7/18 Tomcat AMPS 380, +4=353, +7=259 PMPS 172, +2=170

Status
Not open for further replies.

tomtom13

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=100216

AFTERNOON ALL,

Well, last eve tomcat earned his first reduction! I am not too sure about that though. Here is my reasoning...

he just didn't eat much at all yesterday. simple.

so if I know it was a lack of food...and he NORMALLY...eats much more....why should I reduce if I know it was an off random weird day? and the poor guy is not even close to being regulated.

I do want to be cautious yet I don't want to lose progress.

do any of you have this same thought when you are reducing?

I did "shoot through the bounce" this morning, I was given a one only time pass.

how about if I just reduce by a SKINNY? I am pretty good at drawing skinnys.

I would appreciate any and all advice.

THANK YOU LAST EVE FOR ALL YOUR ASSISTANCE! IT IS SO GREATLY APPRECIATED!!

~KELLY
 
Re: 7/18 Tomcat AMPS 380, +4=353, +7=259 DOSE?

tomtom13 said:
why should I reduce if I know it was an off random weird day? and the poor guy is not even close to being regulated

I totally know the feeling! With my cat, I do want to see numbers between 40 and 50 three times before I reduce, or if I have reason to believe she went below 40 once and I just missed it I will reduce then. But she's been on insulin longer and I know that decreasing too fast just doesn't work with her. Tomcat hasn't been on insulin for very long, and the dose has been on the way up only, so you don't have any data at all for how he will handle a decrease. Unless I missed it on your spreadsheet, this is the first reduction you've had to try, right? So I would suggest to look at earning this reduction as another opportunity to gather information, which will help with future decisions.

And remember if you do reduce the full 0.25 and the reduction just isn't working, you can always go right back up again. (With Papaya I've been back and forth between two doses a LOT!)

Who knows, maybe the reduction will give you more consistent numbers and you won't have to stall shots like you've done a few times lately.
 
Re: 7/18 Tomcat AMPS 380, +4=353, +7=259 DOSE?

I agree with Amy. I think you should try the full .25 reduction, especially since it's your first reduction. Worst case if you don't reduce is that his depot is full and you'll get some really active cycles where you are constantly feeding and trying to stay ahead of the numbers. Those can be exhausting. Worst case if you do reduce is you have to go back up. Take a look around at some other cat's SS to see what might happen. Lucky's SS is a great example of a cat that did a few reductions and then had to go back up. At some point, something clicked and his SS turned all green and now he's on a very small dose.
 
Well, so much for me worrying about his reduction! that was a waste of stress! I never even thought that he may have a BLUE PS VALUE!! wow. this is all so new to me seeing these numbers!

so the reduction was easy!

thanks all for your insightful input. I never even thought about:

amy said:

Who knows, maybe the reduction will give you more consistent numbers and you won't have to stall shots like you've done a few times lately

yes, great point!! I never thought about it that way. I think the highs and lows in one day isn't all that fun...so perhaps this will give us a more level day/night/life. and all those stalled shots can't be good.

tonight was an almost stall...but I didn't. I have shot lower than 170 (hardly) before, so I was good. although I am starting to get that slow panic starting to grow.....perhaps another long night? :o

I just keep telling myself that
WHEN YOU SHOOT LOW, YOU USUALLY STAY LOW
. :?: is this usually the case? when you start HIGHER the insulin really pulls the numbers down .......

oh well...I have plenty of HC foods.

thanks Wendy for Lucky's SS link. yes, I see what you mean.

thanks Rhiannon: paws crossed! although, at this point...paws crossed I don't have to do another reduction tomorrow!! YIKES.

~Kelly
 
Good Luck with all that Kelly! I'm not quite understanding all that as I'm still in the beginning stages of all this I believe. Hope you don't have to have another long night!

I do have a question for you - how exactly do you free feed wet food? And then in one of your comments on tom's ss, you mentioned you pick up his food at night? Bob is JUST starting to eat wet food. I left out wet food and 1/4 cup dry. When I got home, a lot of it was still there. So after I checked his blood at +10.5, he was munching on kibbles and then of course his next number was higher. He doesn't eat a whole lot at one time. Sorry, I didn't mean to interrupt your posts - I was just curious....
 
My human is also very reluctant to reduce a dose. His thinking is that I have earned the increase due to my high readings, so why should he dial it back down? But the human with the white coat told him it's better to have a more consistent blood sugar level, even a slightly higher one, than to have my blood sugar bouncing around all the time. To go from nearly hypoglycemic to having a blood sugar level way too high is worse for me than to have a consistent level even if it's elevated.

That made sense to my human, so he will listen to the human with the white coat.
 
thanks guys for dropping in

Dara: how do I free feed tom? well....he ALWAYS has wet down during the day (minus the 2hrs before shot time-sometimes I mess that up though!!). I do pick it up at night ONLY if he is HIGH ....plus, I only sleep for about 4 hrs. So I make sure he has eaten right before I go to bed and if he is high...I will pick it up as to not effect his AMPS value. And sometimes if I am not too sure what is up...I just leave some out.

He usually doesn't eat the food that is left out once he has eaten from it one time fresh from the can....unless I am gone. He holds out for fresh...which he gets. I usually offer fresh FF every 2-3 hours or so.....he does need to gain. I also make sure he eats right before the PMS 2 hr. restriction time begins.

I am just starting to see his appetite decrease...which I am attributing to his BG getting better.

Good luck with the change in diet.....Bob will slowly adjust....it is just hard when they aren't used to wet. Cat's don't like change!! I find it hard to believe that a cat would rather have dry than wet!! that doesn't make sense!! but I know that most of you have that problem.

dara, you are not interrupting my post!! I was gonna check on you and Bob today anyway!


AND ON TO BAGHEERA'S WISE WORDS :

But the human with the white coat told him it's better to have a more consistent blood sugar level, even a slightly higher one, than to have my blood sugar bouncing around all the time. To go from nearly hypoglycemic to having a blood sugar level way too high is worse for me than to have a consistent level even if it's elevated.

That made sense to my human, so he will listen to the human with the white coat

oh good, I am so glad to read that!! Sometimes those humans with the white coats do know more than us! They do bring with them an education after all!

thanks for sharing that I am not alone in not wanting to reduce...but I know that I must for Tom's well-being! At least for this week

~kelly
 
Kelly - congrats on shooting low(er)! My Papaya looks like she's going low tonight - her PMPS was 158 and +3 is already 74, so I think it will be a late night for me too!

I'm glad you did take the reduction. Something a few experienced members had to say recently on needing to take reductions here and here might be relevant too when you are weighing various people's advice on whether to decrease or not.

I hope Tomcat "surfs" nicely for you tonight!
 
Amy

thanks for those two informative links! good thing I did reduce!! YIKES. I don't want/need to be shunned! I would be lost. I would be so ,,,,,,,,well you know. not good

you know in all fairness.....anyone who even makes the decision to treat a diabetic cat...anyone who searches the internet for help and information to better their cat.....anyone who breaks out that wallet yet again to perhaps buy something that their cats will either eat or play with.......anyone who TESTS any amount at all.....anyone who logs on this board every day to ask for advice or share helpful information....anyone who agonizes over all the doses...the increases and decreases, the LOW PS .....anyone who sets their alarms in the middle of the night to get up and check on their cats......all of them....care very very very deeply about their cat and yes, can become somewhat clouded in judgment and not do the right things... do still deserve a "hug" and a "your doing a good job". Hats off to us all overwrought sleepy owners!

having said that: I also understand that the more experienced "guidance counselors" on this board do fully feel responsible for all of our cats.....it is a very serious job they hold....and sometimes they just have to raise their voice and shove us in the right direction.

I know that if I need a kick in the pants regarding Tomcat.......give it to me!

okay I got that off my chest

now on to your Papaya!!

what are you doing Papaya!!??? this is what I think: I think she overheard you on the phone making late night movie plans across town.....I mean it worked Sunday right?

good luck!!!
you are a pro though.....I know you will be just fine, anyway.... Papaya is still hungry for more gravy so she can smile at you licking it off her whiskers!!
 
Kelly, my human has a theory. He thinks it is the white coat I do not like. When I was at the place where some humans wear those, I was good when all I saw were people with the loose colorful clothes on. But then the human with the white coat walked in, and I was NOT happy. I went under the chair, and when my human went to pick me up, I snapped at him. Well, he won, this time. He scruffed me and put me on the table.

After a while, when he was talking to the human with the white coat, I calmed down and started walking around the exam room. But my initial reaction to the white coat was an unhappy one.

Am I the only feline who does this, or do yours do it as well?

tomtom13 said:
oh good, I am so glad to read that!! Sometimes those humans with the white coats do know more than us! They do bring with them an education after all!

thanks for sharing that I am not alone in not wanting to reduce...but I know that I must for Tom's well-being! At least for this week

~kelly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top