9/4 Neko AMPS 216 PMPS 309

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Neko

Member Since 2012
Moderator
Yesterday we saw daytime greens! Today we bounce. ohmygod_smile

9/3 Recap:
AMPS 228 +3.5 236 +7.5 98 :mrgreen: +9 88 :mrgreen:
PMPS 160 +3.5 233

Neko was lovey purry again this morning, but after breffs. Normally it takes a few strokes to get Neko's purr engine going (unless fleece is involved), but today she just lay on the carpet and purring started almost right away. Of course that meant a good cuddle session. :-D To contrast, I literally just have to look at the civie to get him purring.

I think I heard Neko playing earlier. I was btb for a short bit with Theo on DH's pillow and I heard what sounded like toys being whacked. I put out a couple of paper towel ends yesterday. Not sure it was them but one has moved. I haven't actually seen play with them yet. Neko's had a brief trip outside and is now flaked out on the solarium floor, taking in the feeble sun as it tries to peak through the clouds.

I'm down to the final couple of weeks of the last Lantus cartridge in my 5 pack. So of course I'm trying to decide whether I should try Levemir. I do hate these daytime pinks and extreme swings Neko does. I'm not fond of the idea of a later nadir, but Neko's nadir is often late and unpredictable as it is. Decisions, decisions.
 
Re: 9/4 Neko AMPS 216 +4 356

Looks like you need a road sign, Neko.
 

Attachments

  • wrongway.jpg
    wrongway.jpg
    10.9 KB · Views: 232
Re: 9/4 Neko AMPS 216 +4 356

I hope Neko clears the bounce soon. Good luck with the decision on switching to Levemir.
 
Re: 9/4 Neko AMPS 216 +4 356

That pink is ugly. We decided against the Levemir because it just seemed like too much to never have any idea when the nadir would be. At least with Lantus, we feel like we are fairly safe after +6. But maybe we are delusional. :lol: :lol:
Liz
 
Re: 9/4 Neko AMPS 216 +4 356

The thing I like least about Levemir, is that without a well regulated cat, it's hard to tell if the pen is good or bad.

And the fact that almost no one seems to make it OTJ after spending much time on Levemir.

Of course the high-dose acro's sure like it and I guess they still make it OTJ?
 
Re: 9/4 Neko AMPS 216 +4 356

Anne & Zener said:
But maybe we are delusional. :lol: :lol:
Liz

Pretty sure that's what most people think about us nutcases anyway!

Good luck with the decision. The swings were just a mess to deal with, and the notion that a nadir just means some random time in the cycle might be lowest with no pattern why. Ugh.

But it's great to hear you got a good cuddle session. LOL of the fleece - I put a fleece blanket on a bed for the boys and they ignored it. :shock: Never seen a cat ignore fleece before!

Have a great day and evening, and NO MORE BOUNCE Missy!
 
Hi Wendy & Neko,

You are such an awesome Mommy! You take such good care of Neko. Looking forward to hearing your decision on the Levemir.
Has Neko been on that before?
 
Well all those extra wishes for daytime green helped a little! I'm glad Neko got some fleece time in today :-D

I know it's hard to decide about the switch. I was worried about the late nadir, too, but I actually like it better. It's hard to predict how they will do on levemir as compared to Lantus. For Gracie, it has made all the difference. Lev is known for its long duration, flat cycles but some cats still bounce alot on it. Of course, Gracie does bounce but nothing like she did on Lantus. I do have to get up at night once or twice but on Lantus, it just seemed like I was up all night many nights. The late nadir allows me to shoot low....which is something so don't know if you will be comfy with with her acro.

Just my thoughts....but I wish I had switched to levemir six months before I did.

And thank you for the prayers for LBG and her buddies. :-D
 
+9 348 PMPS 309
Thanks for all the thoughts on Lev vs. Lantus and pointing Neko in the right direction. She does seem to be coming down now. But of course, it's night time! :roll:

I know that one way to reduce the pinks, is to fatten up Neko's current dose. She has hit the 60's on this dose before and fattening would mean a lot less sleep because of Neko's nocturnal diving habits. If she would do more day time lows then I wouldn't be thinking about an insulin switch as much. I still hope that SRT will kick the last of her acro tumor out so might go for one more Lantus 5-pack as that will be more than enough to last past the time when SRT might still do it's thing. I don't want to get up every night, and Neko sometimes lets me get a good 6 hours sleep with Lantus. And I can sort of predict what Neko will do because of the time she's been on Lantus. But if Neko will forever be on insulin, then I'd like to see what I can do to reduce the wild swings she gets and it'd be worth an experiment on Lev. Acro kitties who've had SRT still bounce, even on Lev, but maybe not as much. I still have a couple weeks to mull over this decision.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top