8/17 Marley AMPS=264, +2=301, +4=201

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/17 Marley AMPS=264

Hello Lauren,

Hope to see more blues and maybe a touch of green.
Is Marley on Tight or Relaxed regulation? Rex and I are on Tight and trying to get his numbers down.

Either way hope you have a great weekend!
 
Re: 8/17 Marley AMPS=264

Thanks for the encouragement! Marley is supposed to be on tight regulation. However, it sometimes seems as if my lifestyle keeps him on relaxed. I have two small kids and we are on the go a lot. The last time he was having blues, my weekend plans got in the way of me shooting low for the first time....And he's been high ever since. Until this week, so hopefully we will see blue and green today!
 
Re: 8/17 Marley AMPS=264, +2=301

So his +2 is higher. I haven't gotten many +2s before, so I'm unsure if this is unusual for him. It's just not what I expected. Could it be that he went low over night and is bouncing still? Bounces can last 72 hours, correct? Please look at his spreadsheet and tell me what you think. I've stared at it so much, I think I can't see the forest for the trees!
 
He's heading back down. +4=201

I have a question about YA cat food. I've transitioned him to FF classic chicken that is low carb. Could it be beneficial to him to switch to YA that is NO CARB? Thoughts on this cat food?
 
My Neko has a later onset - you could be seeing some of that in Marley. I found that a +3 is more useful for me as an indicator of how the cycle will go, but ECID.

The jury is still out on the Young Again carb %. The company has not done the lab analysis to get the As-Fed or Dry Matter Basis numbers which we need to show what the carb % numbers are for this food. No doubt it is low carb but we don't know the exact numbers. However, if you read Dr. Lisa's web page, in all cases, wet food is better than dry food for cats. If you have made the switch to wet food, I wouldn't go back to dry food. Cats traditionally aren't big water drinkers and an all dry food diet can cause other issues. Some people here have also seen that a few carbs (4-6%) is better than none or hardly any carbs (1-2%).
 
The switch to wet food helped my foster cat Wink with his frequent UTI issues. He has not had a UTI since the switch to wet food, so that is my recommendation. The wet food helps so much with the kidneys too, hopefully staving off chronic kidney disease. I'll always be a fan of wet food for those reasons.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top