10/2 Papaya AMPS=369 +4=180 PMPS=87 +3=47 =4=51

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy & Papaya (GA)

Member Since 2012
Last condo 9/27

Hello LL! Sorry Papaya and I have been MIA for a few days. The weekend was really busy and a couple more days slipped by on me too! Papaya is doing quite well. She hit green on Friday night and bounced to black for Saturday morning but it was well timed since I was going to be out all day anyway. Other than that she has been mostly pink to blue rather than black to green, which is nice. I have the feeling that I may need to increase again in a few days once I really see how this dose is working on the flatter cycles. OK they're still pretty colourful but for Papaya anything that doesn't have both black and green in, is a "flat" cycle :lol:

I took Papaya in this morning for a checkup, and had a nice chat with the vet. I've seen this one once before, and he's been the only vet that accepts the connection between Papaya's BG going high BECAUSE it went low previously, not just because she's not getting enough insulin. He was impressed with my "dedication" and started telling me about his diabetic father, who he wishes would give more attention to his own care. The vet is also quite in awe of the BG spreadsheet. I think he wishes he knew more about feline diabetes - he said it's hard for them to keep up, with working all day there's only so much time you can spend on research at night. He asked about where I learned to set up the spreadsheet and such, so I am going to email him this site and the pertinent details of the TR protocol. My favorite line of the vet's this morning was "Well, if you're going to do something you might as well do it perfectly". That is pretty much the Scandinavian saying that has been passed down from my Dad's side of the family - a job worth doing is worth doing well. Papaya's numbers do not give the initial impression that I am doing this job well, but to the extent her liver cooperates I am trying! :roll:

A side note - you should see how fast Papaya moves when she hears the cat carrier - under the couch in the blink of an eye! :lol: She's glad to be home now and tucked back in bed under the quilt.

Have a great day!
 
Re: 10/2 Papaya AMPS=369 +4=180 impressed vet

Hi guys .. yay for a vet who wants to learn more about FD! That +4 is looking pretty nice papaya, but no reason to go sky high after being here, ok? have a great day guys!
 
Re: 10/2 Papaya AMPS=369 +4=180 impressed vet

That sounds like a great vet visit this morning. How wonderful to have a vet who wants to learn more about FD. Nice blue for Papaya at +4.
 
Re: 10/2 Papaya AMPS=369 +4=180 impressed vet

Its nice to have validation from your vet isnt it? Mine was the same way. The spreadsheet blew him away and he wanted to know all about this group and website and even the feeder I bought. So nice when professionals want to learn more and dont just insist that they already know everything.

Hope Papaya levels out soon......
 
Re: 10/2 Papaya AMPS=369 +4=180 impressed vet

Amy & Papaya said:
"Well, if you're going to do something you might as well do it perfectly".
I'm a recovering German and we have the attitude if not the saying. :lol: :lol: :lol: That's great that you impressed the vet. It will be much easier working with him in the future, at least I hope so. Our vet is like that too. She said she always learns something from us and is happy about that. :-D :-D And Zener is like Papaya: only three floors in a cycle? That's a flat one. :lol: :lol:
Liz
 
Re: 10/2 Papaya AMPS=369 +4=180 PMPS=87 impressed vet

Hi Devon, Carla, Michele and Liz! Thanks for visiting.

Devon - she must have heard you, or the threat of a dose increase, as I have a lovely 87 for PMPS.
Carla and Michele - it's amazing how much less stressful it was to have such a relaxed and positive vet visit. I'm glad to have the opportunity to let him know about the wealth of information here, because hopefully it will translate into better care for any other diabetic cats he meets!
Liz -
Anne & Zener said:
I'm a recovering German
:lol: :lol: :lol: A dear German friend told me there is a specific word for a job that is done both quickly and well, but it didn't stick in my memory at all . . . explained a lot though, just that there would BE a word for that. I have as much German in me as Swedish but Dad & I just get called "stubborn Swedes" by Mom :lol:

The vet suggested I try to get Papaya used to having her teeth brushed. Before diabetes I probably would have laughed at the idea, but if I can do all the blood testing and injections why not give it a try? Well, I should really have had a video camera ready. As soon as I opened the tube she squinted and sniffed in its direction. When I tried to get some in her mouth on the brush . . . it was kind of like the videos of a baby trying a lemon, or a pickle, for the first time. The only time I've seen an expression like that on a cat is when my brother let a cat lick those pop rock candies that fizz in your mouth. I think I managed to brush a couple of fangs between the contortions of Papaya's lips :lol: I shall have to Google this and see if I can improve my technique!
 
Re: 10/2 Papaya AMPS=369 +4=180 PMPS=87 impressed vet

hahahhahaha
:lol: :lol:
you are such a gifted writer! always so descriptive...i don't need a video of you trying to brush Papaya's fangs.....i can "see" it perfectly!

nice :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

~kelly
 
Re: 10/2 Papaya AMPS=369 +4=180 PMPS=87 impressed vet

hahahhahaha
:lol: :lol:
you are such a gifted writer! always so descriptive...i don't need a video of you trying to brush Papaya's fangs.....i can "see" it perfectly!

nice :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

~kelly
 
Re: 10/2 Papaya AMPS=369 +4=180 PMPS=87 impressed vet

Ganz toll, liebes Kätzchen ! (I have a German soul - really).
german01.gif

How fab that you have a vet that wants to know, and then might actually help other people by referring them here. And may stick his nose in, himself.
All because of that fast-moving Papaya.
 
Re: 10/2 Papaya AMPS=369 +4=180 PMPS=87 impressed vet

Hi Kelly! I'm sure my high school English teacher would be glad I'm using those writing skills for something productive :lol:
Lara . . . I've done half of the beginner Pimsleur German lessons, so I could arrange a time to drink some beer with you tomorrow in a famous square, and possibly argue about how many euros to pay, but that's about it . . . :lol:
 
Re: 10/2 Papaya AMPS=369 +4=180 PMPS=87 impressed vet

Hi, Amy, I'm so glad the vet visit was a positive one. Just think of all of this vet's future FD clients you've helped to influence! :-D :-D :-D
And wow on that PMPS tonight! :mrgreen: Surf safely, Papaya!
 
Re: 10/2 Papaya AMPS=369 +4=180 PMPS=87 impressed vet

Josie is right...hopefully impressing your vet helps future FD kitties, too!!! Nice first attempt at brushing Papaya's teeth, too!

Lookin' good tonight, Papaya - surf it safe!!!
 
Re: 10/2 Papaya AMPS=369 +4=180 PMPS=87 +3=47

Thanks Josie and Amy! It's looking VERY green around here at +3 . . . that's what I get for threatening an increase.
 
Yep, it happens every time those dosecrease threats :lol: :lol:
Awesome on the vetty visit. I have a great vet also that is very supportive of this and has checked out the site :-D
Too funny on the teefies brushing :lol: :lol:
Ok Papaya, slow your roll. Come on back up a bit and surf :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Have a safe night Amy!!
 
Great response to that dosecrease threat! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: It's amazing how many times that works. How many colours in this cycle? :-D

Wonderful news on your supportive vet and wanting to look at the spreadsheets. Neko's vet liked all the data, but wanted it in a graph instead of the SS. :roll: Anyhoo, I've stopped giving them that data, too much work to convert.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top