((((((donaleen)))))
I agree...deep breath. Managing FD is stressful at first. We've all been there....we totally understand your frustration and anxiety.
I am very sorry you didn't get a response yesterday. I really am. Some days, we are all just busy with life. And yes, even those of us who test alot have one ;-) ;-)

we do the best we can. It is rare for one of us to not be on. It's possible your post just slipped to the bottom so don't be afraid to bump your own posts up. Just open your condo, click on "post reply", type "bump" in the text box and click "submit".
FWIW, I think you did fine on holding the 2.5u dose. He was getting into some greens and blues and so you should have held it longer than six cycles to see what he could do with it. Don't stress about that.
Maybe if I offer a few suggestions, it will help. I'm sure others will chime in.
First, I would try to get one ketone test every day that he is in yellow or higher numbers. Just try. If you can't, then get it the next day. Don't stress out. Just try.
Second, I'd take the clues from the numbers. Try and get a +2 every cycle. If its higher than PS, test again at midcycle if its during the day. If its the same or lower than PS, you might want to test sooner depending on how much he's dropped since PS. Even if he gets a high number at PS, still grab a +2 or at night, grab a before bed test. Always. We've seen cats go from 300 to 40 to 300 in one cycle and without any test in between the 300s, you would never have know how low they went but a +2 or before bed will let us know if they started down and might give us a clue to any bounce.
Try to keep the testing simple. If his BG is up, just grab a +2 and a mid cycle or before bed. If its dropping, you will want to test a bit more. If it's flat, you don't have to test so much if its high. Remember that any test can vary by 20% so if he's at 350 at PS and 280 at +2, that's a similar number. If its lower (green), we can help you decide when to test until you learn.
Third, you are testing and you have food to manage numbers with. So that puts YOU in control

clinical hypos on Lantus, when following a protocol such as this where we methodically raise and lower in small increments, are extremely rare. Especially when you are hometesting. Everyone worries about hypos and we do need to be careful. It's one of the hardest things about this journey....the worry about hypos. Be informed but don't make yourself sick.
Fourth, study his SS and try to learn his patterns. We don't just say "Know Thy Cat" for no reason. We can help you determine the patterns. Some cats are very predictable and their caregiver can test less. Some others, like my Gracie, are a little less predictable and I will test to keep her safe. Visit other condos and look at other SSs.
Fifth, work it out with your DH. Believe me, this journey is much easier if you have a partner. Mike does as much of the testing and feeding as I do. He's involved in every decision of raising or lowering the dose and he understands the protocol. He knows how to draw a dose and shoot and he does it. There are many other DHs in this group that do the same. FD is stressful enough at first and working as a team helps decrease that stress.
Of course, as Angela said, there are some DHs that don't want to be involved. That's fine, too, as long as you two understand and get to a similar philosophy on how you will handle the FD. IMHO.
Sixth, Read and reread the protocol. Make a list of questions. I drove people crazy with my questions but I learned. Knowledge is power...let us know specifically what you don't understand. Be sure it's really evident in your subject line that you need help. It catches our eyes more if you have the subject line as most of us do. For example:
8/2 Ozy AMPS 222 DOSE ?
Some days we are busy helping members whose cats are low and a dose ? can usually wait one more cycle unless it needs to be reduced. We try to not let questions go unanswered but we have more new members now than I can remember in a long time. And....we all have our own diabetic cats. Often when we are helping someone with their cats low numbers, we are also dealing with our own cats low numbers
We want to help you feel better about this journey and get Ozy into remission.
