194, +10 163, +12 306 (after eating @ 530pm), no PMPS
7/1 AMPS 348, +3 483, +6 156, +9 92, +10 160, no PMPS, +1 521 (after eating)
7/2 random check before afternoon meal, +8 168
(LAST NIGHT) 7/6 random check after last evening meal +5 54, +7 64
My question about changing his dosage revolves around these most recent numbers from this morning and the low numbers from last night:
7/7 AMPS 128, +2 190 (after eating @ 6am)
I haven't given him his dosage today because I feel like the 4 units may be too much. He is about an hour past his dosage time and I'm not quiet sure what I should do. Skip the dosage and continue to check BG every two hours? Or give him a lower dosage? If the later, what should the dosage be? I'm thinking 2 units would be safe but I really don't know.
Any advice is appreciated. Thanks!
Malcolm has been doing well on the Prozinc and really seems to enjoy the Royal Canin Diabetic wet food. Since he was last hospitalized on June 25, the vet increased his ProZinc dosage from 3 units every 12 hours to 4 units every 12 hours. DH and I have been monitoring his BG for the last 2 weeks (some days more sporadic than others).
Malcolm usually eats @ 545am, 10am, 2pm, 545pm, 8pm, and 11pm.
He gets his insulin shot at 630am and 630pm. We use an AccuCheck Aviva Plus meter.
He is currently 10 1/2 lbs.
While on the increased dosage of 4units here are some numbers:
6/30 no AMPS, +4 328, +7 194, +10 163, +12 306 (after eating @ 530pm), no PMPS
7/1 AMPS 348, +3 483, +6 156, +9 92, +10 160, no PMPS, +1 521 (after eating)
7/2 random check before afternoon meal, +8 168
(LAST NIGHT) 7/6 random check after last evening meal +5 54, +7 64
My question about changing his dosage revolves around these most recent numbers from this morning and the low numbers from last night:
7/7 AMPS 128, +2 190 (after eating @ 6am)
I haven't given him his dosage today because I feel like the 4 units may be too much. He is about an hour past his dosage time and I'm not quiet sure what I should do. Skip the dosage and continue to check BG every two hours? Or give him a lower dosage? If the later, what should the dosage be? I'm thinking 2 units would be safe but I really don't know.
Any advice is appreciated. Thanks!