7/28 Bob PMPS=98, +1=111, +2=57 pleasehelp???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lkldcatlady

Member Since 2013
yesterday's condo

Good morning LL!

Well, it's going to be one of those days. Bob would not eat the fromm duck & chicken, wouldn't eat the weruva peking ducken, wouldn't eat the grandma's chicken soup (high carb) so finally I gave him bff tuna & chicken and he ate about 1.5 ounces. He is being such a brat! I should be at work, but his number is already a little low and I imagine he will get lower. Not sure what to do....sigh.

Hope everyone has a great day!
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob 182+11 PMPS=169 117+1

Bob gets a beat down! ;-) :lol:

Have you tried getting Bob to play more? A few minutes of active play and then food is supposed to mimic the "hunt" for cats. It might stimulate his appy? He may just not be that hungry if he's not moving much. Or, he's just a brat! :lol:

Good luck, hope you are able to get some work done!
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob 182+11 PMPS=169 117+1

Yeah, I've done that, he's just being a butt. You guys want him??? You can have him for free!
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob 182+11 PMPS=169 117+1

Awwwww, Bob....eat for your MamaBean! They weren't lying when they said cats are finicky....
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob 182+11 PMPS=169 117+1

That's some breffifs buffet there for Bratty Bob! :lol: :lol:
Paws crossed he starts eating some fuds.
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob PMPS=169 117+1, 72+2, 36+3, REALLY???

tomtom13 said:
does he come with all that wasted expensive food he won't eat?

Sure does! It's yours!!! You see his +3? He actually at 3 ounces of the bff tuna & chicken. I guess he's still got too much insulin going on.

Amy&TrixieCat said:
Awwwww, Bob....eat for your MamaBean! They weren't lying when they said cats are finicky....

Amy - finicky kitties have nothing on Bob - this would be easy if he wasn't diabetic. I would just put it out and he would eventually eat it when he got hungry enough.

Ann & Maggie11 said:
That's some breffifs buffet there for Bratty Bob!
Paws crossed he starts eating some fuds.

Tell me about it! There are 15 bowls of cat food sitting around my house. And it smells like tuna in here! :-|
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob PMPS=169 117+1, 72+2, 36+3, REALLY???

:lol: @ Kelly

Ah yes, the smorgasbord. Familiar story. :YMSIGH:

So much for getting to work on time..or at all. Bob, you gotta eat for the mama, and get those numbers up a bit.

Are we having fun yet?
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob PMPS=169 117+1, 72+2, 36+3, REALLY???

no fun! no fun! :sad: But thanks for stopping by and encouraging Bob!!! :smile:
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob PMPS=169 117+1, 72+2, 36+3, REALLY???

There are 15 bowls of cat food sitting around my house. And it smells like tuna in here!
<snort>

Ya know.... What if you put the food down and ignored him. Maybe treating him like a bratty kid -- "Eat your dinner. This isn't a restaurant. You don't get multiple choices. No dinner. No dessert!" (Of course, I have a cat that's a hoover. I yell, "Food" and Gizmo comes running and Gabby strolls her way to the kitchen.)

Any chance you can bring Bob to work with you?
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob PMPS=169 117+1, 72+2, 36+3, REALLY???

Beat down Bob! I'll sacrifice and come to Florida for it! :evil: As long as I get to stay at a hotel with a pool! :lol: :lol:

Also, Dara, you've got your nights and mornings mixed up again. :-D
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob PMPS=169 117+1, 72+2, 36+3, REALLY???

Oh, Bob!!

Please eat some fuds for your momma!!

Good luck today Dara!

Jane
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob PMPS=169 117+1, 72+2, 36+3, REALLY???

Cleo & Jane said:
Oh, Bob!!

Please eat some fuds for your momma!!

Good luck today Dara!

Thanks Jane! Actually he ate a 3 ounce can of bff tuna & chicken. That's pretty decent for this morning. I just hate to give him tuna all the time.

Sienne and Gabby said:
<snort>

Ya know.... What if you put the food down and ignored him. Maybe treating him like a bratty kid -- "Eat your dinner. This isn't a restaurant. You don't get multiple choices. No dinner. No dessert!" (Of course, I have a cat that's a hoover. I yell, "Food" and Gizmo comes running and Gabby strolls her way to the kitchen.)

Any chance you can bring Bob to work with you?

Hi Sienne - no, I couldn't bring Bob with me, but I don't know that he would handle that very well anyway. He's a homebody! ;-) And I tried ignoring him before and I got what I got on Wednesday! 8 hours of misery. Right now I'm injecting him with high carb gravy and he's just lying here cleaning himself. Must not be feeling the low number....
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob PMPS=169 117+1, 72+2, 36+3, REALLY???

Dara, hang in there! I caught Tashie @ 33 two weeks ago - are you okay syringe feeding? Hang in there!
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob PMPS=169 117+1, 72+2, 36+3, REALLY???

And, I know you have your hands full but I have Tashie on an appetite stimulant - there are a few options out there, it's REALLY helping!
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob PMPS=169 117+1, 72+2, 36+3, REALLY???

Hey Bern - I was just thinking about asking the vet for one for Bob. Geez - I can't deal with this anymore. I've been giving him high carb gravy with a syringe for a couple of hours now. Finally I put out some Avoderm and it looks like he ate some or just licked the gravy. But he probably won't like it tomorrow....

Thanks for the suggestion!!
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob PMPS=169 117+1, 72+2, 36+3, REALLY???

REALLY BOB....REALLY?

okay....well...so much for the worry of losing momentum with your skipped shots and major reductions!!


I know you will be able to handle it.......you did get around to washing those solid pants right? you may need them

so glad you haven't lost all your gains.

have fun today Dara!!! :shock:
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob PMPS=169 117+1, 72+2, 36+3, 34+4

Dara, when things calm down for you and you can think straight I'd be glad to chat w/ you about the stimulant - it's REALLY helping! It's just the worst when they won't eat - and, if you have a hard time with a pill, you can get them transdermal - just rub on their ear and done! EAT BOB EAT!!!
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob PMPS=169 117+1, 72+2, 36+3, 34+4

I would not go with an appetite stimulant. Bob has eaten at least 3 oz of food this morning. That's a can of food. There's a difference between a cat with no appetite and may be sick vs. a cat that's being stubborn. All of the appetite stimulants have side effects. I don't see the point of giving a drug when there's nothing medically wrong. IMHO, tt doesn't make sense to me to drug a cat for the convenience of the caregiver especially if you look at the list of side effects. The other issue is that in the unlikely scenario that the cat becomes ill, you have drug interactions to be careful about and not all vets are attentive to the interactive effects of drugs.

How about adding some Karo or other syrup to the mix. I'd like to see Bob out of the 30s.
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob PMPS=169 117+1, 72+2, 36+3, 34+4

I'm sorry Bob is not wanting to eat much. I hope he'll start eating more soon.
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob PMPS=169 117+1, 72+2, 36+3, 34+4

Really, Bob? You know the bean needs to go to work to pay for all those fuds you are ignoring! :roll:

Well, you are now on the slide down the dosing scale. We warned you it would be a rush! Tess often prefers the cheaper stuff when she gets finicky, we all want some junk food every so often. I always resisted the idea of syrup or honey too, give sugar to a diabetic???? but i've found it is more controllable when you are in a crunch. It will bring him up quickly and tends to last ofr a measurable amount of tim. The main problem is if you have to leave him it may wear off too quickly.

Have you tried tuna water on the other food. He'll get the tasted of the tuna without feeding him so much of it.
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob PMPS=169 117+1, 72+2, 36+3, 34+4

Sienne and Gabby said:
I would not go with an appetite stimulant. Bob has eaten at least 3 oz of food this morning. That's a can of food. There's a difference between a cat with no appetite and may be sick vs. a cat that's being stubborn. All of the appetite stimulants have side effects. I don't see the point of giving a drug when there's nothing medically wrong. IMHO, tt doesn't make sense to me to drug a cat for the convenience of the caregiver especially if you look at the list of side effects. The other issue is that in the unlikely scenario that the cat becomes ill, you have drug interactions to be careful about and not all vets are attentive to the interactive effects of drugs.

How about adding some Karo or other syrup to the mix. I'd like to see Bob out of the 30s.

Well, I can try the syrup, but if you look at last Thursday, the exact same thing is happening. I was giving syrup and gravy then. Today I'm just giving more gravy. He just wants to sleep. I keep putting him in front of his food. I try playing with him. I try opening up new foods. He's like "quit waking me up". ugh....I'll give him some syrup with his gravy at 12:30, but I don't know if it will help much.


Ann & Tess said:
Really, Bob? You know the bean needs to go to work to pay for all those fuds you are ignoring!

Well, you are now on the slide down the dosing scale. We warned you it would be a rush! Tess often prefers the cheaper stuff when she gets finicky, we all want some junk food every so often. I always resisted the idea of syrup or honey too, give sugar to a diabetic???? but i've found it is more controllable when you are in a crunch. It will bring him up quickly and tends to last ofr a measurable amount of tim. The main problem is if you have to leave him it may wear off too quickly.

Have you tried tuna water on the other food. He'll get the tasted of the tuna without feeding him so much of it.

Well, I did start out with the FF and he only showed a teeny bit of interest in the turkey & giblets then a few days later would not eat it. I've tried feeding him the same thing every day and I've tried mixing it up. Oh, the frustrations. For a while he has LOVED the peking ducken but it's sitting in the bowl today and he won't eat it. Tried to give him a tsp of the gradma's chicken soup which is high carb (and he loved a few days ago), but he just laughed at me and said "pu-lease woman...". Yesterday I fed him chickin lickin with the ff appetizer on it (tuna & chicken - which he loves on certain days) and he let it sit there for 12 hours. a week or so ago I did the tuna water - same thing. I should be getting some forti=flora in the mail this week and I hope that might make a difference. Sigh. But thanks for the suggestions! :smile:
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob PMPS=169 117+1, 72+2, 36+3, 34+4

Dara, this might be completely stupid as you may have tried this long ago .... heating it just a tad in the microwave? Not meaning to insult your intelligence in ANY way! I just know how hard it is to get them to eat - especially when they are low
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob PMPS=169 117+1, 72+2, 36+3, 34+4

Hey Bern - I may try that. I did it a couple times when I pulled food out of the fridge. Never tried with just out of the can stuff. I can certainly give it a try....
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob PMPS=169 117+1, 72+2, 36+3, 34+4

Lock him in kitty jail put bowl in there walk away, :lol:

Lucky comes running every time I walk in kitchen, but he would love to come to your house and finish all the food left, he loves leftovers. :lol:

Eat your fuds for mommy she needs your numbers up, good luck Dara
Linda
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob 36+3, 34+4 advise please??

Sure. Just hope he doesn't decide to roll in it :-D
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob 36+3, 34+4 advise please??

Yes. If catnip will work, go for it.

I add warm/hot tap water to my guys food. It helps to make it smellier.

By any chance, is Bob congested?
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob 36+3, 34+4, 33+5, 36+6 advise please??

Carl & Bob said:
Sure. Just hope he doesn't decide to roll in it

haha! He better not! He's already on my last nerve today. he likes to eat it and I have some organic stuff I can sprinkle on it. Who knows?

Sienne and Gabby said:
Yes. If catnip will work, go for it.

I add warm/hot tap water to my guys food. It helps to make it smellier.

By any chance, is Bob congested?

I did try the warm water - he hovered for a few seconds and sniffed it but didn't eat. He's not congested - this is just how he is. He's one of those bad children you see in public and think "thank God my kid's not like that". He really hasn't been eating a lot. The only days he's had a really good appetite was when his numbers are high. He did eat the 3 ounces this am and he may slightly nibble here and there the rest of the day. he woke me up this am because he was hungry and he gets all excited when I'm getting the food ready. When I set it down, he sniffs it and walks away. Little %^&*(*&^!!!! Ugh.
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob 36+3, 34+4, 33+5, 36+6 advise please??

you can sprinkle anything bob likes on his food to get him to eat.
alex is partial to parmesan cheese, crumbled cheetos, or crushed white cheddar cheeze-it crackers! :mrgreen:

i'd like to take a minute to underscore sienne's words of caution on using an appetite stimulant unless kitty is very, very sick and nothing else works. vets are often reluctant to prescribe appetite stimulants with good reason. they're very hard on the body. indiscriminate use of an appy stimulant has the potential of leaving kitty with more problems than you bargained for.
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob 36+3, 34+4, 33+5, 36+6 advise please??

Well, it didn't work as well as I thought it might. He just licked it off the top and I had to really encourage him to do that - then he tried to stick his paw in it because he only wants the catnip. Now he's eating little pieces of the carpet. :lol: Will that help his bg go up???
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob 36+3, 34+4, 33+5, 36+6 advise please??

He really hasn't been eating a lot. The only days he's had a really good appetite was when his numbers are high. He did eat the 3 ounces this am and he may slightly nibble here and there the rest of the day. he woke me up this am because he was hungry and he gets all excited when I'm getting the food ready. When I set it down, he sniffs it and walks away. Little %^&*(*&^!!!! Ugh

I swear we have the same cat!!

I think perhaps because they are becoming regulated they just don't need/want the food nearly as much!

tom woke me up at 2 am to get fed....mind you, he had food down...so I open up yet another can.....sniff and walk away. if the little snicker would have ate late last night.....he wouldn't have had such a delayed shot today!!

little $%##$$ agreed!!

how are Bob's numbers now?
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob 36+3, 34+4, 33+5, 36+6 advise please??

He's at 42 right now. WOO HOO!!! How lucky am I???

Jill & Alex said:
i'd like to take a minute to underscore sienne's words of caution on using an appetite stimulant unless kitty is very, very sick and nothing else works. vets are often reluctant to prescribe appetite stimulants with good reason. they're very hard on the body. indiscriminate use of an appy stimulant has the potential of leaving kitty with more problems than you bargained for.

Hey Jill - Yeah, I did a little research and figured it's likely not what Bob needs. I think he has an appetite, he's just really picky. Just gotta figure out what he likes I guess.
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob 36+3, 34+4, 33+5, 36+6 advise please??

tomtom13 said:
[tom woke me up at 2 am to get fed....mind you, he had food down...so I open up yet another can.....sniff and walk away. if the little snicker would have ate late last night.....he wouldn't have had such a delayed shot today!!

little $%##$$ agreed!!


Haha!!!! Tom, you little butt! He just wanted his mom's attention.
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob 36+3, 34+4, 33+5, 36+6 advise please??

Libbys Lucy like Chik-Fil-A.

Here's another list of things that entice a cat to eat.
Cheryl & Winnie said:
Enticing a Cat to Eat

Here are some things you can do do entice your cat to eat. Some of these you've tried.

-sometimes in order to get a cat to eat you even have to resort to dry it is more important that they eat. there are a couple low carb / grain free brands -- EVO and wellness core.

-making a buffet to give him choices
- heating food

sprinkle food with :
  • forta flora -- a probiotic you can get at vets or online. is very smelly and cats love the taste of it.
  • parmesean cheese
  • smashed crumbles of dry food
  • bonito/tuna flakes (Can be found at Asian markets or sometimes in the Asian food section of a large grocery store.)
  • halo chicken treats (freeze dried chicken) -- crumble into dust over food -- my Wolfie loves this stuff.
  • pour a little water from tuna in water over food (I use low sodium/no sodium added as other kinds in water has veg. broth in it and I assume that means onions, which are toxic to cats and it shouldn't contain soy -- check labels)
  • powdered oregano. yep sounds weird . but some cats like it and it will entice them to eat.

other ideas of foods to offer your kitty to stim appy:
  • trader joe tuna for cats
  • baby food -- beechnut or Gerber Stage 2 -- you want a baby food that is only a protein + broth (although the Gerber contains cornstarch). It should have no onions or other additives. some babyfoods have onions . please read labels if you can't find beechnut.
  • kentucky fried chicken
  • deli turkey /chicken
  • plain cooked ( boiled or baked ) chicken breast
  • canned chicken for people (watch the label that their are no onions)
  • chicken broth -- low sodium

If enticements don't work, you should consider:
-assist feeding ( syringe or make little meatballs and place in mouth)
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob 36+3, 34+4, 33+5, 36+6 advise please??

Thanks Sienne - I think Bob's numbers are coming up now so I'm going to run out and grab a few of those items! I tried the buffet today and that didn't work!
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob 36+3, 34+4, 33+5, 36+6 advise please??

Thanks Ella - I can try that too. Bob's always been weird about meat though. I've always tried to give him little pieces of my chicken or hamburger and he usually won't eat it. The other two don't hesitate though!
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob 36+3, 34+4, 33+5, 36+6 advise please??

GOOD LUCK! That's all the advice I have... :-D

BOB EAT! ...well, that did about as much good as me saying KT EAT!...

"When I get good and ready and not before....snicker"
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob 36+3, 34+4, 33+5, 36+6 advise please??

Mullet's favorite "cats don't eat this" food is grits. With butter.
 
Re: 7/28 Bratty Bob 36+3, 34+4, 33+5, 36+6 advise please??

I love grits with butter!!!

Hector loves citrus fruits even grapefruit!! He's so weird! But Bob is strictly a cat food cat, I just have to figure out which ones he will like and continue to like. Haven't tried wellness yet. Maybe I'll try ff again since it's been a while and some wellness while we are at it. I've tried to let Bob taste most of my food but he just lets it fall out of his mouth and then plays with it. Later I find it all dried up somewhere random....
 
ok, I'm being very dramatic over here, but I can't take one more second of this. I'm bawling my eyes out because I've missed so much work and so much sleep and I don't know what to do. I may be getting ahead of myself but I doubt it. I gave Bob his shot late (7:50) because I wanted to make sure he was eating. He probably ate about 6 ounces of food today - not much for his size, but at least it was something. I seriously reduced his units thinking I could actually get some sleep, but nooooooo. Just got him to eat some ff appetizer with syrup in it. I can't do another night like this after the hideous day I had with him. I am losing my mind....
 
Dara :YMHUG: :YMHUG: Bob's being rotten to you because he's healing so fast. When I've shot a half dose before, I've noticed that things quiet down later in the cycle. The effect of the insulin from the previous cycle can still are felt early into the current cycle. So, let's get this puppy carbed to the gills so you can sleep. He's earned his deduction today, no need to watch this one unfold naturally.

Next time this happens and you are exhausted, don't be afraid to skip.
 
Thanks Wendy - so you don't think I need to stay up and keep testing him? Today was horrible. He just stayed iin the 30's all day. Got him to eat some syrup with his ff appetizer and just gave him the rest with more syrup, but he's too busy sleeping right now. Ugh. I'm happy he's doing well, I'm just so tired of being obsessed with this stuff, even though I know it's necessary. Just really wanted to hear something encouraging from someone. Thank you!
 
You did great today Dara. I'd be freaking if Neko was in the 30's that long. :shock: You do need to stay up for a while yet, but I think it's OK to abort this cycle by giving lots of high carb. I'd like to see him in the 100's before calling it a night early. Alternatively, you could get him up not so high if you think he'll eat high carb food left out for him. When's your next test?
 
15 minutes. The problem is I couldn't get him to eat all day long. Now he's wanting to sleep (he did eat dinner) and he's pretty much done eating. I'll probably have to feed him with the syringe again....ugh
 
I like your children comment :lol: ,my 4 all have different taste buds Lucky he eats everything :lol: kalohe very picky. Lucky love cheese itz and buffalo blue chips he likes spicy food Not no more though, Foxy likes cantaloupe and strawberry yogurt, but they love Tarragon fresh from the garden I have strange cats :lol: I'm glad Bob is doing a little better.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top