9/16: Corduroy, PMBG=43, +.5=35, +2=80, +2.5=87, +3=92

Status
Not open for further replies.

blove7

Member Since 2013
Hi there again!

We took Corduroy to our vet for a regular check-up today. Upon seeing and feeling the rash that he has all over his skin (which is causing him a lot of itchiness), our vet prescribed children's Benedryl because he thinks it could be hay fever. He prescribed to give him 2 1/2 milliliters twice a day. He said that it would not be harmful and would not cause any reactions with the insulin. Does anyone have experience with this? I'm a little apprehensive. nailbite_smile

Thanks so much!

Brigitte
 
Re: 9/16: Corduroy, Late AMPS time today, wait to feed?

We usually suggest not feeding in the two hours before shot time. We give Zener a little freeze dried chicken (zero carbs) around +10.5 or so since he doesn't usually eat much after +6 and we want to avoid a scarf and barf.
Liz
 
Re: 9/16: Corduroy, Late AMPS time today, wait to feed?

It's helpful to not feed until immediately after your AMPS test. The +10 compared to Corduroy's AMPS will tell you if his pre-shot is a dropping number.

In general, you don't want to give food any time between +10 and your pre-shot number. You don't want to risk the pre-shot being influenced by the effects of food.
 
Re: 9/16: Children's Benedryl Safe to Give?

Brigette,

I can't tell because I wasn't here this morning, but I am wondering if you edited your first post of the day because I don't see anyone answering the question. If you did, it's better to just Edit the Subject Line and add the ? icon to your first post and then do a Reply to the post with the latest info or question.

I'm sorry, I don't have experience with benadryl. Do you trust your vet? I would think your vet knows it's okay to give him the dose he told you was okay to give. Hopefully, more people with experience giving benadryl will respond soon.
 
Re: 9/16: Children's Benedryl Safe to Give?

Hi Dyana,

Yes, I edited my first post of the day, subject AND body. I guess I shouldn't have overwritten the body, correct? Ugh, I'm still learning. Sorry! So, for the next time, I should simply edit the subject line and not the body, but do a "post reply" with my new question?

And yes, I DO trust my vet. He's been really great with Corduroy. I just always like to do my own investigating before I make a move of any sort;-)

Thanks!

Brigitte
 
Re: 9/16: Children's Benedryl Safe to Give?

That's correct Brigette.
That way when people read down through the condo or thread it makes perfect sense with the questions asked and then next the answers to the questions all in an orderly fashion.

I hope the Benadryl helps relieve the itchiness.
 
Re: 9/16, Corduroy, +10=82. SHOOT IF 100 OR UNDER?

Hi there again,

I just took a +10 on Corduroy and his BG level is 82, which is great! However, in two hours, when I do his PMPS, should I shoot if he's 100 or under? I'm assuming so, but shooting this low still makes me nervous nailbite_smile

Thanks again,

Brigitte
 
Re: 9/16, Corduroy, +10=82. SHOOT IF 100 OR UNDER?

Cats can still shoot up a lot in two hours, so it's hard to say what to do right now. You might want to take a +11.5 test and post for advice if it's still below your comfort zone.

Do you have plenty of strips, HC food and able to monitor tonight? At some point, you do want Corduroy to start having all green cycles as that's what cat's SS start to look like before they go OTJ. But it is nerve wracking the first few times.
 
Re: 9/16: Corduroy, +10=82, +11.5=47. SKIP TONIGHT?

Hi Wendy and Neko,

Thanks for replying to my previous post :smile:

Well, I just did a +11.5, like you said, and he has actually gone down to 47, which is great! Of course, I will do a PMPS in a half-hour, but I'm assuming at this point, that I will skip tonight? Any advice would be helpful.

Thank you,

Brigitte
 
Re: 9/16: Corduroy, +10=82, +11.5=47. SKIP TONIGHT?

Unless you can afford to be out of schedule a couple of hours tomorrow, that's the only option. Time to come up now Corduroy!

Time to start trying to measure a .1U dose on for size. :-D
 
Re: 9/16: Corduroy, +10=82, +11.5=47, PMPS=43. What to do?

I just did Corduroy's PMPS, and it is 43, even lower than before. I am stalling, not feeding, and then testing every 15-20 minutes as the Sticky regarding low numbers suggests. Am I supposed to wait until he reaches 50, and then shoot? Is this correct?

Help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks so much,

Brigitte
 
Re: 9/16: Corduroy, PMPS=43, +.25=39, +.5=35, What to do?

Brigitte...if he's under 50, you need to get his numbers up first and foremost....give him a couple of teaspoons of high carb food, like the Fancy Feasts Gravy Lovers...try to just give the gravy part as much as possible.

If you don't have any high carb food, add a couple of drops of syrup, honey or Karo to a couple teaspoons of LC food

Retest every 20- 30 minutes and do NOT give any insulin! We need to get him up first!

ANY time you get under 50, please add the 911 icon to the first post of the day so we take notice!! (at least until you are sure of what you're doing anyway)

I'll stay with you as long as I can and will give one of the other members a shout out to help watch out for you and Corduroy
 
Re: 9/16: Corduroy, PMPS=43, +.25=39, +.5=35, What to do?

Hi Chris,

Thanks for the advice; however, he's been acting completely normal (even jumping up on the kitchen table to get his food, and then jumping back down in quick succession after being reprimanded;)), so right before you posted, I fed him his regular LC food (he'd been waiting for a long time because I was stalling). I figured that I'd better not shoot at this late hour anyway (and with numbers that low) in order to keep him on schedule.

Thanks for reminding me about adding the 911 icon if he's under 50. I'm still trying to learn the ropes here (this is the first forum I've been on at any length) ;-)

I will keep a close eye on him. Is it possible for him to keep going lower even though he's only had his AMPS shot this morning at 10:40?
 
Re: 9/16: Corduroy, PMPS=43, +.25=39, +.5=35, What to do?

Brigitte

I'd like you to skip this shot, please, and feed Corduroy MC to get him up. Please test 30 mins after you feed.

eta: if his depot is full, he might go a little lower before he heads up so it's best to get his numbers up a little.
 
Re: 9/16: Corduroy, PMPS=43, +.25=39, +.5=35, What to do?

I will keep a close eye on him. Is it possible for him to keep going lower even though he's only had his AMPS shot this morning at 10:40?

Possible, but not likely now that he has eaten. And definitely no shot before morning. I know people "shoot low to stay low", but I wouldn't ever consider giving insulin on any number below 50.
 
Re: 9/16: Corduroy, PMPS=43, +.25=39, +.5=35, What to do?

The problem with hypos is the cat can act totally normal until they start to have seizures, so any time you get a reading under 50, you need to pay attention. For SURE, he's earned another reduction. I think the best thing for you to do at this point is to not shoot tonight and let his depot drain some, and in the morning, if he's not at LEAST 150, stall again and ask for help.

If he's above 150, take him down to .1 unit. This is what .1 looks like (if Marje or Carl want to jump in, they've both got more experience than I do...they may want you to not give anything if he's under 200 in the morning)
01unit-1.jpg
 
Re: 9/16: Corduroy, PMPS=43, +.25=39, +.5=35, What to do?

Hi Brigitte,
In general, I believe that it is suggested not to stall if your cat is in the 40s at PS time. "Feed the Forties" is the motto. You don't want him to go too low. You were right to skip the shot tonight because you don't have enough data to shoot such a low number. Keep testing and if he isn't coming up, add a little Karo syrup or honey to his regular LC or give him a little MC. Since you didn't give insulin tonight, you will be OK. You may see some "shed action", however, so don't be alarmed. Feed small amounts at a time so that if you need to bring him up, he won't be too full to eat.

Since you didn't shoot tonight, please change "PMPS" in your subject line (in your first post of this condo) to "PMBG" (P.M. Blood Glucose). That way people will know that you did not shoot.

You are doing fine.

Ella & Rusty

p.s. I see that Marje and Carl have already given this advice while I was writing!
 
Re: 9/16: Corduroy, PMBG=43, +.25=39, +.5=35, Skipping.

Thanks everyone for the advice! I am not giving him any insulin. Before Chris posted, I gave him his normal LC food, and now I'm giving him two teaspoons of some HC with gravy (Chris, I had no idea that they don't necessarily show signs until seizure, so that scared me a little into adding some HC in the mix). I hope this is okay. I'm planning on testing him again in about 15 minutes (will have been 30 altogether). If his BG is going up on this test, should I stay up and test him again?

Again, thanks for your advice and help!
 
Re: 9/16: Corduroy, PMBG=43, +.25=39, +.5=35, Skipping.

yes, you want to pull up that 35. give him a teaspoons of gravy or karo and recheck him in 1/2 hr.

chris is right about the low numbers. try to get him above 50.
 
Re: 9/16: Corduroy, PMBG=43, +.25=39, +.5=35, Skipping.

If you don't give insulin, he can't hypo. However, the problem with him being so low for very long is that our kitties are not hooked up to any machines like EEGs so we have no idea what effects can occur (other than hypos) when they are low for a long period of time.

For that reason, you want him back up into the 50s or higher quickly. I would see where he is in 30 minutes after feeding the HC and then I'd probably test in an hour after that just to, be sure he is still headed up.

Tomorrow, you should drop the dose to 0.1u bid.
 
Re: 9/16: Corduroy, PMBG=43, +.25=39, +.5=35, Skipping.

in answer to your question, yes, i would stay up until he is sitting above 50 for 2 tests without food being given in those 2 tests. it takes closer to 30 minutes to raise the BGs, so you probably don't need to test every 15 minutes.
 
Re: 9/16: Corduroy, PMBG=43, +.25=39, +.5=35, Skipping.

Okay, will do. I will test him at least twice more before I go to sleep to make sure it's in the 50s. And, tomorrow, if it's at least 150, I will start giving him .10 units.

Thanks so much everyone!
 
Re: 9/16: Corduroy, PMBG=43, +.25=39, +.5=35, +2=80 Skipping

He doesn't need to be above 150 for you to shoot .1u. You've shot a 124 before with a higher dose.

If you will be home to test, you can shoot anything above 100 but I'd suggest if he's below 100, since you haven't shot green before, that you post for help. I'd do a +11 and see where he is and then post for help.

The best thing you can for Corduory is to learn to shoot green numbers above 50 but we suggest you have assistance the first time.
 
Re: 9/16: Corduroy, PMBG=43, +.25=39, +.5=35, +2=80 Skipping

Hi Brigitte, I'm more cautious & test 3 times when coming up off a low, especially at 35. Tigger has headed back down after 2 up tests, so now I test for 3 upward BGs I'm not sure what the experienced members would say, though, since you didn't give Corduroy the PM dose. Congratulations on the reduction!
 
Re: 9/16: Corduroy, PMBG=43, +.5=35, +2=80, +2.5=87 Skipping

Nice to see Corduroy headed in the right direction. I find that HC can wear off after 2 hours with Neko, so I like to get a test more than 2 hours later, just to make sure she doesn't come back down - which she has done. Even though we say 2 non food related tests, you have to take into consideration how long apart those tests are. And I agree with Suzanne, being extra careful after a number in the 30's is a good thing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top