7/24 Tomcat PMPS 125, +2=81, +3=49, +3.5=50, +4=64, +5=61

Status
Not open for further replies.

tomtom13

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=100656
evening all


here we go again.....WE'REEEEE BAAACCCKKKK

okay so I already fed 1 table. of HC.

will test in 30

I didn't break out the syrup this time!!


I guess I don't need any help.....just thought I would post IN CASE I DO LATER

~~~thanks all

kelly
 
Re: 7/24 Tomcat PMPS 125, +2=81, +3=49

Tomcat, here for another round of "What's my number?" are you? Well, let me tell you something, you just had a nice reducie the other day. Now you're angling for another one. So soon????? ohmygod_smile Really? @-)

Thank goodness your mommabean Kelly is used to this.

What movie are we going to watch for the pajama party?

I vote for Rocky Horror Picture Show!!!! Wink ;-)
 

Attachments

  • cats pajamas 4 small.jpg
    cats pajamas 4 small.jpg
    11.9 KB · Views: 307
Re: 7/24 Tomcat PMPS 125, +2=81, +3=49

Hey Kelly - hope you get some sleep one of these days! I can't believe how recently it was that you were really nervous about shooting low - now you're an old hand at it and are all "I guess I don't need any help" :lol:
It's a steep leaning curve . . . and very rewarding when you see your kitty in such nice numbers! I hope he doesn't go too low for you tonight but I'm confident you'll handle it like a pro if he does. Just shout for help if you need any.
 
Re: 7/24 Tomcat PMPS 125, +2=81, +3=49, +3.5=50

thanks guys

well , I may have sounded like an old pro....but

that HC didn't do the trick

now what?

I take it another table. or wait?

as far as shooting low, amy......I HATE IT I HATE IT....every time I know it is a mistake!! and most of the time I am right!!

yikes

already sweating my AMPS number right now!!

so again

feed HC AGAIN?
 
Re: 7/24 Tomcat PMPS 125, +2=81, +3=49, +3.5=50

thanks guys

well , I may have sounded like an old pro....but

that HC didn't do the trick

now what?

I take it another table. or wait?

as far as shooting low, amy......I HATE IT I HATE IT....every time I know it is a mistake!! and most of the time I am right!!

yikes

already sweating my AMPS number right now!!

so again

feed HC AGAIN?
 
Re: 7/24 Tomcat PMPS 125, +2=81, +3=49, +3.5=50

Well, the HC did something because he didn't drop any further, so that's good. But it didn't bring his numbers up, either, so I would think you could give him a bit more - just don't fill him up since this may go on for a while! Is the HC you're using one that you can kind of scrape out some extra gravy and make sure he's getting lots of that and not just the chunks in between?

PS I wouldn't say any of your shots have been a mistake - you've been doing the right thing. It just takes lots of vigilance when cats decide to go for a dive, but those blues and greens are what lets their body heal. Just not TOOOOO green :?
 
Re: 7/24 Tomcat PMPS 125, +2=81, +3=49, +3.5=50, +4=64

AMY SAID

Well, the HC did something because he didn't drop any further, so that's good

OKAY...you are so right! I never even thought about it that way!!

thanks for the clarity!

What % carb is the food that you are using as HC, by the way

18% FF marinated morsels. should I buy something that is higher?

PS I wouldn't say any of your shots have been a mistake - you've been doing the right thing. It just takes lots of vigilance when cats decide to go for a dive, but those blues and greens are what lets their body heal. Just not TOOOOO green
:?


yes, that is why I have been trying trying to give at normal time....haven't been too successful at that...but much better!! I guess I am just concerned because there have been days when I shoot low and I KNOW he will dive low...and I realize we want the low numbers...but I can't help and think:

at what point is the point of no return? at what point will the HC and syrup FAIL? you know what I mean? I mean, in reality, can a person keep their cats above HYPO if they are testing every 30 mins and have the tools? even this fails sometimes right?

or no? I mean nothing is totally foolproof.....but normally...a person can keep a cat safe with these tools?

sometimes I just feel like: what happens if all the sugar in the world ain't gonna do it this time lady

okay that was a lot......and probably doesn't make sense...but I will post it anyway

~kelly
 
Re: 7/24 Tomcat PMPS 125, +2=81, +3=49, +3.5=50, +4=64

tomtom13 said:
sometimes I just feel like: what happens if all the sugar in the world ain't gonna do it this time lady

Totally get that feeling! I take comfort in the oft-repeated phrase around here that "clinical hypos on Lantus are rare". And NORMAL numbers for a cat are pretty low, it's just the worry of whether they are going to keep dropping. But with testing and feeding along the way even though it may give us some tense moments it seems to come out fine, and the cats wonder why we're stalking them all the time . . .

What is your reduction strategy? Are you doing the once-below-50 or the between-40-and-50 on three separate days?
 
Re: 7/24 Tomcat PMPS 125, +2=81, +3=49, +3.5=50, +4=64

Great job so far tonight Kelly! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: How about surfing right about there Tomcat? As Amy pointed out, keeping him from diving lower when he's yet to reach nadir means the HC is working. The 18% you've got should be fine. If you need really big guns, that's when you can go to the karo/syrup.

With food and syrup, as long as you shoot a safe number you should be OK. It's a little scary if the cat isn't eating (you've already seen Bob/Dara's condo today). As a last resort it's always good to have an emergency vet contact as part of your hypo kit, but it's a rare thing in TR. You follow the protocol and take deductions when earned, and kitty should be OK with food and syrup. If kitty gets into 20's or 30's, you might want to test every 20 minutes. I find comfort in knowing that I've seen cats on OTJ trials (no insulin on board) test in the 40's. Do you have any other cats in the house you can test? That'll give you an idea of what is normal on your meter.
 
Re: 7/24 Tomcat PMPS 125, +2=81, +3=49, +3.5=50, +4=64, +5=6

What is your reduction strategy? Are you doing the once-below-50 or the between-40-and-50 on three separate days



ummmmm? I have no clue?
:?:
what do you think?

should I hold dose longer as last reduction was 4 cycles ago? I don't know the "rules" when it comes to holding reductions


~kelly
 
Re: 7/24 Tomcat PMPS 125, +2=81, +3=49, +3.5=50, +4=64, +5=6

So far Tomcat has shown that he can hold his reductions. For kitties that don't, one strategy is to move to 3 times under 50 or once under 40 before a .25 reduction. Since Tomcat is newly diagnosed, we recommend a .25 unit reduction for under 50, unless at some point in the future he doesn't hold the reductions.

I think I'd take this reduction. I usually like to see at least 4 cycles at the new dose before reducing as the depot from the previous dose can impact a few cycles after a reduction. Of course sometimes kitty breaks that rule by doing a really deep dive but Tomcat seems to be going sensibly low.
 
Re: 7/24 Tomcat PMPS 125, +2=81, +3=49, +3.5=50, +4=64, +5=6

Ha ha okay sorry I'd better not advise on reductions, I thought you maybe had already discussed that with some of the other members when you were talking about dose. Honestly, Papaya has done a lot of black to green and back, so I tend to get "read the protocol, dumb***" type comments in her condo whether I reduce or not :lol: . . . .I guarantee whichever way I advised you someone would be able to prove that it should be the other way :oops: ! You might want to post something about that as a question in your subject line for tomorrow's post so you can get a firm idea going forward.

I was just asking because whatever your cutoff for reduction, once you've seen that number in the cycle you don't have to hesitate to feed HC to get the numbers up so you can relax. Whether that's a 40 or a 50 for you, I don't know, but once you've seen it, you've seen it, and you don't have to try to keep them low just to see where they'll go if you already know you will be reducing.

Are you feeling okay about the rest of Tomcat's cycle tonight or would you like me to check in for a while yet?

EDITED TO ADD: Sorry, cross-posted with Wendy, who seems to have sound advice on reductions.
 
Re: 7/24 Tomcat PMPS 125, +2=81, +3=49, +3.5=50, +4=64, +5=6

I was just asking because whatever your cutoff for reduction, once you've seen that number in the cycle you don't have to hesitate to feed HC to get the numbers up so you can relax. Whether that's a 40 or a 50 for you, I don't know, but once you've seen it, you've seen it, and you don't have to try to keep them low just to see where they'll go if you already know you will be reducing.
In other words, you can abort the cycle and load him up with high carb food and go to bed if you like.
 
Re: 7/24 Tomcat PMPS 125, +2=81, +3=49, +3.5=50, +4=64, +5=6

thanks ladies....

off to bed you go.....I am fine here. he is sound asleep...so when he wakes I will feed him good!!

I am a night owl so PM low low cycles are not a problem for me.....it is those AM'S that aren't so good

anyway...to be clear

I take the reduction in the AM right? .25 reduce.

and if he is above 300, I shoot thru the bounce with one time only current dose?

thanks all

you are great

kelly
 
Re: 7/24 Tomcat PMPS 125, +2=81, +3=49, +3.5=50, +4=64, +5=6

OK, Papaya is in bed wondering why I'm still out at the computer so I am signing off. Your night owl skills are going to come in handy around here, since you are going to be the voice of experience talking newbies through their cats' low numbers before you know it! G'nite! Surf nicely, Tomcat!
 
Re: 7/24 Tomcat PMPS 125, +2=81, +3=49, +3.5=50, +4=64, +5=6

tomtom13 said:
....anyway...to be clear

I take the reduction in the AM right? .25 reduce.

and if he is above 300, I shoot thru the bounce with one time only current dose?

thanks all

you are great

kelly

Yes, you've got it. If the reduction dose not hold, i.e. his numbers go up and up, we go back to the last good dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top