8/29 Lucy PMPS=158;+2=162 // HOORAY SOLD MATTER

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning!

Yesterday's condo

8/28 AMPS=155; +2=148; +9=119
8/28 PMPS=117; +2=104; +5.5=103

8/29 AMPS=130; +2=122; +10=167
8/29 PMPS=158; +2=162; +5.5=167

I'm not really sure how Lucy is doing today.
She puked some clear but little formy liquid (stomach acid) about an hour before AMPS, so I gave her Pepcid.
Strange because I didn't forget to give her a bedtime mini-meal last night.
This may be because I woke up at 3am because of a mosquito buzzing in my ear, and Lucy was probably up since then, and got too hungry.
Despite the puke, she ate her 1st breakfast pretty well, most of it by herself.

It's getting harder to trick her to eat metronidazole.
I usually hide it in a small ball of food that is not her regular food.
I use some food that she likes but I don't want to feed regularly, so it would be OK if she stops eating that food.
She has gotten smarter, and was beginning to be suspicious, so yesterday I bought a grilled salmon from a Japanese restaurant, and used it to hide the pill.
It worked good last night, but after Pepcid in salmon this morning, she wouldn't eat it any more.
So I had to pill her in the old fashioned way - pry open her month and throw the pill in (still wrapped in a food ball), shut it tight until she swallows.
Lucy is pretty upset now.
I may buy some sashimi tuna/salmon for tonight's pilling......

Lucy hasn't pooped since yesterday morning, so no poop update yet.

I hope everyone's having a nice Thursday!
 
Re: 8/29 Lucy AMPS=130

Good Morning, Mariko,

I'm sorry that you are having so much trouble getting Lucy's meds into her. The sushi sounds like a good idea. I have always had trouble giving pills to cats and my success rate was dismal. I used a piller with Stu for a while, and that worked best. It had a soft, rubber tip. Sorry, I don't remember the brand.

Feel better, Lucy. Hope your day will be a good one, Mariko.

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 8/29 Lucy AMPS=130

Hmm, sound like Lucy has figured out how to get you to buy her some nice treats to hide those pills! I am pretty sure I would lose a finger every time if I tried to "pry open her month and throw the pill in" with Papaya :shock: Phew, hope things go down easier tonight!
 
Re: 8/29 Lucy AMPS=130;+2=122

Mariko, have you asked your vet whether they can get the meds made up by a compounding pharmacy? I tried this for River when he had to take a medicine that I knew would not fly. The compounding pharmacy made some small chewys that my cat thought were treats. It wasn't expensive to do, and I could choose from a wide variety of flavours. I think I chose chicken liver. Anyway, they were a hit, and I knew he was getting the right amount of medication and not spitting it out.

Best of luck to you and Miss Lucy. And mentioning grilled fish and sushi made me want to go back to Vancouver again really soon! ;-)
 
Re: 8/29 Lucy AMPS=130;+2=122

Nice blue start for Lucy this morning. Good luck getting the pills in her. I have a cat that hates pills and I have to wrap her in a towel and shove the pill in her mouth and hold it closed until she swallows. She gets pretty upset, but I make sure I pet her and give her lots of loving and tell her she's a good girl right afterwards. That helps to calm her down.
 
Re: 8/29 Lucy AMPS=130;+2=122

I'm sorry Lucy is feeling a little iffy today. Another idea, in addition to compounding...could some of these meds be done as injections? You're a pro at those, and it would bypass the whole pilling thing. I swear, at this point, I'd rather do shots than pills...

I know Drs Foster and Smith does lots of great compounding, too, but I don't know if it would be an issue that you're in Canada. But, it could be worth looking into.

Sending calming and feel better prayers your way.....
 
Re: 8/29 Lucy AMPS=130;+2=122

HOORAY! SOLID MATTER IN THE LB!!!!

I came home from work, and found a solid poop in the box, which I'm pretty sure is Lucy's.
I can't be absolutely 100% certain, but Ginger had already pooped overnight, and it looked like Lucy's.
So, I'm going to decide it came from Lucy and celebrate for now.

Lucy isn't feeling herself yet, and her appetite is a bit off this evening, but hopefully her mood will improve soon.

Thank you for all the tips about pilling.
Tuna sashimi worked pretty good tonight.
It holds the pill much better than wet food or grilled fish.
She was so excited she forgot to thoroughly investigate the food before swallowing.
If she smartens up again, I'll try cheese like Barb & Checkers.
Compounding is a good idea, but I really doubt Lucy would go for a chew treat.
She does not like any kinds of cat treats that much, she would eat some, but not as if they're irresistible.
If she needs to be on metronidazole longer, I'll check with a compounding pharmacy what options are available.....
The vet gave me pills for one week only for now, and she's supposed to complete this course of treatment on Sunday.
She may need to be on it longer as it took a while to kick in.....
 
Re: 8/29 Lucy PMPS=158 // HOORAY SOLD MATTER

Yeah for solid poop!
poop.gif


Neko likes tuna and salmon sashimi too. I should keep that in mind as a way to hide pills, but Neko will eat just about anything so would probably do pill pockets.
 
Re: 8/29 Lucy PMPS=158 // HOORAY SOLD MATTER

Inspector Poo and Chief Inspector Crapdash are so pleased with the solid production of poo from Lucy! :-D
 
Hmmm, I think I'm going to increase her dose from tomorrow night.
I wanted her to stay higher than "tight" because I do not want to have to feed her HC untill her tummy is better, but I think she can still be in the safe range with 0.25 increase....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top