9/17 Zeke PMPS=254;+3=38;+3.3=47;+4=61;+4.75=54;+6.3=74

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
Good morning sugar babies and sugar mommas ;-) . Hope your off to a great day.

Not too pleased with Zeke's AMPS. Wondering what's going on? Yesterday started with some good AM & PM PS numbers. Thought Zeke might have some really good cycles, hopefully spending quite a few hours in the green. Didn't happen. Today his AMPS is the highest it's been in six days. :dizcat Dont' know what to make of this. He's had some nice cycles, but again back up in the pinks. Is this some kind of bounce? From what? The relatively flat greens and blues he's had the last two evenings?

I'm sure this isn't the cause but we're now on week 5 of our initial insulin vial. We keep it in the fridge and it still looks nice and clear. Any chance it's effectiveness has diminished? Don't get me wrong, I'm pleased with the PM numbers he's had the last four days. The AM numbers however are still spiking to yellows and pinks. Just trying to understand these swings.


Here's yesterday's info along with a recap: Zeke 9/16

AMPS 151
+1 216
+3 212
+5 179
+7 169
+9.5 171
PMPS 165
+2 150
+3 122
+4 116
+5 129
+9.5 300

Thanks,
Laura
 
Re: 9/17 Zeke AMPS = 352

I think that this probably is just a bounce. I know they're frustrating, but they're a fact of life with our sugarcats. The only good thing I can think of is that you at least know Zeke's liver is working correctly! Now you just have to hold on and keep doing what you're doing while Mr. Liver continues to learn that those lower numbers aren't bad things.

The unfortunate truth is that cats bounce until they don't. China is on her 4th month and still bouncing. All we can do is pull up those patience pants and go along for the ride.

The bounces will get better with time though. China used to bounce into the 400's and take pretty much the entire 72 hours to clear. Now she usually only bounces into the 200's and clears the bounce in a cycle or two.

Come on Zeke...work that juice!!
 
Re: 9/17 Zeke AMPS = 352

Some cats (ahem, like Neko :roll: ) like to bounce during the day and go diving at night. On the bright side, Zeke's bounces are clearing fairly quickly. As Chris says, it will get better over time. Some cats just take longer than others.
 
Re: 9/17 Zeke PMPS = 254; +3 = 38; +3 plus 20 = 47

What? How on earth does kitty go from 254 to 38 in 2 hours? Gave him MC @ +3; LC @ each of + 20 & + 40. Currently steady at 47. Will test again in 20. So for sure he gets a reduction tomorrow morning unless we shot through the bounce?
 
Re: 9/17 Zeke PMPS = 254; +3 = 38; +3 plus 20 = 47

That's a big YES on the reduction. Congrats on that. How are you and Zeke doing?

Did you give a shot this AM? The SS is blank for the dose.
 
Re: 9/17 Zeke PMPS = 254; +3 = 38; +3 plus 20 = 47

I'd encourage you to break out the HC for a number under 40. Please re-test in anothr 20 - 30 min.

FYI: your +3 and 20 min. would be a +3.3, +4 and 40 min = +3.6
 
Re: 9/17 Zeke PMPS = 254; +3 = 38; +3 plus 20 = 47

I've updated Zeke's ss. My husband was watching Zeke tonight and he's not up on the spreadsheet practice. Yes, we gave Zeke 1u this evening. +4 is 61. We gave him 1 tsp about 20 minutes ago. Can we back off on feeding him now that he's up to 61? Can we wait to test again at +5?
 
Re: 9/17 Zeke PMPS = 254; +3 = 38; +3 plus 20 = 47; + 4 = 61

I had problems with testing last night - Zeke hissed a few times and I had to abandon the mission.

He's starting to show signs of aggravation so we'd like to minimize testing as long as you think it's safe. He's nadir is typically + 6 or +7 but recently has had occasional nadirs at +8 or greater.
 
Re: 9/17 Zeke PMPS = 254; +3 = 38; +3 plus 20 = 47; + 4 = 61

Wow, Zeke, you sure like to get your beans's heart rates up! :shock: I would probably get a +4.5 and then a +5.
Liz
ETA: If testing is a problem, then wait a little longer than +4.5, maybe +4.75. And that's a reduction too. What did you shoot this morning? And you are doing a SUPER job! :-D :-D
 
Re: 9/17 Zeke PMPS = 254; +3 = 38; +3 plus 20 = 47; + 4 = 61

i wouldn't quit testing totally for the evening because numbers can wobble as carbs wear off. you want to make sure he's staying up.
 
Re: 9/17 Zeke PMPS = 254; +3 = 38; +3 plus 20 = 47; + 4 = 61

It's important that you test until at least 2 hours past the last time you gave him any food to make sure he doesn't come back down...if you're having problems, maybe get a +4.75 and if it's still above 60, get another one at +6

You want to get at least a couple of tests with rising numbers when he hasn't had any food in the last 2 hours.
 
Re: 9/17 Zeke PMPS=254;+3=38;+3.3=47;+4=61;+4.75 = 54

Ok, he dropped a little to 54 @ +4.75 - would you consider that to be flat? Fed 2 tsps. 4% and 5% LC mix. Will test again @ + 5.5.

I'll remove the 911 flag now that he's not so low.
 
Re: 9/17 Zeke PMPS=254;+3=38;+3.3=47;+4=61;+4.75 = 54

Thanks everyone for the advice and support. We'll keep testing to make sure he's not dropping.
 
Re: 9/17 Zeke PMPS=254;+3=38;+3.3=47;+4=61;+4.75 = 54

Question - If we see a bounce tomorrow morning, is there a certain minimum number we'd want to see to shoot through the bounce and not take the reduction until tomorrow PM? If say here's Blue or Green would we go ahead and take the reduction but if it's Pink or Yellow shoot through the bounce?
 
Re: 9/17 Zeke PMPS=254;+3=38;+3.3=47;+4=61;+4.75 = 54

Zeke has been clearing his bounces in one cycle. I'd want to see a pretty high pink before shooting through the bounce. With that 38, he is really done with this dose.

Great job tonight. I hope he comes up for you soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top