7/23 Lucy PMPS=193;+1=207;+2=205;+3=194 // DOING BETTER

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning,

Yesterday's

7/22 AMPS=117; +2.25=104; +4=110
7/22 PMPS=130; +2=83; +3=86; +5=121

7/23 AMBG=203 (NOT EATING, SKIPPED SHOT)
7/23 PMPS=193; +1=207; +2=205; +3=194

Lucy is sick this morning....
She vomited some thick mucus, and does not want to eat.
I tried to give her Pepcid, but she fought so hard I'm not sure it it got in.
She kept spitting it out, and in the end it was half melted, so maybe it won't reach her tummy.

Her AMPS is quite high for her....
I'm still thinking whether I should shoot or not because I don't know if I can get her to eat anything...
I'm going to wait a little bit to see if she will eat before deciding......

I'm really worried.
Yesterday was the first day of the new reduced prednisolone schedule, so she didn't get any.
I don't know if she is sick because of no pred yesterday....
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMPS=203 // SICK, NOT EATING, MAY SKIP...

I'd call your vet. I know pred needs to be slowly tapered so, IMHO, it's best to check. It may be coincidence but I can't say that for sure.

I'd also leave Lucy alone for a bit. None of us would want to eat if we're nauseated. If the Pepsid got in, it takes at least 30 min. to have any effect. Also, remember to check for ketones as a precaution.
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMPS=203 // SICK, NOT EATING, MAY SKIP...

Sending lots of healing vines to Lucy. I hope she's feeling better soon.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMPS=203 // SICK, NOT EATING, MAY SKIP...

Hi guys, awww I'm so sorry to hear Lucy is not feeling well .. I agree with Sienne though, may be best to call the vet and just let them know what's going on? Feel better soon little one!
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMPS=203 // SICK, NOT EATING, MAY SKIP...

Thank you, Sienne.
It's 30 minutes after the Pepcid, and she still doesn't want to eat.
The pill may not have reached her tummy anyway.
Does it still work if it melts before reaching the tummy?

I hope it's not the no pred.....
We also had some some people working on kitchen renovation yesterday, so could be stress....
Or combination of both.

I'll cal the vet at 9am.
It's still 7am here....

If she doesn't eat anything, I should skip the morning shot even though it's a bit high, correct?
I will not syringe feed her at this point yet because it would be too stressful for her.
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMPS=203 // SICK, NOT EATING, MAY SKIP...

sending healing vines to Lucy.
If the construction is contributing, maybe you could make her a nest in a quiet place (closet) so she can retreat.
I have often hung out in a closet with my cat. ;-)

Sure hope she feels better quickly.
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMPS=203 // SICK, NOT EATING, MAY SKIP...

Thank you, all, for your well wishes.
Lucy is still looking pretty sad.
I'll wait another hour, and will skip the AM shot if she doesn't eat.

Lucy was fine yesterday during the renovation.
She acted a little nervous, but picked the 2nd bedroom which is closer to the kitchen to nap whereas Ginger stayed in the furthest room.
Lucy always shows delayed response to a stressful situation......
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMBG=203 // SICK, NOT EATING, SKIPPED

Lucy licked a little bit of food from my finger, maybe about a teaspoon.
I'm going to skip this morning's shot, because I can't get her to eat any more, and I don't think a teaspoon is enough.....
So sad........

I'm going to the office for a couple of hours to get it our of the way, so that I can concentrate on Lucy the rest of the day.
I'll call the vet when they open in an hour.
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMBG=203 // SICK, NOT EATING, SKIPPED

Mariko, so sorry to hear about Lucy. Sending tons of healing vines and prayers your way. I hope the Vet can see her right away. I'll check back later on her.
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMBG=203 // SICK, NOT EATING, SKIPPED

I have a question about Pepcid dose.

How often can I give it to her?
I gave her 1/4 pill this morning, but I don't know if it went in.
Can I give her another 1/4 pill this evening?
What is the max dose per day?

If she doesn't want to eat at all this evening, I will try to give her cypro.
But if she eats, I want to give her another Pepcid to settle her tummy, but I don't know how often I can give it to her.

Thank you.
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMBG=203 // NOT EATING, SKIPPED, Q abt Pepcid

Sending a ton of healing vines your way. I don't know the dosage answer, but one thing I did with Trix a few years ago when she needed some Pepcid and wouldn't eat anything is I crushed it up, mixed it with a teeny bit of water, then syringed it in. I know syringing Lucy is stressful, but that approach did work with Trix...I got it in quickly, and the medicine did help settle her tummy.

I'm at work, but will be watching for updates...
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMBG=203 // NOT EATING, SKIPPED, Q abt Pepcid

The typical dose of Pepsid AC (famotidine) is 1/4 of a 10mg tablet 30 min. before a meal, twice a day. So, it's not a problem to give Lucy another dose this evening.
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMBG=203 // NOT EATING, SKIPPED, Q abt Pepcid

I just spoke with the vet.

She doesn't think NO pred yesterday is causing her to be sick.
Since yesterday was the first day of new schedule, she thinks it's too early to see the effect of the new pred schedule.
She thinks it's something else, more likely pancreatitis, which we know she already has.
She wants me to see how Lucy does though out the day today before bringing her in, and if she goes downhill, she wants to see her.

Her instruction is:
- Give sub-q fluids.
- If she doesn't eat again this evening:
>>> if her BG is below 180. skip insulin.
>>> if her BG is around 200 - 230 area like this morning, give her half her regular insulin dose.
>>> if her BG is higher like over 250, give her regular dose of insulin.

I'm at work now, but will go home in an hour or so, and I can stay with her the rest of the day.
If she vomits again, I'll take her to the vet tonight.
If she stays the same but doesn't improve by tomorrow morning, I'll take her to the vet tomorrow.

Does this sound like a good plan?
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMBG=203 // NOT EATING, SKIPPED, SPOKE W/VET

I'm home now, and just gave her about 130ml of sub-q fluids.
I offered her a couple different kinds of LC food, but she didn't eat it.
She sniffed at it a little, though.

I'm going to the near-by pet store now to get some Fancy Feast pate.
She liked it the last time she went anorexic.....

I haven't had the opportunity to test her ketone yet, but I'll try to keep an eye and follow her if she heads towards LB.

I got some grilled salmon and tuna/salmon sashimi from a Japanese restaurant.
I'll try to disguise the pill with the fish this evening....
If she spits, I'll try Amy's method.

I'm really worried........
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMBG=203 // NOT EATING, SKIPPED, SPOKE W/VET

Poor Lucy. I hope her stomach settles soon so she'll feel well enough to eat.

Healing wishes that she'll feel better soon.
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMBG=203 // NOT EATING, SKIPPED, SPOKE W/VET

No, she doesn't even want the Fancy Feast pate.
She seems to want to be left alone, so I'll let her be until closer to the dinner time.....
She's not hiding, and she does move from one place to another, but she is walking really slowly....

Thank you very much for all the vines and well wishes.....
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMBG=203 // NOT EATING, SKIPPED, SPOKE W/VET

Oh Mariko, I'm sorry Lucy not feeling good sending out big (((HUGS))) to you both,I hope she feels better later, I no it's hard be leave her be for awhile just peek in on her,hope the vet tells you something, :smile:
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMBG=203 // NOT EATING, SKIPPED, SPOKE W/VET

Sending appy and feel better vines to Lucy. Hope she starts to feel better soon.
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMBG=203 // NOT EATING, SKIPPED, SPOKE W/VET

Mariko, I'm sorry Lucy is feeling so bad today and not wanting to eat. Sending prayers to you and her. It sounds like she may need to go to the vet tomorrow.
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMBG=203 // NOT EATING, SKIPPED, SPOKE W/VET

Sending Lucy healing and appy vines. Someone may have already asked, but would she eat any baby food?
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMBG=203 // NOT EATING, SKIPPED, SPOKE W/VET

Prayers continue from here....please keep us posted when you can.
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMBG=203 // CYPRO & PEPCID TOGETHER OK?

Thank you again for your vines and prayers.

Ann, I never tried baby food.
If she doesn't eat any of her LC canned food this evening, I will go get some baby food.

Can you or someone recommend me a brand, or any ingredients I should be careful about?
I know not to buy anything that has onion in it.
Anything else??
I don't think I've never even looked at the baby food section of super market, so I really don't know what's in the market.....

Lucy is sleeping now.
The way she is lying down looks comfortable enough, paws stretched with her head down.
I am trying very hard not to fuss with her, give her some time.

It's getting close to the dinner time....
I'll offer some food in an hour or so.
If she doesn't show any interest, I'll give her cypro.

Does anyone know if I can give cypro and pepcid together?
I want to give cypro to get her to eat, but I want her tummy to feel better too.....
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMBG=203 // CYPRO & PEPCID TOGETHER OK?

I was told to buy baby food with just chicken or beef, no vegetables in it.
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMBG=203 // CYPRO & PEPCID TOGETHER OK?

I buy the Beech Nut Chicken & Chicken Broth or Beef and Beef Broth.

Is she getting any anti nausea medicine like Ondansetron? I wouldn't recommend giving cypro if she is nauseous.

J.D. gets 1/4 Pepcid and 1/4 Ondansetron and 1/4 Cyproheptadine if needed, when he has a pancreatitis flare.
And, I wrap them all up together in a bit of pill pocket, and just get it to the back of his throat with my finger. Pushing a big ole piece of pill pocket down his throat is a LOT easier than trying to push a teeny piece of pill down his throat. I just follow with food or water, but if you get the pill pocket well around the pills that should help the pepcid from getting stuck in her throat.

Sending feel better please vines to your girl.
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMBG=203 // CYPRO & PEPCID TOGETHER OK?

Either Gerber or Beechnut Stage 2. Both of these are just a protein and broth (although the Gerber contains some cornstarch). Both are low carb.

Giving cypro and Pepsid together is fine. However, if Lucy is nauseated, you want to get the nausea under control prior to giving an appetite stimulant. Ondansatron or Cerenia can help with nausea, as Dyana suggested. (Just think how you would feel if you were really nauseated an took an appetite stimulant.) Pepsid is more for an acid stomach (but it can't hurt).

Did the vet give you any pain meds for Lucy's pancreatitis? P'titis is really painful. Bupe (buprenorphine) may help Lucy to feel better.

If you've not already seen it, Marje put together a very good primer on pancreatitis.
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMBG=203 // CYPRO & PEPCID TOGETHER OK?

Thank you, Carla and Dyana, about the baby food suggestion.
I'll find ones with just meat.

And thank you, Dyana, about the med info.
She vomited at 6am this morning, but has not vomited since then.
She doesn't seem particularly nauseated any more right now because when she sniffed at food earlier, she didn't swallow saliva.
When she was nauseated before, she kept swallowing saliva every time she smelled food.
If she vomits one more time, I am going to take her to the vet to get an anti-nausea shot (selenia?), but so far she hasn't.

I think depending on her appetite this evening, I will give her both cypro and pepcid, 1/4 pill each.
Unfortunately, Lucy doesn't like pill pocket, so it's really hard to get these bitter tasting pills in her.
I'm going to see if I can trick her by hiding them in a small piece of fish I got today.
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMBG=203 // CYPRO & PEPCID TOGETHER OK?

Hi Mtncat, those are good recommendations from Dyana and Sienne. Little Mags likes the Gerber Chicken & Chicken Gravy. It's a small jar, 2.5 oz, and says Stage 2nd foods on the side. This one has corn starch in it, so may slightly spike, but doesn't seem to affect Mags. There's also a Gerber ham & gravy that some kitties love.
Come on Lucy and eat.
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMBG=203 // CYPRO & PEPCID TOGETHER OK?

Mariko --

You can purchase gelcaps to put a bitter tasting pill in. In the meantime, if you coat the pill in butter, it will go down easier and the butter will help to prevent the bitter cut edge of the pill from being so distasteful.
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMBG=203 // CYPRO & PEPCID TOGETHER OK?

Thank you, Sienne.
I was typing too slowly after seeing Dyana's suggestions, and just read yours too.

Right now, she doesn't seem nauseated.
I don't have any anti-nausea med, but if she starts swallowing saliva, I'm taking her to the vet for a shot of Cerenia.
But how to tell exactly if she is nauseated or not....

Should I hold off the Cypro?

I have some leftover Bupe from the last flare, but it's 3 months old, and I don't know if they are still good.
If she doesn't improve tomorrow, I'll go to the vet and get new Bupe filled.
But right now, she is sleeping, lying on her side with her paws carelessly stretched and head down.
They don't sleep like this if they are in pain, do they?
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMBG=203 // CYPRO & PEPCID TOGETHER OK?

Ohhhh!!
Gelcaps!!!!
I will definitely keep stock of these for future use!!!
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMBG=203 // MAYBE SHE'S FEELING BETTER.

I think she may be feeling better.
I just sat next to her and gently brushed her with her favorite rubber brush, and she purred, licked my hand and licked my face.
I don't want to rush her yet, so I'll wait another 30 min, before I start offering her food to see if/what she'd eat.
I'll let her sleep another 30 min, and let you know how she is then.
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMBG=203 // MAYBE SHE'S FEELING BETTER.

Rusty gets his "lung treat" (Allerplex) in a teaspoon of BeechNut Stage 1 turkey babyfood. He loves it.

Hope Lucy continues to feel better.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMBG=203 // MAYBE SHE'S FEELING BETTER.

A sign of being nauseated is to seem hungry and then refuse to eat or eat little, like approach the food and take a sniff or a couple licks and then walk away.
Rather than a shot that you have to take her to the vet for everytime she's nauseous, I would ask for a prescription for ondansetron or the other anti-nausea med. that Sienne mentioned. That way you have it right there at home, when she needs it and can get her eating soon afterwards.
J.D. doesn't like pill pockets and never has, but I don't offer them to him to eat. I wrap the pills and bits of pills up in the pill pocket and then just put it at the back of his throat. All pills done in one pilling, and the pill pocket helps to coat the pill from the bitterness. It's a lot easier to hold onto a pill pocket than a little tiny big of pill. I know J.D. gets all his pill, this way.

Sending eating vines to Lucy.
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMBG=203 // MAYBE SHE'S FEELING BETTER.

Thank you, all, for your baby food suggestions.
I will stock up one jar of all the suggested brands.

I have good news.
I just offered her a teaspoon of Fancy Feast pate, and by hand-feeding a pea-sized ball at a time, she ate all without me having to insist too much.
I hid a piece of Pepcid in the last ball, and she ate without noticing.
Since she may continue to eat at the dinner time, I am holding the Cypro for now.

Thank you, Dyana, about letting me know the sign of being nauseated.
It's very helpful to know that.
Also thank you for the pillpocket info, and it makes a lot of sense.
Why didn't I think of that before!! To use pill pockets like a gel capsule.
I had trouble pilling her because she spits, and once she spits, pills stick to my finger.
I'll also take your advice and ask the vet for some anti-nausea meds I can keep at hand for future use.

I'll update her BG and how she does with dinner soon.....
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMBG=203 // MAYBE SHE'S FEELING BETTER.

(((Mariko)))

Sending feel better vines to Lucy. Hope her appy returns and she is back to her normal self soon.

Jane
 
Re: 7/23 Lucy AMBG=203 // MAYBE SHE'S FEELING BETTER.

Sending tons of feel better vines to Lucy. I hope she eats soon. I was thinking of you guys earlier today when I was shopping at Korna. :YMHUG:
 
I am really sorry if I kept some of you worried.
Lucy is better, but I couldn't post an update because my computer had a glitch, and I couldn't type anything.
I had to get a hold of my techie friend to come back from the beach to take a look......

This is what happened.
45 min. before the shot time, I offered her about a teaspoon of food to see how her appetite was.
She ate by finger-feeding, tiny pea-sized ball at a time, and I was able to hide a piece of Pepcid in the last ball.

I got her PMPS number 30 minutes before the actual shot time, because I wanted to make sure she would eat a good amount of food and knew it would take a while to feed her.
Her PMPS was 193.
She then ate about 2 oz of Fancy Feast pate by finger-feeding, pea-sized ball at a time.
I could tell she wasn't too into it, so I decided to sneak in a piece of Cypro, which she ate without noticing.
I wanted to make sure I could feed her if I needed after the shot.

Since she ate a decent amount of food, I gave her a full dose shot (0.75 unit).

She's been in lower yellow to higher blue since then.
I just fed her another couple teaspoons of food, and she ate better this time.
I think Cypro has kicked in.

Her energy is still low, her walking seems a little weaker, but I think she is feeling much better than she did this morning.
She looks like she actually wants more food, no doubt due to Cypro.
But she is walking about and following me around.
She had slept really deeply most of the day until the dinner time, so I think that helped.

Thank you all very much for your vines, prayers, hugs, all the advice and suggestion.
You are all so wonderful.
 
Sending healing vines to Lucy. It is so stressful when they won't eat!

Zener has been on ondansetron and cerenia for more than a year. The first few times, we did Cerenia injections, when he was vomiting. Now we give the Cerenia is in tablet form and he gets 1mg 3 times a week. We give him 1mg Ondansetron before AM and PM meals, also Zantac at the same time. We are able to wrap the tiny bits of pill in the duck and pea diabetic friendly pill pockets for dogs, you can't find the ones for cats anymore. We used Pepcid for awhile but switched to Zantac because it has some motility benefits and he has poor GI motility from his FD. Because he is on the anti-nausea meds regularly, we can give him cypro, an appy stimulant, when needed. We only give a tiny bit of cypro, the prescribed amount is often far too much. We get the 4mg tablets, cut into quarters (1mg), then cut these in half (0.5mg), then half again (0.25 mg). It's not easy to cut but we have a pill cutter that works really well. We give him what amounts to a tiny sliver and that keeps him eating enough to maintain his weight, and best of all, reduces the stress on the beans of "will he eat"?

Paws crossed Lucy finds her appy again, hugs to you, we know how stressful this is. :YMHUG:
 
Hi Mariko,

I'm glad Lucy seems a bit better. Sending lots of eat yur fuds vines and happy tummy vines for her continued improvement.

Grace
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top